We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting contrast, old and new.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Stirling
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting contrast, old and new.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at Nooit Gedacht in June. It was very quiet at this time of year and I had excellent service. The restaurant is very good and my room was spacious and had a view of the lake (pond) and the hill from the balcony. The owner lives on the premises and although he isn't young he can give a very interesting history of the area. The hotel is convenient for Unawatuna and is about 10 minutes from the beach, there are plenty of restaurants nearby in Unawatuna. You can catch the bus right outside to Galle it takes 10 minutes. They have a good Ayurvedic centre. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DaveStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel. Your comments were a delight to read. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Nooit Gedacht Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    139
    45
    25
    8
See reviews for
89
148
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It was a lovely end to my holiday. Close to the fun on Unawatuna beach but very peaceful and relaxing. I loved climbing the hill at the back of the complex which was full of amazing wildlife and plants.

The staff made me very comfortable as a lone traveller

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, not so far to the beach yet relaxing & peaceful. Nooit Gedacht is famous for it's nature friendly attitude with an amazing wildlife & plants. Hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Nooit Gedacht Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmaldari
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is beautiful, the old colonial building is well maintaned and clean. The staff is very kind, the food in the restaurant is wonderful. The rooms are great - I really would recommend going for a superior room, they are larger and newer that the others and more comfortable. The only small detail I could think of would be that the bathrooms could use some freshening up - light fixtures and a bit of paint to clean things up a bit. But the room is spotless. Rooms do not have TVs but this is nice as it allows you to disconnect and relax for a few days!

Room Tip: Opt for a superior room, better value for money and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bmaldari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comment on hotel setting & kind staff . Your detailed review about the colonial building, clean rooms & restaurant with good food was a delight to read. We value your comments & will use them in the future when upgrading.
Best Regards,
Nooit Gedacht Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I and my sons chanced upon this hotel as we alighted from the bus stop on the main road at Unawatuna. the entrance to the main building looks stately and the courtyard with the 2 pools looks serene and feels therapeutic as one looks towards the jungle setting beyond the hotel. we got a good discount from the owner Ms Pradna Jayasundere being the low season in Unawantuna. the roomi stayed is midrange and is huge . it comes with air conditioning, fan, netting and bathroom. everything is perfect and made us extend our stay for 3 days. Service was great from all staff especially so from reception ladies .
Although it was a good 15 minutes walk to the beach located bedind the hotel, we are not complaining as l found out enroute to the beach we get to see and meet many village folks . a good part of my time is spent talking to strangers, shopowners, and likeminded tourists . i love the freshly baked buns and milk tea in a bakery just 30 metres from the main road along the side lane. His buns are fresh and piping hot and would be sold out by noon.... and to top it all the prices are very reasonable from this young Sri lankan stallholder. his stall has no name unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamestankee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a valuable comment on our hotel. We appreciate your comments about our friendly staff & great service.

Best Regards,
Pragna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkerod, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I visited Nooit Gedacht for 2 weeks at Easter 2013, with my daughter, husband and inlaws. We booked the hotel via www/email and the hotel arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport at a reasonable price.
Arriving at the hotel was like arriving to a place where time stood still. A hidden paradise full of the most caring people I have ever met, and the garden and surroundings were so calm and beautiful. My husband, daughter and I had connecting rooms in the old wing. My inlaws preferred a room in the new wing, which are definitely more luxurious.
We would have liked a refrigerator in the room – it had to be rented separately. We didn’t always have hot water (but didn’t really need it) and the bathrooms in the old wing really are very primitive. But again – it had everything we needed and a fan/airconditioning.
The Sri Lankan food at the hotel was excellent. As it is a small place and since the Sri Lankan kitchen requires time and everything in Nooit Gedacht is freshly made , the staff preferred if we could book dinner some hours in advance. However, being on vacation we refused planning more than an hour ahead, which meant that we had to wait a little longer for our food. We didn’t mind – we had all the time in the world and the food was worth waiting for!
The Ayurveda spa at the hotel also had the most wonderful staff . I ended up going there for treatments every 2 – 3 days - massages, flower baths and different herbal treatments – all very affordable. Every morning the staff went out to the “Herbal Hill” in the back garden and picked herbs which they mixed together in a giant mortar. Completely authentic – only thing that changed in this place in the past decades, are the electric fans.
The hotels garden was so beautiful. Sometimes monkeys visited as did hummingbirds, fireflies, beautiful birds and butterflies. The scents, the sounds and the rich colors were unforgettable.
Our daughter really enjoyed the pool but missed having other children to play with – so bring at least 2 kids!
My daughter got the flu during our stay and the staff immediately took care of a doctor’s appointment at a nearby hospital. Also, we celebrated her 8th birthday – waking up in the morning, the staff had arranged for the most beautiful table full of flowers. They even went into the nearest large town to by a birthday cake and a card for us. Also they made a small one hour special treatment for her at the Ayurveda spa.
When we wanted to drive north and see the national park and the mountains, the hotel took care of a driver and booked rooms for us in a mountain guest house, again at very reasonable prices. In short – whatever we needed – they simply took care of it!
The hotel is within walking distance of two excellent beaches – Unawatuna beach with restaurants and wonderful little shops ( 5 minutes’ walk an 2 minutes by tuk tuk) and Jungle Beach which is remote and a piece of paradise – with one small shed of a restaurant – that serves excellent seafood (giant shrimps, tuna etc.). Jungle Beach is accessible via a 20 minutes (easy) hike over Herbal Mountain in the backyard of the hotel (not really a mountain but a hill) or 10 minutes by tuk tuk.
So I give my warmest recommendations to this magic place. Do not expect the kind of luxury you get at 5 star international hotel chains – but if you are looking for a place of beauty and calmness – a refuge and a place to reload where the people and the food really do you good – then go to Nooit Gedacht. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Christina,

Thank you for much for writing a detailed review for us on Trip advisor.
Your wonderful comments about our colonial hotel, garden, Ayurveda treatments, food & the services offered by the friendly staff were a delight to read. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have appreciated the effort we take at Nooit Gedacht to make you feel at home. We will share your positive remarks about the services provided by our friendly & helpful staff as it would serve as a motivator for them to continue their service for future guests who decide to make a stop at Nooit Gedacht.
Hope you will return to Nooit Gedacht to enjoy another blissful holiday.

Best Regards,
Team at Nooit Gedacht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at Nooit Gedacht for 3 nights during the low season and got 5 star treatment. The place was kept at the highest standards, despite us being the only guests at the time. Pools, gardens (with lots of widlife), food and of course the ayurveda treatments, it was all perfect. The location is also great - just a few minutes walk from Unawatuna beach, but enough to have some peace - and there is a pleasant walk over the hill to a little village and a quiet little bay called Jungle Beach. We could not have wished for a better place to relax and ease into our holiday in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelyne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Emelyne,
Thank you so much for the positive feed back regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found everything........the pool, garden, food & Ayurveda massage etc to be perfect. Also we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hike from the back gardens of our hotel up to the Jungle Beach. We are proud to say that we have received a Trip advisor certificate of excelence for 2013 and hope to you come back to Nooit Gedacht for another peaceful & relaxing holiday.

Best Regards,
Team at Nooit Gedacht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Initially I thought, 'what have I done' after arriving here as it was someway out of town (about 4 km) and looked like many places I has stayed in Sri Lanka i.e. potential not fulfilled. The old part of the building is a beautiful old Dutch house that really is lovely although in some pretty serious need of repair. The grounds need to work for sure but this fees like a work in progress which will no doubt improve over time. The first pool (as some other reviewers have pointed) did not look overly inviting however the pool at the back is nocer and after a long hot day was very inviting. We had a room facing the pond which was lovely in the evening watching all the birds and we even saw some purple faced leaf eating monkeys in the trees. The gentlemen who served us breakfast was delightful as were the very helpful security staff and after the initial 'oh no' I left feeling happy I stayed. Tip - book the rooms in the new section overlooking the ponds on the ground floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review for us on trip advisor. We value your comments, specially about our friendly staff and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and left with a happy feeling about staying at our hotel.

Best regards,
Team at Nooit Gedacht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#13 of 31 in Unawatuna
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#18 of 31 in Unawatuna
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Property: Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing