We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingfisher Hotel
Ranked #14 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at the Kingfisher Hotel for 6 nights in January 2013. This small boutique hotel is right on the beach with a great restaurant and bar. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and are very well furnised. The location is great - the beach at the front of the hotel is small and rocky as sadly it has been washed away by the tide but it is only a two minute walk to the main stretch of beach in Unawatuna so this didn't effect our stay at all. The staff are a credit to the hotel; they were all helpful and friendly during our stay. The restaurant is the best in Unawatuna. I would definately stay at this hotel again if we were visiting Sri Lanka - we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    32
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
108
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a super find this was , so clean you could take an apendix out in the room ,great beach bar right on the waves , great location in nice village great resturants we never tried the hotel food which is highly recomended , we found such an exceptional eatery down the road sad as sounds went every night cannot remember name but it is owned by the mother of the Kingfishers owner so sure they will tell you the name worth the effort all cooked from scratch so dont be in a rush. Hotel staff so friendly nothing too much trouble.Great beach but some rocks as you first go in to the sea so take crocks or perfect the art of floating in and out and other small comlplains on last night saterlite tv shut down as bill was not paid which we spoke to owner the day before about as warnings kept flashing up, the bathroom is an Indian open type not a big problem but some of us who are a bit shy might find it a bit off putting. If you want to go to town or down the coast walk to main road and get the bus for a few rupees. as with all Sri lankan buses the conductors are so helpful and almost somehow know where to drop you off and when to pick you up.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llloydUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had a very good time staying here a couple of days before heading back home. The rooms are really nice, and absolutely spotless. We had the best meals here of our whole trip, with a nice mixture of Sri Lankan and European tastes. The waiters went all the way to make sure we were satisfied, and they never lost their smile doing it. Too bad there isn't more of a beach, but everything else more than makes up for this!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Kingfisher is a great place to stay. It has amazing restaurant with great service. Rooms are spacious, clean and have sea view. Hotel has only 4 rooms what gives guests feel of privacy.
Staff is very attentive and always ready to help.
During weekend (Saturday) it can get noisy because there are some discos not far away from hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlenaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in early December and we are very happy about our time at Kingfisher. Lovely designed rooms, clean and with an amazing view. Only 4 rooms which contributes to the small family feel of the hotel. Staff were very polite and service minded. We felt very welcome. You should stay here for the excellent beach location, excellent food and drinks at very affordable prices and if you end up staying elsewhere you will regret not staying here. You could easily stay here for 5 days and not leave!
We heard at least two other people trying to get rooms here but it was fully booked.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We kept referring to Kingfisher as our little piece of paradise. It was definitely one of, if not the best hotels on our Sri Lankan trip. Unawatuna is a very special place and has a real surf, beach vibe to it - a little like Byron Bay in Australia (we are Australian). Kingfisher topped our stay! From the moment you arrive in the beautifully designed open air foyer, to the direct beach access, to the beautifully appointed rooms, the spectacular views, friendly staff and hosts, outstanding and delicious food to the perfect beach! Everything was perfect. On our final night, one of the lovely staff members surprised us by romantically filling our room with perfectly positioned flowers on our bed and candles lit.....an absolute delight to come home to and such a representation of their service levels and commitment to guests. It really stands out as one of the best places I have stayed in all my years of travel. We are already planning a trip back in April 2013!

A big shout out to all the amazing staff and hosts at Kingfisher, you made our stay even more special!! 2 nights was not enough, we cannot wait for April!

In reference to previous reviews, yes the beach has eroded, but it doesn't effect swimming or sun bathing. We both agreed it was one of the best beaches we have visited world wide!! It was idyllic. There are no doors to the bathroom, but it is part of the charm and didn't bother us as a couple. The hotel is positioned perfectly away from the busier side of the beach meaning it was tranquil and peaceful, and if we wanted some action, it was a nice 5 minute walk!

I cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, you will not be disappointed. They are designed and furnished in perfect Sr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittycaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Great boutique hotel in Unawatuna. Very nice appointed rooms, with large veranda looking out onto the beach. Definitely the most posh place to stay in Unawatuna. Kingfisher restaurant is very well known also for it's great food. On the weekends it can get a little noisy if there is a party going on but in general very peaceful. We had a wonderful time here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have a bit more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Hotel

Property: Kingfisher Hotel
Address: Welle Dawala Road, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2011, Kingfisher Hotel is beachside boutique hotel on Unwatuna Bay. We have 4 modern rooms with A/C, hot water, mini-fridge, international satellite TV, WiFi, and every room has its own balcony with an ocean view. You can also join us downstairs in our delicious restaurant or have a cocktail overlooking the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kingfisher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing