We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sky Beach Resort
Ranked #89 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

we stayed there on the last night of our holiday. despite being ' off season' all our other fav spots e.g sun and sea. thrapoban were either fully booked or over priced. we got the sea view prime room for 50 usd which was a steal -given the wonderful location and friendly staff. the room was very modern and comfortable. it is a smart hotel which is well maintained. we ate out for the experience so I cannot comment on the food. as stated by others there is good swimming
2 mins away in front of wijaya restaurant (great food ) but watch the rip tides---

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hena27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    12
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our couple-day stay at the Blue Sky Beach Resort. It's simple, safe, quiet and clean - all that you can ask for in a beach-side hotel.

It's within a couple minute walking distance to a nice stretch of beach (not too isolated but not crowded). Seating patio is nice and the food is outstanding (the daal was some of the best we had in our 1+ week in Sri Lanka). Service is friendly and most of the staff speak English very well.

The only down side to the place, in my opinion, is the fact that you need to walk on the road vs. the beach at night (i.e. after dinner) since the high tide and lack of lighting "closes off" the narrow stretch of beach between the "main" beach in the area and the Blue Sky Beach Resort. However, this is a minor inconvenience and not something that should scare anyone off.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We really enjoyed coming here. The two people who run it were just lovely and looked after us - nothing was a problem. Food was good and atmosphere very relaxed. I'm already missing having my breakfast looking out to the sea :(

Our room was nice (corner facing the sea), spacious, had a fridge, clean, aircon and no mosquito issue. Good value for money overall.

It was also a good location for us - not far from the busier Unawantuna beach area and about 15mins in a tuk tuk from Galle - although for 20 LKR just jump on one of the extremely regular buses which stop right outside the B&B.

If you're coming by train just jump off at the Talpe stop as it is only 5- 10mins away in a tuk tuk.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the room closest to the sea view - esp on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in several hotels in Sri Lanka and this was our last hotel before going home. I orginally choose this place as it was slighlt more expensive than the others therefore we expected to get more for our money which we DEFINITELY did! The room was massive with a big bed it was really clean and the bathroom spotless. The view was beautiful and right on the beach with a short walk around the corner to a lagoon type beach.

But the best thing about the hotel was the Sri Lankan Curry we had, had lots of currys while staying in Sri Lanka but the home made Curry at the Blue Sky Beach was the best Curry in sri lanka.

The owners were really lovely as well and helpful. This hotel is a must when in sri lanka

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

On the advice of our driver my wife and I changed our plans and stayed at the Blue Sky from Jan 10-20th, 2013. We were very happy that we took his advice. The Blue Sky is located directly on the beach less than 100 meters from what is probably the best swimming area on the entire south coast, an extremely large reef protected ocean pool.

The view is positively breathtaking. You can watch both the sunrise and sunset. Loved watching the Sri Lankans fish from the shore directly in front of the the hotel early in the am.

The staff are wonderful. After having our meal there the first night we made the decision to eat there every night because it was incredible. After the first couple of days we would just leave the meal selection up to them and were amazed every night.

The rooms though basic are clean and the showers hot. Like all the hotels on the ocean it is located very close to the busy coastal road so there is a bit of traffic noise. If possible try to get one of the front two rooms as they are the quietest.

Overall a fantastic experience!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable. The terrace was perfect for watching the sunset. Meals were delicious. The best swimming was 20 M away in a lagoon that even had fish to see with snorkle and mask.

Room Tip: The resort is between the beach with big surf and the busy road so the AC rooms are best to ensure a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Blue Sky is located right next to beach in Mihiripenna, close and further southwards to famous Unawatuna beach. The beach is so nice with a safe bathing place surrounded by reef just few meters away from the hotel. Unawatuna beach is just 1-2km walk or drive away. I preferred this beach as it was lot peaceful than busy Unawatuna beach and you always have the option of going to Unawatuna beach which is within few minutes.

Room - Nice and spacious with AC and Hot water. No TV was available, but I don't think we need to stick to TV with such a lovely beach next to us. Free WiFi was available and was bit slow from our room. No phone was available and I think no room service. However very calm and quiet inside the room.

The owner of the place Susil and his wife takes care of the place. Very nice and friendly couple. They helped us find nice places for dinner etc. Also changed our EUR and USD for a decent rate than most other places.

Food - They have a small restaurant next to beach but we did not eat here to comment on. Susil's brothers own the Wijaya resort which is just a 2 minute walk for nice sea food.

Value - Very good value for the place. I booked this after many reviews and checking prices in lot of places which were more expensive. Worth each cent.

Definitely recommended for anyone visiting Galle or Unawatuna who would not mind to stay a bit away from Unawatuna beach. Also they have only 8 rooms and early booking is encouraged.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones closest to beach so you can use the balcony and jump to beach quicker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tharinduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#18 of 32 in Unawatuna
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
889 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 146 in Unawatuna
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Beach Resort

Property: Blue Sky Beach Resort
Address: Matara Road | Mihiripenna, Talpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sky Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Sky Resort is a newly built resort located on the long stretched elegant and gorgeous beach of UNAWATUNA Mihiripenna, Sri Lanka. Hotel Blue Sky is located just 6 Km south of the historical ancient city of Galle, the beach at Unawatuna - Mihiripenna is secluded and offers its visitors a calmful relaxing swimming and sunbathing atmosphere at the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. You can get there by a TUKTUK (three wheeler), it is about a 5 minute drive and cost around 1 Euro for 2-3 people, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Sky Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing