We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to relax”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The place is a quiet place just behind an Ayurveda forest and a nice lake. The place is an old Dutch governor's house, so looks a little old and in need of some maintenance, but for the rates that they offer, seems like its worth the money. The rooms are clean and spacious, you get hot /cold water and the place is located on the main Matara-Colombo road. What I really loved was the balcony outside your room facing the lake and the forest (this is in the new building) and the arm chair to relax, listening to the birds chirping in the early morning, really wonderful. One negative would be the mosquitoes outside the room (near the pool etc). better take a repellent with you :-). The breakfast the next day was average with the standard English and local varieties.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms in the new building facing the mountain and the lake. I think the room numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rankesh-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    139
    45
    25
    8
See reviews for
89
148
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We went an office trip to Nooit Gedacht (with a 20+ crowd) and I must say, we were all very impressed with the value for money it offered. Located conveniently close to the Southern Highway, it was easily accessible. The place was nicely done, with a nice almost-homely touch to it. It was very quiet there and we all had a lovely time in the pool, enjoying the serenity. Only problem is, we didn't order lunch and dinner from the resort, so I cannot exactly comment on the food. But we had breakfast there the next day, and it was quite good! Also, the staff was extremely nice and helpful - we were almost baffled! We ordered food from outside, and the staff helped us a lot by helping us set up, providing us plates and even cleaning them in the end! They were very friendly, and didn't mind even if we had to stay a bit longer past our checking out time. Overall, it was a very nice experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChayanikaPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great resort with everything you need to relax and enjoy some great food, drinks and the massive pool.

Room are clean, bathrooms with great shower and hot water, AC working very well.

Staff very much attending and friendly at all times.

10mins from Galle Fort to go for drinks or gerat diner/lunch

Overall wonderfull experience!!

Room Tip: All rooms are located in a garden setting, near the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColomboSriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time a write a review about our hotel. Great to know that you have enjoyed the food, the massive pool, the clean rooms. Will share your comments with our staff as it helps to motivate them even more. Hope you will visit again for a relaxing stay.

Thank you.
Nooit Gedacht Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I was recommended by my hotel (a different one!) to eat at the Nooit Gedacht. It's a gorgeous quiet restaurant and the same prices as the tourist strip down by the beach yet the food, quality of service and tranquility of the place is far superior. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed the food freshly cooked with a touch of Sri Lankan spices.
Thank you.
Nooit Gedacht Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Had such a lovely stay at Nooit Gedacht - great family atmosphere, the hotel is beautifully and authentically decorated, with a stunning view from the pool. The food was delicious and then we couldnt believe it when we got the bill - all of this at an incredibly reasonable price..loved every moment at Nooit...

Room Tip: The new rooms are more slick, but the old rooms have much more character and romance about them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ash1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a positive review about our restaurant with delicious food at a reasonable price. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the family atmosphere at Nooit Gedacht which makes it a special place to stay. Hope you will visit us again.

Thank you,
Nooit Gedacht Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Splendid colonial house with lovely mature gardens. Gorgeous big pool looking out on to a luscious jungle. Incredibly warm and friendly staff. Generous portions of mouthwatering food. Tucked out of the way from the more touristy part of area, but still in easy reach of Galle. The best value for money place we've stayed in 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamModood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for wiring a lovely review of our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our warm & friendly staff, mouthwatering food & gorgeous big pool. We hope you will visit us again.

Best Regards,
Nooit Gedacht Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We are traveling on a budget so thought we couldn't afford to stay here but got a discount so happily we could enjoy this quit, lovely place. It's like you step into a soothing world. Location is on the main road but within a few steps you are neat the restaurants and bars. Loved this building with the history and the garden and swimming pool. Rooms were big, clean and lovely done. Service was great and they are really helpfull! Be aware, there also is a 'nooit gedacht' across the street so don't mistake it for the real deal!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kollie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy you enjoyed the clean & lovely rooms & found our staff friendly & helpful. Also, thank you for bringing attention to "Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort'' opposite ours as it has nothing to do with ours (Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel) but misleading guests who are looking for the REAL Nooit Gedacht!!
Thank you,
Nooit Gedacht Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#13 of 31 in Unawatuna
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#18 of 31 in Unawatuna
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Property: Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing