We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good vibe, not a course” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karuna s Cooking Class @ Sonja's Healthfood Restaurant

Karuna s Cooking Class @ Sonja's Healthfood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Food & Drink in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, good vibe, not a course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We had a fun day, enjoyed the company of smiling Karuna and tasted one of the best curry (Karuna asks your favorite and makes it). But: it was not really a course. The market was nice, but we didn't get any explanations about the vegetables sold. And the spice men definitely is a rip off. The rooftop cooking is a nice experience, but Karina prepares the meals very quickly; hard to follow. Also the recipes are not printed out. So you have to write them down quickly while cooking. Therefore you have to decide if you want to do some cooking or writing. We ended up taking turns in writing and cooking. We would recommend it for the food, the experience of cooking with a local and to get some recipes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    20
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tasty and plentiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed this class even though it was a little pricey - 3,000 rupees. There was a lot of food we were able to make and the price included a market visit. I agree with the other reviewer that the market visit could have been elaborated on and there was not a lot of explanation given while we were cooking. One major problem that needs to be addressed is we were not given any hand outs and there was no cook book for sale so someone had to take notes as the others were cooking which could lead to recipes not being able to be duplicated. Overall a great experience and I would do it again. Karuna is sweet and has an infectious laugh.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, Easy & Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Karuna is lovely! It starts at 11am and goes until around 2.30-3pm. You go to the market to buy the ingredients. Be cautious of the spice man - he is expensive and will try to get you to buy. We cooked 7 dishes - dahl, 4 curries, green herb coconut salad and rice. We paid 3000 rup per person.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pana76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good basic curries market visit not elaborated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Karuna had not her day I guess. She was not cheerful as the reviews said. Just lucky only another girl and I did join. We got more private class. First to green market in Galle, spice shop and fish shop. We may choose the veggie we want to have for the curries so it is tailor made. Also the spiciness.
Unfortunately karuna did not tell much in market as I used to with market visit just choosing veggies.
Due to tailor made ingredients no recipe handed out. Notebook is available.
Sri Lankan cuisine is not very fine cooking. Cooked too quickly. For some veggie is okay but the fish could be used fried garlic and shallots instead of just throwing everything in one pot.
I may use her pan to bring leftover back for my bf.
there is no new skills learned since no fine cuisine.
It is good to learn making curries but don't expect much from market visit.
Good luck.

Helpful?
1 Thank LissaDjatmiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Day, Lovely Lady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Highly recommended. Karuna looked after us (2 adults and 2 children) fantastically well during our four hours with her. She has a wealth of knowledge and patience too. She is genuine and is great fun to be with. A lovely way to learn more about Sri Lanka away from the hotels and shopping. Thank you so much for lovely memories and tasty recipes!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karuna s Cooking Class @ Sonja's Healthfood Restaurant also viewed

 
Ahangama, Southern Province
 

Been to Karuna s Cooking Class @ Sonja's Healthfood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing