We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guesthouse”
Review of Lara's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lara's Place
Ranked #36 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful guesthouse”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I chose Lara's place because of the photos posted in various reviews and its location. It measured up perfectly on both counts. The rooms are stylish and spotlessly clean. The decor is modern and chic. The veranda is the stand-out feature. It is the perfect location to relax. Lara's Place is within easy reach of the main area of Unawatuna yet is distant enough to be peaceful and tranquil.
Lara himself is a great guy. He's genuinely friendly, engaging and helpful without ever being intrusive. I'd recommend Lara's place to anyone: beautiful rooms, views, peace and quiet, near the beach in a gorgeous part of a wonderful country. And all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Halifah, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This was our first visit to Sri Lanka and I'm glad we made the choice to stay at Lara's Place as it really gave us a chance to get to interact with the folks who lived there up close. Lara and his wife were great. He had to take some work so we didn't see him much, but his wife was wonderful, serving very tasty food and just being there should we have needed anything. We walked up one side of the hill and down the other and everyone was friendly and greeted us like old neighbors! The room was airy and stayed pretty cool, even when we had the doors open all day. It was quiet, except for the birds and monkeys(and that was great)! It was a shock not having hot water,but by the time we sweated our way up the hill, the cool shower was just what we needed. One can stay at a cookie cutter resort and never even notice what country you are in, but staying at Lara's Place gave us a true picture of the generous and hospitable spirit of the Sri Lankans. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailinJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trequanda, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Lara and his family are kind and did certainly their best to build this place with its lovely garden. The fact is that the building is located about 5-600m uphill with respect to the main road (A2) which leads to Unawatuna. Then, to reach the beach, you have to walk about 1km partly along the national road jammed by any kind of vehicles. As I'm used to do, I hired a bike at Lara's but it was not a pleasure riding along such roads.
Considered that: 1) the beach is ugly with several guesthouses built on it, 2) the whole Unawatuna aerea is heavily congested due to a high population density, there is really no reason to stay here.

At Lara's, the room rate is 4415 rupees which makes 35US$ including some basic toast breakfast (300 rupees more for a tastier Sri Lankan breakfast). For this rate however you get much better accomodation at top level resorts located along beautiful coastlines about 50kms towards east.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank marco z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamstsed
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Lara's Apartment was the most perfect place to relax and enjoy Sri Lanka. The location was wonderful set amongst the trees with wildlife aplenty including monkeys, parrots, bats plus the sound of the ocean away down the hill and in the evening gentle chanting from the buddhist temple. The apartment itself was superb, very well appointed, with open verandahs all around with outstanding views and seating and loungers to lay back and relax. We found it such a relaxing place. Our daughter stayed in one of the two double bedrooms on the floor below which was slightly simpler but still very comfortable and again with a lovely verandah with great views.

Lara and his family were charming, helping and very accommodating helping to arrange tuktuks (Lara generally available to give trips in his own tuktuk), car for 2 day trip to Nuwara Eliya and airport transfers. We had fresh eggs, bacon, fruit, bread, coffee etc every morning for breakfast and Lara's wife produced the most delicious curries, served up in our beautiful apartment when requested. They are such a smiley and friendly family too.

It was only a short steep tuktuk ride down the hill to Unawatuna beach and we particularly liked Wijaya beach restaurant nearby and Kingfisher restaurant on Unawatuna beach. Galle Fort was a very interesting and historical place too with plenty to do and a lovely atmosphere. We found it hard to drag ourselves way from the apartment as we loved it so much! We stayed 8 nights and could have stayed at lot longer! We cannot recommend this enough as a wonderful place to stay and we will certainly stay here again (we long to visit Sri Lanka again) and recommend it to our friends and family. A dream place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed here with a friend in March 2012 and we had a lovely time and agree with the other reviews on here. We came here for the cricket in Galle but decided to stay a little further our close to the beach. The place was very clean and the food we had here was wonderful. The view from the veranda where we had breakfast was beautiful and it was wonderful to wake up to each morning. We liked being away from the beach and the busy main road of Unawatuna which looked like it would be noisy especially at night with some of the bars on the beach - taking a tuk tuk back here wasn't expensive at all and takes 5 minutes. Lara was incredibly helpful during our stay, showing us places to visit such as jungle beach and taking us in his tuk tuk to our next destination along the coast. I would recommend Lara's guesthouse to anyone taking a trip to Sri Lanka

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatF83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simrishamn, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Can only agree with all the other reviewers! Lara's place is not right on the beach - it is a 5 minute walk from it. Past a Buddist temple, past the monkeys and up the hill to where the breeze is cool and you see the fruit bats flying by in the dusk as you just enjoy life on the veranda.
In the evenings it can be quite hot and humid by the beach, so coming up here is a real treat. No traffic, no noise, just a symphony of jungle-sounds.
This is a place to feel like Rudyard Kipling.
Or to sit with your partner and play yatzee on your smartphones on the free and totally reliable Wi-Fi.
Made an interesting note - Ritz Carlton in Berlin charge almost as much for their WiFi as Lara does for the whole room - WITH WiFi!
Lara and his wife are truly helpful without ever being pushy. They just have solutions for everything you want to do, and a great network of reliable people who can provide all kinds of services.
Just great.
And by the way - being a swede (in need of cool) i freaked out a little when i realized that the room was without a/c. But the air in the hill combined with a great fan actually turned out to be better. Slept like a log for 10 hours per night and had great dreams!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z-brox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

Though there are lots of hotels on the road close to Unawatuna bay, I was so lucky to find this hidden beautiful guesthouse on the top of a hill away from busy touristic area.
I had spent really pleasant time sitting at spacious roof terrace looking down the Indian ocean over a little jungle as drinking fresh fruits juice or Ceylon tea.
The room and bathroom are also very spacious, comfortable, clean and stylish.
What made my stay more memorable was Lara, the owner of this place.
He is always so helpful and more than friendly had me felt secure during my entire stay.
I don't think I can find any other place like here and I cannot be sure enough to come back this place again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomoko162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 145 in Unawatuna
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
211 reviews
1.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lara's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lara's Place

Property: Lara's Place
Address: Ganahena | Ganahena Road, Unawatuna Hill, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lara's Place is a beautiful, peaceful haven on the hill above Unawatuna. Nestling in a lush garden, Lara's Place offers two en-suite double bedrooms that open out onto a spacious balcony that has excellent views of the bay. Our guests can relax to the sound of birdsong or the gentle breaking waves, or enjoy delicious Sri Lankan curries made only from fresh ingredients each day. Although only a five minute walk or a brief tuk-tuk trip to the beach, guests are removed from the hustle and bustle of the tourist beachfront. The owners, Lara and Uthkarsha, welcome you to their little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lara's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing