We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money - Nature Lovers will Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful little paradise. Very professional staff and helpful and will do anything to make guests feel welcome and comfortable.
The rooms were basic, simple but clean and comfortable I can tell and we loved sitting outside at the small balcony enjoying the beautiful view. We had checked this place through internet and we were not disappointed at all. It is a lovely spot just across the beach for relaxing holidays. It is a (mansion house) with character and we loved it. It is like a small paradise full of lush vegetation all around. Those who love nature will adore this place here.
Meals are delicious accompanied by a variety of fresh fruit from friendly staff and good service. It is a good value for money and this was one of the reasons we chose to stay here. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

Spent two nights/three days here recently at the end of a long holiday and totally enjoyed the relaxing experience. Nice to see an historic building being put to such good use. The pace is very relaxed, with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Food is wonderful. We had a full Sri Lankan curry one lunchtime and it was divine. Breakfasts are superb. Access to wildlife is great - one morning a large monkey gave us a breakfast time show swinging between the trees, and the birds are fascinating. The gardens are well kept and there is a forest route to the more touristy areas/beach and up to the temples or you can access via the road. If you have the choice, choose the newer rooms near to the pool, as other reviewers suggest. Perfect for relaxation and a great base from which to visit Galle and surrounding area. Book early as this place is popular - we visited just before the start of the season and it was lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 15Annemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We enjoyed three nights here in one of the rooms around the pool. they are a bit more expensive but the cheaper rooms with lots of light were all busy and the remaining ones were very dark. Loved the cleanliness of the place and the little path through the jungle to the town. Our first breakfast was the best- string hoppers and pancakes filled with sweet coconut. The next two were not as tasty and it is good that they have some variety- it would be good if they offered more fruit as you get a pre plated portion of two slices of pineapple and a banana.
We had a problem with the water system and they immediately did their best to fix it without delay.
Sharma was a sweetheart and always eager to help and recommend places to visit.

Room Tip: the older rooms are just as nice and if you opt out of air conditioning you can get a small discount...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hornstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We travelled from Kandy to Unawatuna and were searching for a nice place to stay with our two young children. The Noit Gedacht was that place ! We greatly appreciated the kindness, welcoming and professionalism of the staff. Back home, we miss Sri Lanka and remember the Nooit Gedacht with great pleasure. The old colonial house is just magnificent and the garden, a haven of peace. It was so pleasant to have connecting rooms, one for us and one for the children ! Personally, I tried Ayurvedic massage (great !) and our children appreciated the swimming pool very much. The Nooit Gedacht is very well situated, near from the ocean and from Galle. The staff arranged for us some nice excursions and, during our stay, we alternated beach time, visits, wellness and resting time. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We spent 2 nights at Nooit Gedacht, not in the newly built rooms which are even more comfortable, but in one of the old wings, because we found them having more authentic character. We particularly loved the historical architecture of this large mansion house set in a large garden full with high trees and flowers, and thus with birds, frogs, lizards and sometimes monkeys (black faced grey langur). We loved the friendly service of the staff and the food is really OK. During 2 weeks in Sri Lanka with did quite some hotels and guesthouses and I can assure that Nooit Gedacht ranks on top when considering value for money. We are experienced and critical Asia travelers (my wife is asian) but trust me: this place is highly recommendable. One tip: if you're traveling in the rainy season don't forget your mosquito spray for the evenings especially if you've a thin skin ...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I was looking for a nice place to stay in Unawatuna to celebrate our wedding anniversary with my kids, everything that popped up seemed touristy and busy and then I found this place through the internet and I am glad we went with our instincts and chose this. Pragna and shama were very responsive and helpful right from the moment I spoke to them asking for rooms to till check out. Its a lovely place just across the beach to be chilled out and relaxed and has the warmest staff you can find. Meals including delicious rice and curry and the breakfast was a very good spread with delicious fresh fruits .

The pool was lovely and clean and there is no such thing as too much water around you! It simple road crossing that takes you to the beach where you can find a host of beach resorts with associated restaurants. The rooms were very simple and basic...coloured concrete and air conditioned. The most important thing for me was this was wonderful especially in a beach side accommodation - keeping it clean was simple. The little seating area outside each room was lovely to read and play with my kids.

Access to the hotel is very easy as it is fronting to Galle-Matara main road and access to the hotel premises is through a ancient building which is built way back in year 1735 in the dutch time in sri Lanka and it gives a feeling that you are entering to different world.Appearance, fixtures and fittings have been kept as it is and I could show the ancient architectural behavior to my kids.

Thank yo so much Pragna and your team for making my visit a memorable and pleasurable one.

Overall a perfect place to stay at Unawatuna and great value for money. Thanks..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isurud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Owner at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Mr. Isurujith,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about us. We are glad you enjoyed the stay & hope you will be back.
Best Regards to you & family,
Pragna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Nooitgedacht, in the newly built part. Rooms are large
Colonial architecture is respected, bathroom very modern but a little smelly (guess cannot be avoided in Sri Lanka)

The former Dutch governor's house is magnificent. Nice antiques, a trip back to the XVIIIth century.
We have had the best dinner ever in Sri Lanka, certainly with the highest prices but worth trying. Very good served breakfast.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
The new swimming pool is large and well kept.
The garden is beautiful and also very well kept.
We also had ayurvedic doctor consultation, amazing! and very good quality massages.

It is a very nice and alternative place to stay in Sri Lanka, away from the basic tourist beach resort you can find there. I really recommend it if you have the budget.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovjhl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#12 of 32 in Unawatuna
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 32 in Unawatuna
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £25 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing