We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”

The South Ceylon Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: This is a duplicated listing on Trip Advisor. The main listing is the SOUTH CEYLON VEGETIAN RESTAURANT. The listing for the SOUTH CEYLON RESTAURANT should be deleted from Trip Advisor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Best veg food iI have ever tasted with lovely friendly owners. You must try the dhaal. Family business - Welsh guy married to srilankan woman - we had a caht to both the owners who were very friendly . Food so good we came twice in 5 days.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LyndaB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but a little expensive”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the pleasant staff and second floor location for street watching. I wish them well, but prices are a little high for the serving size. I'd still recommend it to a visiting vegetarian.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice veggie fare”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I enjoyed dinner here with 4 friends one night. Although I'm not vegetarian myself two of my friends are so it was nice to go to a restaurant where they could pick from the entire menu. My meal was tasty and the atmosphere relaxed. Food washed down with a couple of cold Lion beers.......perfect.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good accommodation in Unawatuna”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a very good time. We got a room upstairs...the room there is spacious, looks great, very clean, nice bed and there is a fridge too. Good value for money.
Nice people and the restaurant is delicious!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best stay we`ve had”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

It was the best stay we he`ve had.It is at the Yaddhimulla Road in Unawatuna,but it is a little bit hided.Very spacey rooms with a really big bathroom,very clean,very good matresses and a very good restaurant.I just can say thank you to Philip and his family.
But take care if the floors are wet,the floor is very slippery then.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The South Ceylon Restaurant also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to The South Ceylon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing