We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of No Name Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
No Name Rest
Ranked #13 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The owner is very nice and it's really near the beach. The rooms are really nice with AC and each has a balcony. We stay there five days and it's was a pleasant stay. You have the breakfast included at any time you want witch is pretty cool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend and I stayed there for 5 nights.
If there is one thing to highlight: this place is among the best value hotel in Unawatuna,( in April, we only paid 20 USD/ night/person or 40 USD per room), incl of all taxes , breakfast and a well-functioning AC .

Located 30 m away from unawatuna's best restaurant (The Kingfisher, which is also an hotel), the hotel is located only 1 min away from Unawatuna's main attractions (beaches, bar,shops and restaurants).

Overall the rooms, are well furnished, well air conditioned, spacious and super clean. However, note that none of them have a seafront view.

The owner, is super friendly and helpful and will assist you with a great level of efficiency for any of your request.
If your are on a budget, go for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

No Name Rest is an excellent place to stay in Unawatuna. Great location close to the beach. New, spacious and very clean rooms. Clean towels and white linen. Rooms were swept and linens changed on the third day (as it's a guest house not a hotel), but they'd clean your room more often if you request it.

When you go down for breakfast you are greeted with a big plate of fruit, coffee/tea and toast. Eggs, etc. can be ordered on request.

As a solo traveller John, his wife and the staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations around Unawatuna and Sri Lanka.

I highly recommend No Name Rest and will definitely stay here again if I found myself back in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen_neener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

ROOMS... are spacious, clean, white linens, AC and fan, excellent power shower, hot water (any time of day), huge 4 poster canopy bed (fits a 6' 4" chap comfortably!), mozzy net (no holes!), flat screen TV with loads of English satellite channels and a small balcony with table and chairs for sitting out too.

BREAKFAST... is a good quantity and tasty too (it was included in our room rate). The spread is what you'll find in most places but done well, decent tea/coffee, generous fruit plate, 2 eggs and a mountain of toast, butter and jam. I'm sure if you asked they'd be happy to provide a Sri Lankan option if you'd prefer.

LOCATION... is great and peaceful too, situated land side of the beach road (just past Kingfisher). The balconies off each room don't offer a sea view, but the hotel garden has beautiful trees and it's a 30 second stroll to a super spot on the beach. I'd choose this place over many of the nearby guesthouses which do have a beach view for all the other advantages this place provides! We were also able to park our car in the front drive way securely and free of charge too.

STAFF are... on hand when needed and provide a simple, reliable and friendly service.

OWNERS are... an SL/AUS couple who live on site and are very welcoming.

I've been spending time in Unawatuna for years and tried loads of different guesthouses, but this place I'll definitely go back to again. It's well worth heading to that end of the bay for the big stretch of beach and a comfortable stay at a great price with all you could want on your doorstep! We paid just LKR 6000 B&B per room whereas all the other places were trying to charge 7/8/9000 for something nowhere near as nice.

Enjoy your stay x

Room Tip: Rooms 7 - 12, top floor, completed Nov 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the No Name Rest twice in the last 2 weeks, each time for 2 nights, all I can say is that John the owner is so helpful and obliging that he deserves to well. The Sri Lankan breakfast is always spot on. A good start to the day. There are no time deadlines for breakfast, I was out fishing from 5.30am and when I got back at 11am he arranged breakfast for me. What more can I say, the rooms are well equipped and clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaveKalavilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Came accross accomodation walking back from the beach having been staying somewhere else
Lovely clean room nice breakfast friendly staff if you are looking for a nice place to stay in Unawatuna look no further book this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariola14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the No Name and loved it, and wish I could have stayed longer!
It is newly built, in fact this is their first season.
Everything is new, clean and in working order.
The rooms are great with new beds, fridge, flat screen TV with lots of western Chanel's, shower room, separate big bathroom, air con, balcony.
The location is at the end of the road is nice and much quieter than in the middle of the village.
The Australian and Sri Lankan couple who own it are so friendly, helpful and eager to please.
I shall be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the front and have a balcony. There is no pool but it is just across the road fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesshanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No Name Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No Name Rest

Property: No Name Rest
Address: Welle Dewala Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated at the Temple end of Unawatuna Beach almost opposite the famous Kingfisher restaurant on Wella Devella road. The guesthouse is situated back from the main road amongst mature tropical trees.The rooms are large and comfortable. We must congratulate the Police as they are now enforcing the establishments close by to cease the loud music. We are now able to offer young families and older couples a very comfortable stay. All our staff take great pride in the cleaning of the rooms and to make sure that you are looked after while staying with us. At the moment we can only offer you breakfasts but we always make sure that you have enough to eat and our staff really do go out of their way to make you feel satisfied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your No Name Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing