We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingfisher Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Prime Time Hotel(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
140
33
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
33
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunawatuna beachweeks travelling around sri lankaoverlooking beachlarge balconyrelaxing weektop floorthe ownercharming hoteljumbo prawnsour honeymoonnice bathroomtwo nightstuk tuksunbedsavocadochilloutparadise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The Kingfisher is a real gem! Our room was absolutely beautiful, stylish, comfortable and with wonderful views from the balcony. The restaurant/sitting area is also elegant and comfortable
and the owners and staff absolutely delightful...really welcoming and with the perfect balance of friendliness and professionalism.
We ate very well everywhere in Sri Lanka but the food at the Kingfisher was in a class of its own...really superb....it would certainly be in the Michelin guide if it was in U.K or France. We also stayed at the Fortress..a much more expensive hotel in Koggala and although the food there was good it was nowhere near as good as the Kingfisher!
The Kingfisher's location is also perfect, it was a real treat to eat by candle light right on the beach!
We had a wonderful 4 nights here and our thanks go to the whole team who made our stay so special!
Julia and Robin Hunter

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

we stayed 3 nights.service was great.comfy beds and good showers.bathroom is open plan with no door so not private if your not a couple. restaurant downstairs was great and very popular. beach out front has lovely clear water, a bit rocky tho. perfect for a tan or sitting in the shade with a drink. dont have drivers quarters however and had to pay another $60 for nearby accommodation as they claim there were no other options

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

we spent only one night in kingfisher hotel before we decided to prostpone our flight back! the hotel was spotless beautiful and sooo freindly. the room had a big comfortable bed, the bathroom was spacious and the balcony with the best view of the ocean.
all staff were very service oriented, knew english well and were always happy to help.
our rooms were cleaned everyday, bed sheets and towels you need to ask for replacement.
the hotels beach is small but lovely, and a bit far from the mess which was excellent. you do not have to leave the hotel! the resteraunt was excellent and we triend a few other which did not match...
best value for money

Room Tip: second floor has a better view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roni_tsadik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Special hotel, only 4 rooms in it. The rooms are big and clean with a nice balcony. Great food in their restaurant, and really nice staff. We really enjoied staying there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Gilad and yaara

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilad_Yaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We can only recommend Kingfisher! The location is perfect, all 4 rooms with sea view and big balcony.The rooms are nicely furbished and equipped with A/C, Fan, safe, electric kettle, mini bar.
Everything including the bathroom is very clean! Some might miss a door towards the bathroom, but we did not.
Duminda and Christina are very kind and helpful e.g. if you want to have a tour arranged or being picked up. Kingfisher used to have a beach party on Saturdays but it was stopped as some hotel guests wanted to have more silence :-), but the bar (recently renovated) is still open. During the weekends you may find other locations at the beach to party. The restaurant is partly inside and outside under the trees with free WiFi (you see lots of people using it).
The food is extremely good, we never had so many meals at the same location! The breakfast is also very good, sometimes your favorite fresh fruit juice is not yet available - because they buy the fruits every morning - as the people enjoy the juices and cocktails the whole day!
The staff is very nice and helpful and assisting you always. Ask them for a reliable Tuk Tuk driver or about any sightseeing nearby. Beach chairs and beach towels are also available.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews