We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and sea view from our balcony”
Review of Kingfisher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher Hotel
Ranked #16 of 150 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A lovely end to our holiday, our room had a lovely sea view and a balcony to sit on when the rain came. It had a great bar and was very good for breakfast and lunch, the wraps were gorgeous. The sea was only 10 metres from the sun beds on the beach, so the hotel has no need for a pool. The staff were excellent always making sure you had everything you needed. Definitely worth the extra money this place costs. The owner is going to open a new hotel in the same vein. We may go back to see that one.

Room Tip: Room 1 or 2 are best as they have the best sea view as they are on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Kingfisher now has a very very long beach .They have made good use of it with new furniture and a smart new look.
Standards as always have been maintained and the food served some of the best and more imaginative on the beach. Staff are always smiling and professional, service swift and generally faultless.

Very mixed crowd , from all over the world, all age groups all enjoying a higher standard of food and service than you generally get in Unawatuna.

So busy this month, looks like booking is now advisable/

Room Tip: Cant go wrong, all four rooms are facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms in this 4 rooms hotel/B&B. we stayed 2 nights and had 2 rooms. Spotless clean and nicely decorated with beach view. On the less good side the rooms are expensive, we got much better value during our trip and the place is a bit noisy (restaurant bellow, airco, ...). The beach is ok but public versus what we had in Tangalla (this one was much better). Restaurant is very good. Staff is friendly but bit slow :-). Overall was a good stay !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My girlfriend and I booked 2 nights (although we intended to stay in Unawatuna more than that) at the Kingfisher Hotel, and once we got to Unawatuna we walked along the beach, checking out the hotels one by one in order to find another hotel for the rest of our stay. We examined the ambiance of the lobby, the sitting areas at the beach, the restaurants, asked if we could view a room with seaview, and tried to negotiate for the best price (it is low season, so this is possible.)
Although we had no pre-disposition or biased towars the Kingfisher we found that we were actually already staying at the best hotel. For this price range, we found the Kingfisher to be the best place on the Unawatuna beach strip.

So - the good stuff:
- As of this writing, the beach in Unawatuna has been all but destroyed. My girlfriend was in Unawatuna 5 months ago (Feb '13) and saw with her own eyes that the beach in front of most restaurants and hotels was 2 or 3 times as wide as it is now. Some establishements on the Eastern side of the bay have practically no beach left - it has been eroded all the way up to the building. However, the Kingfisher has been spared such a fate and still has plenty of beach in front of it. (Also, a barrier of large rocks has recently been built on one side of the bay, which is supposed to help restore the sandy beach back to its prior state.) Anyways, the Kingfisher still has plenty of sand and great beach.
- The ambiance of the lobby/beach/bar is very tasteful.
- Our room (No. 4 on the top level) is beautiful, and has a very nice balcony.
- The staff were all extremely nice, and well trained in their jobs. The room service was outstanding (the bed arrangements with flower petals were nothing short of art, and they went so far as to tidy up the charging calbes for my iPod, laptop, etc.)
- The location is excellent. It is right on the Unawatuna beach, but it is far enough to the side, that the bass-thumping of the party places does not disturb sleep too much on the weekend nights. It can still be heard in the distance, but its not too bad. (If you are a very light sleeper, bring earplugs.)

And now, where I see room for improvement (and why my review did not quite make it into the 'Excellent' category):
- There was no door between the bathroom and the room. This can be quite awkward regardless of the comfort level you have with your travel companion. We have stayed at hotels before which had a transparent glass door, and found even that to be a bit strange at times. But no door at all is really not ideal.
- The wifi only works in the lobby (ground level); it does not reach the rooms (at least not our room on the upper level, but overall the signal strength did not seem to be very high, so I'm guessing it doesn't reach the rooms on the first level well either - but that is just a guess.)
- There is heavy construction in progress on the property immediatelly next to the Kingfisher, and while the new building does not hinder the view of the Kinfisher at all, it is very close (2 meters in some places) and the construction sounds can get annoying. There is probably not much the Kingfisher can do about this, and it isn't their fault, but it may be worth knowing about and keeping in mind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

This place is like a little sluce of luxury in a hot humid country. The rooms are well appointed and lively and clean. Good temperature and water pressure. Air conditioning if needed but being beach side is not always necessary, as there is also a ceiling fan. The beach is only steps from the lobby and dining on the beach is a lovely way to spend meal times. The meals are tasty and reasonably priced. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at the Kingfisher for 6 nights and I think it is the best spot on the Unawatuna Beach. It is a bit more expensive than some of the others however, worth the extra for the great sea views, great balcony and attention to detail in the rooms. The beds are comfy with excellent pillows, the lovely staff are accommodating and fun. The restaurant is mainly a Thai influence with a local twist. The seafood is very fresh and tasty.
If you learn a few words in Sinhala, you will get even better service and a friendly smile for trying!

The sandy beach (no rocks, maybe a little coral, but you are on a reef!) has come back in front of the hotel and is now a lovely place to top up a tan and swim in the clean waters. Sun beds are available, and as i write this, the owners advised me new umbrellas are on their way. Worth a night or three!

Room Tip: The top two rooms have the best views. There are only four rooms and all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We loved this place, where we stayed for only one night. Wish we had stayed longer! Fantastic rooms with amazing views from the balcony (get the top room to the left), high standard; however there are only four of them. Note that there is not a door between the room and bathroom - but it was not a problem for us.

The restaurant has tasty juicy perfect seafood - try the arak prawns! A bit more pricy, but you get what you pay for. Great drinks in the little bar placed right by the water. Try to get a table on the sand and take of your slippers. Lovely, lovely! They even had sparkling wine - perfect for the first evening on our honeymoon! <3 We cant wait to return.

Thank LittleLion79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Hotel

Address: Welle Dawala Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £60 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2011, Kingfisher Hotel is beachside boutique hotel on Unwatuna Bay. We have 4 modern rooms with A/C, hot water, mini-fridge, international satellite TV, WiFi, and every room has its own balcony with an ocean view. You can also join us downstairs in our delicious restaurant or have a cocktail overlooking the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing