We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be amongst the best here”
Review of No Name Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No Name Rest
Ranked #11 of 156 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very solid place with palatial rooms at very reasonable prices indeed. Run by a really personable Australian owner and his Sri Lankan wife, you will also have the opportunity to hear some very interesting stories! The beach is a two minute walk away, yet the room was very quiet - definitely a great choice in these parts and I wish them every success.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank fabmunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at No Name Rest with my girlfriend for 3 nights in April 2014, it was without doubt the best hotel/guesthouse we stayed at in Sri Lanka - so much so that I actually created a tripadvisor account especially to review it!

The location is almost perfect, set back from the road by a nice garden on the opposite side from the beach - but still practically a stones throw away from it.

The rooms are immaculate, they are beautifully designed with huge, comfortable four poster beds, air conditioning, fan, balconies, television and absolutely no problems with hot water. They are more like the type of rooms I'd expect to find in expensive western hotels than beach side guesthouses in Sri Lanka.

Most importantly John, the owner, is the most perfect host I could have imagined. We stayed around Sinhalese New Year, which happens to be when almost everything is closed all across Sri Lanka. My girlfriend and I had been craving a proper Sri Lankan breakfast, as we had had to make do with the continental style breakfasts in nearby Mirissa for the previous few days. John did his best to accommodate our cravings despite the difficulty with buying the ingredients at this time of year, and what's more, at No Name Rest you can enjoy the generous sized breakfast whenever you wake up!

The whole time we stayed at No Name Rest John treated us like old friends rather than guests who were just passing through. We learnt a lot about Sri Lanka through talking to him and he has a lot of interesting stories to tell. On the final day we stayed he invited us to go and buy some freshly caught crab with him from a place he knew. He drove us there in his tuk tuk, negotiated with the locals for us and even bought us drinks on the way back. With it being Sinhalese New Year (still!) there weren't too many fishermen out and therefore not too many crabs, still he insisted on cooking a delicious ginger and crab dish for us despite there not being enough for him to enjoy the fruits of his labour.

I was actually quite sad to leave No Name as even my parent's would struggle to make me feel as at home as John did! Rest assured whenever I return to Sri Lanka, No Name Rest will be the first stop on the list.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very comfortable quite and clean 3-stored hotel in the end of Devala Road at Unawatuna beach. Pace is very quite and 30m from the beach and very nice lagoon splited from the ocean by coral reef. I believe it is the best value for the offered price of 38.5USD per night (all taxes and fees and breakfast included) for the room with A/C. I've stayed here 6 nights with family and we all liked it very much. The breakfast is very standard for small hotels and guesthouses on Sri Lanka - eggs fried or in omelette and plate of fruits. Canteen is on the ground floor next to the reception also very clean, big enough and comfortable. The owner - John, is a great guy, very polite and friendly, willing to help with any kind of tourist's questions. It was real pleasure to deal with him and get western style service here. If I would get back to Unawatuna someday I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same and have windows to the garden and ocean side. 2nd floor rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stumbled across No Name Rest by chance when we arrived at Unawatuna Beach. The lovely open building caught our eye. The rooms are spacious, luxurious and have everything you need.

Our stay was enhanced by the helpfulness and friendliness of Guest House owner, John. John should be commended on the way he has developed this relatively new build. It's classy and has character. The finishing of the rooms and building are really nice.

Our room had a beach view from our balcony. The location was spot on. The breakfast is big and available whatever time you wake up and you can use the kitchen during the day or evening should you wish.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to anyone heading to Unawatuna. It was one of our most pleasant stays in our Sri Lanka trip.

Henry and Maya
London, England

Room Tip: the top rooms which are slightly more expensive have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The owner is very nice and it's really near the beach. The rooms are really nice with AC and each has a balcony. We stay there five days and it's was a pleasant stay. You have the breakfast included at any time you want witch is pretty cool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend and I stayed there for 5 nights.
If there is one thing to highlight: this place is among the best value hotel in Unawatuna,( in April, we only paid 20 USD/ night/person or 40 USD per room), incl of all taxes , breakfast and a well-functioning AC .

Located 30 m away from unawatuna's best restaurant (The Kingfisher, which is also an hotel), the hotel is located only 1 min away from Unawatuna's main attractions (beaches, bar,shops and restaurants).

Overall the rooms, are well furnished, well air conditioned, spacious and super clean. However, note that none of them have a seafront view.

The owner, is super friendly and helpful and will assist you with a great level of efficiency for any of your request.
If your are on a budget, go for it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

No Name Rest is an excellent place to stay in Unawatuna. Great location close to the beach. New, spacious and very clean rooms. Clean towels and white linen. Rooms were swept and linens changed on the third day (as it's a guest house not a hotel), but they'd clean your room more often if you request it.

When you go down for breakfast you are greeted with a big plate of fruit, coffee/tea and toast. Eggs, etc. can be ordered on request.

As a solo traveller John, his wife and the staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations around Unawatuna and Sri Lanka.

I highly recommend No Name Rest and will definitely stay here again if I found myself back in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen_neener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#19 of 33 in Unawatuna
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No Name Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No Name Rest

Address: Welle Dewala Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £28 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — No Name Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated at the Temple end of Unawatuna Beach almost opposite the famous Kingfisher restaurant on Wella Devella road. The guesthouse is situated back from the main road amongst mature tropical trees.The rooms are large and comfortable. We must congratulate the Police as they are now enforcing the establishments close by to cease the loud music. We are now able to offer young families and older couples a very comfortable stay. All our staff take great pride in the cleaning of the rooms and to make sure that you are looked after while staying with us. At the moment we can only offer you breakfasts but we always make sure that you have enough to eat and our staff really do go out of their way to make you feel satisfied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your No Name Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing