We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every detail”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
LondonPol
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect in every detail”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with friends over Christmas and New year and quite simply the beautiful house and gardens and pool and wonderful staff made it a totally magical stay. Where to start - the house is a dream with spacious and peaceful bedrooms, big comfy beds, lovely linen and super en suite bathrooms. The vaulted high ceiling in the main living area is a feat of architectural delight. The kitchen is great- but if I could I would have taken the cook home! To get up and be greeted by a Sri lankan breakfast and beautifully prepared fruit was the biggest treat. Not to mention perfect poached eggs and amazing curries for supper.... The staff could not have been more helpful, always on hand in an unobtrusive way.
The loggia around the house has everything you could want - sofas to lounge on - a table to drink coffee by and views of the pool. Monkeys visit the garden in the morning and birds swoop over the pool in the evenings.
No hassle with transport or arrangements to go on forays into the countryside or to the sea as the staff arrange Tuk Tuks and look out for you.
If you can tear yourself away from the haven of the house and pool there are picture postcard beaches all around - either with lots going on or nearly empty, as you like and it is well worth going inland in a tuk tuk to see the rice paddies and unspoilt lush vegetation. Galle is great to visit for it's historic intact Fort area and full of enticing shops!
This place is ideal for friends, family and children - if you can find it free to book don't hesitate. I know this is something of a eulogy! but i have honestly never stayed anywhere better - there is really nothing negative to say

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A peaceful luxury haven that feels loved, tasteful furnishings and the pool and beautiful gardens
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Declan B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pure bliss”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beyond brilliant place to stay , near all the great amenities and beaches of Galle area. We hardly left the villa as every whim was catered for, so fantastic was the food prepared by the chef Tsaranga (my spelling may be wrong!) that we rarely ate out much. Couldn't recommend it more highly for a blissful stay in Sri Lanka …a haven of peace and tranquility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: peace and calm and delightful clean property with excellent service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lin99040
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Villa--Fabulous Vacation”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Shalini Villa for 5 nights and have nothing but good things to say about our time there. The Villa itself is beautiful with plenty of room and the location is great. One of the things we enjoyed most were the wonderful staff at Shalini, who took such great care of us. We had amazing food prepared by the chef and the manager spent hours showing my kids around the property, teaching them how to make things out of coconut leaves, and even helped them feed the monkeys a few times. It was an experience unlike anything we've seen in southeast Asia--and we've travelled quite a bit. We will absolutely visit Shalini Villa again!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We recently stayed at the villa to celebrate our Grandsons First birthday. We cannot praise the villa, staff and surroundings highly enough. The monkeys were an added bonus for the youngest of the group. The villa itself was lovely. A mix of old and new in the furnishings and ornaments etc., well stocked library too. The owners had thought of everything to make the stay so relaxing. After eating out once, we opted to eat in the rest of the holiday. The food was superb, fresh fish, lovely curries etc and some ingredients picked straight from the trees! The staff were WONDERFUL Went out of their way to help in any way they could. Arranging taxies, tuk tuks etc. All round, the best holiday we have had in a long time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa W
Leeds
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Shalini Villa for one week with our parents and one year old son. I could not recommend Shalini Villa highly enough and we will definitely be returning, the photos do not do it justice, its a lovely large and airy property immaculately kept with wonderful gardens and pool. My son loved the family of monkeys that visited daily, no need to worry if you are afraid of monkeys as my father in law was they only actually come into the garden if you call and feed them otherwise they stay in the trees. The villa has everything you need especially when travelling with young children, toys, books, high chair etc.
Perhaps the best asset to the property is the staff, Kamindika and Tharanga attended to our every need and had the fantastic ability of always being there if you needed anything be it a fresh coconut drink, some beers from the wine store or just a chat, but equally were extremely discreet so you didn't even notice they were there unless you needed them.
It was my sons 1st birthday while we were there and they both bought him a gift and made a fuss of him even writing Happy Birthday in flower petals on our bed. Tharangas cooking is phenomenal easily some of the nicest dishes I have ever tasted, we enjoyed them so much that we ate almost all but two of our meals there. The fish and salads he prepared were delicious and so cheap! Do try the Sri Lankan breakfast we had them most days and Tharanga provided us with so many different dishes to try.
I really liked the location of the property in a residential area about a 10 min walk from the main beach and restaurant area. We did walk it once but with the baby the road was a bit dangerous although Kamindikas ability to get a tuk tuk for you within minutes made the location no issue at all.
Such a wonderful relaxing holiday and we look forward to returning :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent staff
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing