We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Villa
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
31
30
6
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
30
6
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafoodprawnssri lankaplace to stayunawatuna beachbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a very long journey and were pleasantly surprised by how characterful and pretty our room was- and spacious to boot! The balcony immediately outside our door afforded us stunning sea views and the Villas proximity to the water means you can hear the sea hush hushing its way onto the beach all night. Staff very friendly, very helpful. Room great value considering its quality. Breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherineeleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Perhaps it's all about expectations. I expected that as it was on the beach we'd have seaviews everywhere, tumble into the sea, lie on a sunbed, potter up for a beer. No. First, the hotel has no direct access to the beach because at the sea end of the property (which actually gets wet at high tide, it's that close to the sea) the place looks like the tsunami hit a few weeks ago: the terrace crumbles away and salvaged panels of old metal fencing have been jammed crazily into the mess of rocks and rubble: a bit of a bombsite. (Photos on the website of the beach are not taken immediately near to the hotel.) So no sunbed on the beach, no instant dip in the sea.
There's a sunken garden full of chairs but you cant see the sea here either, only the washing up drying on an old towel and dressers jammed with stuff - it needs a bar.
When we asked about the horrible bits of fencing and we were told something about government permissions being delayed, but the fact is that every other property on the beach has been tidied up, laid new concrete and looks attractive.
The staff are mostly nice, some being charming. Our room was spacious, but there was hardly anywhere to put our things. The bed was pretty, large and comfortable. The plumbing was quirky but OK. The window faced the sea but there were no clips to clip back the shutters and since the walkway to other rooms went right past our window we got no privacy if we had the window open. This wont bother you if you want to seal yourself inside and put the AC on of course. We resorted to half blocking the walkway by sitting there and at least getting a bit of a view of the sea!
Breakfasts are fine - good fruit platter, eggs good and nice Sri Lankan breakfast available if ordered in advance.
This is the nice end of town (the eastern side suffers from fumes from the motorboats and the sunbeds are jammed together). We were so disappointed we wished we'd gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the sea location go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MimiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Hotel is located right on the beach, very central too so good for exploring.

3 storey property with excellent views of the bay

Room had 4 post bed with net, also air conditioning and a fan

Staff very helpful & the food was good also

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canarytraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Great place to stay with really friendly staff. I also stayed at the Seaview... and I have to admit that I wished that stayed at The Villa throughout all my days. At a cost that is slightly higher many things are much better at The Villa; (1) rooms are much more luxurious and cleaner (2) location closer to the middle of the beach, (3) Nice little restaurant with view over the sea, which is great for the breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews