We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Villa--Fabulous Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
lin99040
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Villa--Fabulous Vacation”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Shalini Villa for 5 nights and have nothing but good things to say about our time there. The Villa itself is beautiful with plenty of room and the location is great. One of the things we enjoyed most were the wonderful staff at Shalini, who took such great care of us. We had amazing food prepared by the chef and the manager spent hours showing my kids around the property, teaching them how to make things out of coconut leaves, and even helped them feed the monkeys a few times. It was an experience unlike anything we've seen in southeast Asia--and we've travelled quite a bit. We will absolutely visit Shalini Villa again!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We recently stayed at the villa to celebrate our Grandsons First birthday. We cannot praise the villa, staff and surroundings highly enough. The monkeys were an added bonus for the youngest of the group. The villa itself was lovely. A mix of old and new in the furnishings and ornaments etc., well stocked library too. The owners had thought of everything to make the stay so relaxing. After eating out once, we opted to eat in the rest of the holiday. The food was superb, fresh fish, lovely curries etc and some ingredients picked straight from the trees! The staff were WONDERFUL Went out of their way to help in any way they could. Arranging taxies, tuk tuks etc. All round, the best holiday we have had in a long time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa W
Leeds
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Shalini Villa for one week with our parents and one year old son. I could not recommend Shalini Villa highly enough and we will definitely be returning, the photos do not do it justice, its a lovely large and airy property immaculately kept with wonderful gardens and pool. My son loved the family of monkeys that visited daily, no need to worry if you are afraid of monkeys as my father in law was they only actually come into the garden if you call and feed them otherwise they stay in the trees. The villa has everything you need especially when travelling with young children, toys, books, high chair etc.
Perhaps the best asset to the property is the staff, Kamindika and Tharanga attended to our every need and had the fantastic ability of always being there if you needed anything be it a fresh coconut drink, some beers from the wine store or just a chat, but equally were extremely discreet so you didn't even notice they were there unless you needed them.
It was my sons 1st birthday while we were there and they both bought him a gift and made a fuss of him even writing Happy Birthday in flower petals on our bed. Tharangas cooking is phenomenal easily some of the nicest dishes I have ever tasted, we enjoyed them so much that we ate almost all but two of our meals there. The fish and salads he prepared were delicious and so cheap! Do try the Sri Lankan breakfast we had them most days and Tharanga provided us with so many different dishes to try.
I really liked the location of the property in a residential area about a 10 min walk from the main beach and restaurant area. We did walk it once but with the baby the road was a bit dangerous although Kamindikas ability to get a tuk tuk for you within minutes made the location no issue at all.
Such a wonderful relaxing holiday and we look forward to returning :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent staff
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Submarine...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We cannot recommend this villa highly enough. It is large, beautiful and peaceful. The décor and the antiques ... the wonderful staff ... the lush and perfectly kept tropical lawns and gardens ... the cinnamon tree providing fresh cinnamon ... the perfect pool ... the family of 30 monkeys that reliably jump down from the trees and put on a show only when you clap your hands and feed them bread ... the meals cooked by the in-house chef (the best meal we had in Sri Lanka, truly) ... the bookcase of books ... the manager who is always nearby to help.

You'll need a driver to get to Galle, and to the beaches, but most tourists in SL have a driver. It is the best way to see the island and not expensive. Be careful of the local tuk tuks. We got fleeced by the ones that service the villa. 800 return is twice what you should pay. (Not the manager's fault)

Stay at Shalani Villa. It was the perfect relaxing end to a two week tour around Sri Lanka. Thanks Alison.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the gardens, the chef and fod
Liked least: Internet cutting out a lot
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olga_Tue
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST HOLIDAYS EVER”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I’m afraid I don’t have enough words to describe what a wonderful vacation we had (even though it was way too short – only 6 days in June, 2014) at “Shalini Villa”, Unawatuna, and how grateful we are to the owner and to the team of the villa for such a holiday.

“Shalini Villa” itself is marvelous, cozy, spacious and full of light. It pleases one’s body with its large beds, soft sofas and comfortable chairs – and it feasts the eye with numerous charming details (pictures, candles, statuettes), which give the house that special southern atmosphere, but still do not overload it.
Besides of being bright and roomy, the villa is also very well-equipped and has everything you may need, no matter how long your stay is and how big/small your company is. There are many ways to entertain yourself there (TV, DVD, music, table games, warm open pool) – and yet to feel comfortable wherever you are.
Each room of the villa is air-conditioned and also has ceiling fans, so you can pick the way to keep cool. The verandahs around the house tempt guests with their small sofas and low tables, calling you to have a cup of tea watching wildlife of the garden under the refreshing airstreams from the outdoor ceiling fans.
The garden is charming and full of all kinds of flowers and trees, different birds, small harmless lizards and funny chipmunks. Each day we also had a big family of monkeys coming to the garden fence and waiting for some bananas. Those monkeys were quite modest though and never came to the ground or anywhere close to the house - as opposed to the boor Kandy’s monkeys, which are known for burgling into the hotels rooms through open balcony doors and stealing anything they like or snatching the wallets/ cell phones/ cameras straight from gaped tourists’ hands.
The outdoor pool is warm, very clean (the pool man takes care of it daily) and quite spacious to even play a pool volleyball (be careful with glass doors nearby though!). And the whole villa in general is very prepossessing, comfortable, neat and very well-managed.

The staff that takes care of your stay at “Shalini Villa” is just amazing – very friendly, extremely helpful and quite professional.
Through our whole stay Kamindika (manager of the villa) was very attentive and assisted us in anything we asked for, took care of our daily needs so as of the house. He came every morning, opened the doors and windows to let the light and fresh air in, brought us flowers, fresh water and fruits, cleaned the territory, checked the equipment and fixed everything that needed to be fixed in a heartbeat. He can also help you with getting around whether you want to call a tuk-tuk for a simple drive to the nearest beach (5 minutes) or wish to explore the island with professional driver and knowledgeable guide.
The young chief cook of the villa Taranga is a very nice person too, but first of all he is an unbelievably good cook! After 2 weeks away from Lanka the sheer memories of Taranga’s cooking still make my mouth water. His breakfasts each morning were delicious and various, and the meals he cooked for us for lunches and dinners were way too good for the money we paid. Going to Unawatuna at the first place we were thinking to dine out mainly, but after trying a few “specials” of Taranga we’ve found ourselves hurrying home from every walk or tour. So, we always ate at home – and trust me, that’s the best you can do, even if you don’t have a cook, because for all our 3 trips to Sri Lanka it’s been pretty difficult to find a decent restaurant at any town or village (and we’ve travelled almost all over the island), while at “Shalini Villa” we’ve got a chief, who not only introduced us to fine Sri Lankan cuisine, but also did his best to meet our preferences and requirements with every single meal…
To finalize… This fairy 6-days escape at “Shalini Villa” was one of the best holidays I have ever had, and me and my friends – all of us are looking forward to visit this lovely place again.
Go there – and your vacation will be perfect, try it once – and you will always want to come back.

PS. Dear Alison, Kamindika and Taranga, THANK YOU SO MUCH!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself, the garden, the host and the team of the villa.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwiltshi...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love Unawatuna”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Shalini Villa in Unawatuna. This beautiful Villa was my springboard to see wonderful Southern Sri Lanka. The Villa staff looked after me superbly. Much to my delight the cook employed in the Villa was superb, and the house keeper, I can only describe as a happy go lucky local David Attenborough, yip the monkeys come running when he calls and it's bananas all round in back garden by the pool. I have the photos! If you’re mad about yoga and want to experience all varieties of yoga, Unawatuna is the place to be, you can do a class in the morning, like myself and have dip in the ocean followed by an excellent Ayurvediuc massage I recommend the Sanctuary Spa in the centre Unawatuna Village. My only regret is leaving such a wonderful place, but I'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent Staff, they really looked after me..
Liked least: Hottest time of year...
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing