We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE VILLA”
Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Villa
Ranked #85 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
LONDON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“THE VILLA”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We travelled down to Unawatuna first half of our holiday. We came to Sri Lanka last year but didn't get this far down. What a beautiful beach and the Villa is in a perfect location. The food is excellent. Rooms very clean. Staff very attentive. One waiter called "Bandara" was fantastic and deserves a mention. Recommend!!!

I have left this review already but had forgotten my password....

Room Tip: Don't book a whale trip through one of the waiters....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BETTYBOOP123LONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We travelled down to Unawatuna first half of our holiday. We came to Sri Lanka last year but didn't get this far down. What a beautiful beach and the Villa is in a perfect location. The food is excellent. Rooms very clean. Staff very attentive. One waiter called "Bandara" was fantastic and deserves a mention. Recommend!!

Room Tip: Do not use anything in the fridge. If you do, go to shops and replace it yourself.!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRILANKA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

What a relief and refuge from the other somewhat soulless experiences we had. This is one of the best - if not the best - boutique hotels I've ever stayed in. The location is unbeatable and to my mind the best in Unawatuna...you step onto a soft green carpet of lawn from your room, which then leads you onto the beach and into the water. Bliss! The breakfasts are sublime, the staff are personable, engaging, friendly and speak excellent English. The manager is friendly, professional and helpful and there are no hidden, surprise costs when you get your bill. The ambience and its position in the bay make it my firm favourite. I could easily have spent all our days on the beach in front, or in the garden, or in our comfortable room without any need to venture elsewhere.
Finally, it is almost right opposite The Sanctuary Spa - the best place to destress in Unawatuna. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others, and should I ever find myself in this region again, it is the only place I will want to stay.

Room Tip: There is only one twin room, so if you and your travel buddy don't necessarily want to share a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Villa for 4 nights, after leaving The Peacock hotel because it was so disappointing.

The Villa was extremely pleasant - clean, nicely decorated, the bed was huge and the bathroom modern.

The staff were so professional and friendly, and the atmosphere was really nice - relaxed and pleasant.

The price seems a bit high given some of the cheaper options on the beach, but it's definitely worth it if you need a bit of comfort. A hotel with the same facilities and proximity to the beach in any other country would be hundreds of dollars a night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria_LoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We recently had five nights at The Villa, the staff were more than helpful, food was good, good central location for beach restaurants, shops etc. The cleanliness was outstanding, would highly recommend, very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Very reasonable price, great view from our immaculate room, tasted food and impeccable service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a very long journey and were pleasantly surprised by how characterful and pretty our room was- and spacious to boot! The balcony immediately outside our door afforded us stunning sea views and the Villas proximity to the water means you can hear the sea hush hushing its way onto the beach all night. Staff very friendly, very helpful. Room great value considering its quality. Breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherineeleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#15 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#98 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Full Moon Beach Resort
Full Moon Beach Resort
#34 of 145 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Banana
Happy Banana
#105 of 145 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Property: The Villa
Address: Beach Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing