We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Miltons Beach Resort
Ranked #103 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

we spent few nights in this hotel and it was probably the worst hotel we came accross in Sri Lanka. Room was dumpy, small, worn out and you could hear absolutelly everything from outside.Breakfast rather poor and we always had to wait at least half an hour for ust toasts and tea. Location not great either as it's quite out of main Unawatuna beach and busy road not suitable for walking specially during the night (we had car with driver, but in case you don't it is better to choose hotel by the main beach where all restaurants are close. Unawatuna is beautiful and we liked it there a lot, just not this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    17
    6
    20
See reviews for
25
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I stayed there in January with my family for one night : full board.

# not in time at all:
Our check in time was 11AM, even we went there around 12:00 room was not ready. We have to wait another 30 minutes at restaurant with luggage.

# No towels
Even waiting long time for preparation, they did not arranged towels. We have asked 3 times to arrange towels.

# Meals terrible and boring
We have reserved as full board. There is 4 options in Lunch menu. And also they are saying dinner also same as Lunch menu. What a terrible place ever stayed. Only 4 options for lunch and also dinner!!!

# Not clean at all
Bath room is bad smelling at all. Lights are hanging by wires and can not feel as hotel.

# Staff English ability is poor

# Not good for small kids.
Beds are very high. It is danger for small kids.

Staying here is just wasted time and money. Even they give free of charge staying I will never accept. Not recommend for anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chinthaka1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed at Miltons for 8 nights in March this year and to say i was apprehensive was an understatement after reading the reviews. We stayed in a deluxe room on the top floor, and after understanding what happened in the Tsunami and seeing the photos prior to coming i wasn't expecting palatial.

I could pick trivial faults with pretty much anything if i so wished which is obvious what some people have done on here.

No there was not a wooden floor and deluxe decoration and exquisite bathroom facilities. The door onto the balcony (on the 3rd floor mind ) would'nt close group 4 secure like!!!

But, the room had the finest air conditioning i had ever had. (i have also been privileged to travel the world and stay in some of the finest hotels) The television if and whenever it was needed was first class and had movie channels and sports channels in abundance.

The linen etc was spotless and changed whenever you wanted it. (you only ever had to ask for anything and you got it straight away)

As for the location. Yes it was on a main road, yes you could hear traffic, but if that was the price to pay for the location then i'd be there every time.

I read an article about it being away from the place to be!!!!!! 200 yards, maybe 210 at a push down the road and you were on one of the finest beaches i have had the pleasure to be on. The choice of bars and restaurants was fabulous. The sand and sea were second to none.

Back at the hotel, the food was also very good. The staff were amazing and would do anything that was asked of them to make your stay worthwhile. The hotel was full when we were there but nothing was too much trouble. in fact one day i went down to reception to ask for more towels and by the time i got back up to the room, there was a guy waiting to hand me fresh ones!!!

I cant speak highly enough about Miltons on every count.
Take into account you will stay in far more palatial hotels like we did for the last week in Sri Lanka. A 5 star all inclusive hotel with all the trimmings. Result, appaling service and staff and after paying 3 times more for the privilege than paying Miltons i know where the 5 star value is.

Miltons any day of the week for me

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neil1962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of mates for England cricket tour. Having read recent reviews on tripadvisor, we were all very concerned. Although we have found much of these bad reviews to be unfounded.

I would like to say, that by no means is this hotel a palace, but for service from staff, the great airconditioning, the view and location you cannot fault the place. Due to the impact the tsunami would have had on this location, they are doing the very best they can to recover.

We chose deluxe rooms and from what I can gather these are much better than the standard rooms, they were large and spacious with two king sized beds. We had one or two small issues with the room, but within minutes of pointing this out to a member of staff, things were attended to.

The food here was very good, with a varierty of choice, breakfast was included and they would cater for how you wanted specific things - such as eggs etc.

The location is at the quiet end of Unawatuna, and it is just a short stroll to the start of Unawatuna beach, which is ideal for those looking for peaceful stay and not too far from local amenities - such as restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank villaade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Territoire de Belfort, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were given a room with no closing window in the bathroom and could hear the traffic, very close to the room; the room was not finished, furniture was in CONCRETE, the bathroom was a huge empty room with a small sink, the bed and room with no charm at all unlike the pictures were showing, and the terrace was not locked to the room which made the room unsafe.
We decided to go to Flower garden instead where the welcoming and service was very warm without comparison with this place FOR THE SAME PRICE !!!

ON TOP OF THAT, THE HOTEL HAS CHARGED 100% when the condition at booking.com were 50%. I was reimbursed by booking after complaining.
The owner of Miltons also had a very bad behavoir with one of his employee while opening the bathroom door for us, saw there was plenty water on the floor, he shouted at him like if he was an animal.
There is no love in this place and one can easily feel it after 10mn staying there. I couldnt imagine having slept there.
It's a pity because (and this is the only point) there is a beautiful sea view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephanBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Hotel's website looks better than reality. The place would need a serious renovation, even though the view is great and the location right at the beach very good. The hotel was severely affected by the 2005 Tsunami and bigger parts of the terrace, walls etc. were not restalled yet. Furniture were old, but practical and clean. There was continous warm water, which was not the case in all of the places of this category. We moved to another place early, which was nice and showed a far better cost benefit ratio.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Two out of four adults were put in a "standard room" that had dirty towels and no toiletpaper. Bloody linen in bed and no blankets. As I was complaining I was promised another cleaned room the next day. No room! In the morning me and my wife wake up with a lot of mosquitobites. One of the windows was impossible to close.Most of the staff was bad educated and didn't know what to do until you pointed it out. Bad management! Lots of the people inside the hotel, it seemed, were just friends from the neigborhood. The "hotel beach" seemed to be public and was occupied by lokal inhabitants. If you can, look for another place to stay during your vacations in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoKbeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.7 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#18 of 32 in Unawatuna
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanmira Rennaissance
Sanmira Rennaissance
#31 of 32 in Unawatuna
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#27 of 146 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 146 in Unawatuna
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevonra Garden
Hotel Sevonra Garden
#104 of 146 in Unawatuna
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shanthi Beach Resort
Shanthi Beach Resort
#14 of 130 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miltons Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miltons Beach Resort

Property: Miltons Beach Resort
Address: 368 Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miltons Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Miltons Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing