We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lovely Hotel”
Review of Kingfisher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher Hotel
Ranked #14 of 149 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Absolutely the best hotel on Unawatuna Beach. The rooms are stylish, sleek and spacious. The staff are incredibly attentive and the restaurant and bar is right on the beach.
We loved our room which was number 2 upstairs that had the best view and a great balcony.
Can absolutely recommend and will come back to The Kingfisher!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

A really nice, friendly place right on the beach with clean, comfortable rooms with great balconies and views. Downstairs the restaurant served delicious food in a vibrant atmosphere on the beach. It is a really nice place to chill out and enjoy tne ambience of Unawatuna beach.

The rooms are worth the extra cost but a bit disappointed that breakfast was not included. Otherwise a very comfortable stay.
Highly recmmended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The Kingfisher hotel is very nicely appointed and well located at Unawatuna beach. There are only four units,all with beachfront views. The units are beautifully designed, plenty of polished concrete, open plan bathroom and a large, useful balcony to laze with a drink and enjoy the sea view and beach parade. Kingfisher is also great value we think.
The restaurant produces excellent fusion food and local classics,and the bar produces good drinks and chilled music. We enjoyed numerous meals and drinks in their leafy well patronised restaurant.
The management and all of the staff were really helpful and attentive. Special thanks to Usuru and Sanesh. We really will return.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stirlwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This boutique hotel is located at unawatuna beach, it has only 4 rooms each with a balcony. The room rate per night is 13.000 rupees might be one of the most expensive in unawatuna but it is definetly worth it! The rooms are so big and clean, everything is new. You have a very spacious balcony with sea view over whole unawatuna beach. The bathroom has a stony/cave style which is also really nice, with a ocean view window. We wished we could have stayed here longer! I really recommend to stay here, also the staff is very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sieversc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A lovely end to our holiday, our room had a lovely sea view and a balcony to sit on when the rain came. It had a great bar and was very good for breakfast and lunch, the wraps were gorgeous. The sea was only 10 metres from the sun beds on the beach, so the hotel has no need for a pool. The staff were excellent always making sure you had everything you needed. Definitely worth the extra money this place costs. The owner is going to open a new hotel in the same vein. We may go back to see that one.

Room Tip: Room 1 or 2 are best as they have the best sea view as they are on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Kingfisher now has a very very long beach .They have made good use of it with new furniture and a smart new look.
Standards as always have been maintained and the food served some of the best and more imaginative on the beach. Staff are always smiling and professional, service swift and generally faultless.

Very mixed crowd , from all over the world, all age groups all enjoying a higher standard of food and service than you generally get in Unawatuna.

So busy this month, looks like booking is now advisable/

Room Tip: Cant go wrong, all four rooms are facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms in this 4 rooms hotel/B&B. we stayed 2 nights and had 2 rooms. Spotless clean and nicely decorated with beach view. On the less good side the rooms are expensive, we got much better value during our trip and the place is a bit noisy (restaurant bellow, airco, ...). The beach is ok but public versus what we had in Tangalla (this one was much better). Restaurant is very good. Staff is friendly but bit slow :-). Overall was a good stay !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Hotel

Address: Welle Dawala Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £60 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2011, Kingfisher Hotel is beachside boutique hotel on Unwatuna Bay. We have 4 modern rooms with A/C, hot water, mini-fridge, international satellite TV, WiFi, and every room has its own balcony with an ocean view. You can also join us downstairs in our delicious restaurant or have a cocktail overlooking the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kingfisher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing