We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for a beach lover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Sky Beach Resort
Ranked #93 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Blue Sky is located right next to beach in Mihiripenna, close and further southwards to famous Unawatuna beach. The beach is so nice with a safe bathing place surrounded by reef just few meters away from the hotel. Unawatuna beach is just 1-2km walk or drive away. I preferred this beach as it was lot peaceful than busy Unawatuna beach and you always have the option of going to Unawatuna beach which is within few minutes.

Room - Nice and spacious with AC and Hot water. No TV was available, but I don't think we need to stick to TV with such a lovely beach next to us. Free WiFi was available and was bit slow from our room. No phone was available and I think no room service. However very calm and quiet inside the room.

The owner of the place Susil and his wife takes care of the place. Very nice and friendly couple. They helped us find nice places for dinner etc. Also changed our EUR and USD for a decent rate than most other places.

Food - They have a small restaurant next to beach but we did not eat here to comment on. Susil's brothers own the Wijaya resort which is just a 2 minute walk for nice sea food.

Value - Very good value for the place. I booked this after many reviews and checking prices in lot of places which were more expensive. Worth each cent.

Definitely recommended for anyone visiting Galle or Unawatuna who would not mind to stay a bit away from Unawatuna beach. Also they have only 8 rooms and early booking is encouraged.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones closest to beach so you can use the balcony and jump to beach quicker.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tharinduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Blue Sky Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Blue Sky Resort is a delightful little place situated right ON the beach, where you can step right into the fine sand and dip your toes in clear waters just 5 steps from the outdoor eating area. Our room was not just clean and comfortable, but also simply charming and cheery. From the balcony, an amazing view of the glistening golden beach and the wild crashing waves beckons.
Breakfast, served daily, was simple but hugely satisfying - a mountain of thick toast served with eggs, a pot of coffee or tea, and fresh fruits. Enough to stave off the munchies till lunchtime.
Susil and his wife Tharaka were friendly, obliging and most helpful. They made sure that our stay was as comfortable and as pleasant as it could be, and they certainly did an excellent job :)
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this lovely establishment and was most reluctant to leave after spending 3 nights there. I hope to return soon to the paradise that is Blue Sky Resort.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We spent six nights here at the end of March while England were playing Sri Lanka in a cricket match down the road in Galle. This meant, along with it being the tail end of the tourist season, that most resorts and hotels in the area were fully booked.

So while the Blue Sky was initially chosen due to a lack of options nearer Galle or on Unawatuna (it is a 15-20min walk from Una) it actually turned out to be a very good decision.

The family that runs the place are really pleasant and the level of customer service was excellent. It is on a patch of the beach that doesn't lend itself to swimming (it is rocky) but in that it is really beautiful and it is only a couple of minutes along the beach if you would like a swim. We saw turtles in the swells by the rocks.

The rooms were basic but clean - with mosquito nets (although I had no problem with mosquitoes) and ceiling fans. Some rooms had A/C but mine didn't - however I had a bigger room with a view of the sea.

The food (e.g. a breakfast of eggs, bread, fruit and tea) was simple but delicious. And cold beers were reasonably priced. The eating area is a nice place to sit and relax while the surf hits the rocks in the background. They also have free wi-fi in this area so reading and using the internet is fine.

They arranged an excellent whale-watching trip for us one morning (saw orcas and a blue whale) as well as an airport taxi (which cost US$75 - not cheap but not bad for a three-hour journey that avoided the hassles of public transport). One of the staff (Chaminda) has an auto which meant he would take us to Galle without the hassles of negotiating a fair rate.

So this would be a good option for people looking for peace and quiet - if you're looking for nightlife, the resorts on Unawatuna may be more suitable but then Blue Sky is only a short hop away by auto. Also Wijaya (which has an excellent restaurant and is owned by the brother of the owner of Blue Sky) is only a few minutes away on foot.

All in all, to be recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front (closest to the sea) don't seem to have A/C - although I was fine with a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawrenceSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hi, I am Heidi from Germany. It was not the first time for me to stay at this corner of Sri Lanka, but the first time in the Bluesky and I am sure, it wasn´t the last time for me to stay there. The room and also the bathroom are nice, clean and comfortable. The resort is seated directly at the beach and within a short walk, you can reach the natural pool. You can also make long walks at a beautiful beach, which is absolutely not overcrowded. And every day, you can watch turtles swimming in the see. The owners, Susil and his wife Tharaka do their very best to make your dreams come true; never hesitate to ask them about anything; I felt at home there; and Tharaka is the best cook I know in Sri Lanka. I am sure to come back; thank you for all! I can really recommend the Bluesky

Room Tip: I had a room in the first floor; it was great
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heide-Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We the Felix family, Reggie, Theresa, Corbin and Zoe would like to thank the Bluesky staff for making our holiday and stay memorable. My kids felt at home and were treated like home kids from day one and that is important. We stayed 10 nights at the resort and everyday our room was cleaned and bedding kept fresh. The owner Susil and his wife was friendly and so was the staff especially Chaminda who involved my son in many activities. The food was made fresh daily and Susils wifes cooking was execellent. We are definately going back there in April and highly recommend the Bluesky Resort to all. Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Allarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Второй этаж с видом на океан. Меньше ходить по одинаковым этажам, а номер с балконом и более приятны...
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Алекс П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 146 in Unawatuna
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#23 of 146 in Unawatuna
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
#3 of 132 in Unawatuna
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Beach Resort

Address: Matara Road | Mihiripenna, Talpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £36 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sky Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Sky Resort is a newly built resort located on the long stretched elegant and gorgeous beach of UNAWATUNA Mihiripenna, Sri Lanka. Hotel Blue Sky is located just 6 Km south of the historical ancient city of Galle, the beach at Unawatuna - Mihiripenna is secluded and offers its visitors a calmful relaxing swimming and sunbathing atmosphere at the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. You can get there by a TUKTUK (three wheeler), it is about a 5 minute drive and cost around 1 Euro for 2-3 people, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Sky Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing