We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner just for one night but enjoyed it very much. Room was old but clean enough and the fresh flowers on the bed were a nice touch and the welcome drink was delicious fresh juice. Didn't eat in the restaurant as we wandered down into Unawatuna instead which took 5 minutes so can't comment on the food. Hotel is on main road but set back through the main old colonial building so rooms are v quiet. Beach is 5 min walk or 100 rupees in a tuk tuk and is divine! Wish we'd stayed longer!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stephtrueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Arriving at Nooit Gedacht Hotel was a wonderful surprise. I knew that it was an old colonial building with a pretty garden attached, but I wasn't expecting such an amazing place. The grounds were beautifully planted with tropical flowers and huge bamboos; it felt like we had stepped into a private paradise.

We were upgraded to a superior room, which was extremely airy, well-decorated and spacious, with a large balcony overlooking the pool and a small lake full of waterlilies. We slept very well, thanks to the quiet surroundings and a wide, comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast the next morning was extremely plentiful and varied, including delicious omelettes and coconut stuffed pancakes.

Staying outside Galle turned out to be a very good decision as it was only a 20 minute journey into the centre, by bus or taxi, and the main beach was just a 5-10 minute walk away. We also visited a much smaller beach, called jungle beach, which was a 15 minute rickshaw journey over the hill, next to the Peace Temple. The sea was much calmer than on the main beach, so it was good for swimming and snorkelling, though rather crowded.

The staff at Nooit Gedacht were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. On our last day, as well as looking after our bags while we had a final dip in the ocean, they allowed us to use an empty bedroom to shower and change before we caught our bus. Overall, it was a very special place and we found it hard to tear ourselves away. Fingers crossed, we'll be able to go back one day.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room, which was extremely airy, well-decorated and spacious, with a l...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rain_Rain_G0_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spend there 2 nights. The hotel was colonial style, peaceful, whit nice gardens and pool.
The food was very good.and the staff very, very helpfull and kind. Good situation: Unawatuna Beach" 2 minuts with tuk-tuk- and 15 minuts walking and Galle 5-10 minuts tuk-tuk. Highly recommended. Very good massages.

Room Tip: Las de categoria superior tienen mucho encanto.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My guide in Sri Lanka recommended this charming hotel and I was really thrilled. It's in an old Dutch plantation house on beautiful grounds. Quiet, filled with period furnishings and antiques along with modern amenities like a large pool and excellent dining room. Few of the places I stayed in during my travels in Sri Lanka put this much attention to preserving old world charm. And it was a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjslope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014 at the end of our trip round Sri Lanka. It was a very plenty stay with excellent service, clean air conditioned rooms and delicious breakfast everyday. We were very sad to leave! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you like peace and quiet and stunning scenery is Nooit Gedacht just the thing. We stayed January and February 2014 for 11 days and after a tour another 9 days. The place is full of atmosphere and history, and has close to the jungle a stunning tropical birds and wildlife. I had photographed 31 different species of birds (Pictures can be found at my blog “ivan.ingemansen.dk” under links “Birds Nooit Gedacht hotel, Sri Lanka), And there was probably 5-6 species I did not get photographed. Without the birds there were monkeys, monguses, a large colony of fruit bats, varans and lizards. The rooms are simple but clean and the staff is incredibly nice and helpful. We highly recommend a stay here.
Ivan Ingemansen, Denmark (ivan@ingemansen.dk)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iingemansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights with two kids aged 3 & 6 years and enjoyed it very much.

The hotel has a nice and laid back vibe to it and you always feel welcome. The hotel is not new and modern, but it has that colonial style that makes it charming (if you like that kind of hotel). The rooms wish fairly equipped and pleasant and the staff was very kind.

The jungle in the backyard, is perfect for adventures with the kids.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank THOMASSTEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#12 of 32 in Unawatuna
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 32 in Unawatuna
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: £25 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing