We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful colonial dutch hotel with charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Lloret de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful colonial dutch hotel with charm”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spend there 2 nights. The hotel was colonial style, peaceful, whit nice gardens and pool.
The food was very good.and the staff very, very helpfull and kind. Good situation: Unawatuna Beach" 2 minuts with tuk-tuk- and 15 minuts walking and Galle 5-10 minuts tuk-tuk. Highly recommended. Very good massages.

Room Tip: Las de categoria superior tienen mucho encanto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    135
    43
    25
    8
See reviews for
83
147
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My guide in Sri Lanka recommended this charming hotel and I was really thrilled. It's in an old Dutch plantation house on beautiful grounds. Quiet, filled with period furnishings and antiques along with modern amenities like a large pool and excellent dining room. Few of the places I stayed in during my travels in Sri Lanka put this much attention to preserving old world charm. And it was a good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjslope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014 at the end of our trip round Sri Lanka. It was a very plenty stay with excellent service, clean air conditioned rooms and delicious breakfast everyday. We were very sad to leave! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lundby, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you like peace and quiet and stunning scenery is Nooit Gedacht just the thing. We stayed January and February 2014 for 11 days and after a tour another 9 days. The place is full of atmosphere and history, and has close to the jungle a stunning tropical birds and wildlife. I had photographed 31 different species of birds (Pictures can be found at my blog “ivan.ingemansen.dk” under links “Birds Nooit Gedacht hotel, Sri Lanka), And there was probably 5-6 species I did not get photographed. Without the birds there were monkeys, monguses, a large colony of fruit bats, varans and lizards. The rooms are simple but clean and the staff is incredibly nice and helpful. We highly recommend a stay here.
Ivan Ingemansen, Denmark (ivan@ingemansen.dk)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iingemansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights with two kids aged 3 & 6 years and enjoyed it very much.

The hotel has a nice and laid back vibe to it and you always feel welcome. The hotel is not new and modern, but it has that colonial style that makes it charming (if you like that kind of hotel). The rooms wish fairly equipped and pleasant and the staff was very kind.

The jungle in the backyard, is perfect for adventures with the kids.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank THOMASSTEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

If you don't like faded old colonial charm, don't stay here. Although there are new rooms, you will still have to use the older communal areas and the gardens so you could be dissatisfied.

It was our third visit to Nooit Gadacht over seventeen years and what we really like about the place is its faded colonial charm. It's a snip of a price compared to the more fancier old colonial places in Galle Fort.

We stayed in one of the old rooms near to the main house. They are clean and the bathrooms are very spacious. Fresh flowers are placed on the bed sheets each day. The hot water is a bit sporadic, but it wasn't a problem for us because it was never freezing and it's so hot outside. We found the water to be hottest in the late afternoon.

Whilst we were staying, the newer rooms were occupied by some tour groups of older people. I don't know whether this is their main business for these rooms?

The staff and family are lovely, with patience of saints. We experienced them deal with a couple of very unpleasant guests really well.

The food is nice, although sadly not as good and as authentic as on our previous visits before the hotel's expansion. Rice and curry is not at all spicy and the curries are the same each day, which is not good if you are staying for a while. On the second evening, We asked for our rice and curry to be as spicy as a Sri Lankan would eat it and although it then arrived with more spice, it still wasn't spicy enough. By the third night, we had become fed up with the same vegetable curries so chose something else.

It's really easy to catch a local bus into Galle or further down the coast from right outside the hotel so if you want this experience whilst you are in Sri Lanka, here's the place to do it.

I'm sure with the mixed reviews, the owners will renovate the old rooms and the communal areas sometime soon. When they do, prices will really go up, so get in quick if you want to stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrixtongirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is 'the' oasis of calm in Sri Lanka. Nothing is too much trouble for the ever attentive but never intrusive staff. You are truly made to feel a valued guest and this is reflected in the service and the attention to detail to the individual's requirements. For example, call in at the local fish market in the morning and have that same fish served at your table that evening.
The massages are to savoured, a cathartic experience which we would highly recommend, and, should you choose to buy something from the market, or bring with you some basic essentials to donate, you will be given the addresses of local schools so that you can give your gifts directly to the people who need them most of all.
We would also recommend you contact Ajaa, who is a local tuk tuk driver, he is absolutely reliable and very knowledgeable of the local area and can arrange escorted tours to anywhere in Sri Lanka. His mobile is +94 777 284178, he also has a website www.ajanthatrip.com.
Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Choose the balcony rooms in the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#18 of 29 in Unawatuna
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Property: Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing