We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Hibiscus Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Villa
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hibiscus Villa is such a beautiful place to stay - spacious rooms which are scrupulously clean and the most comfortable beds we slept in during our entire stay. A high standard of accommodation and such a reasonable price! Ajith made us feel welcome and was extremely friendly and helpful. The garden is an oasis and having the dogs for company made it feel like a home away from home. A convenient couple of minutes walk to the beach and a ten minute tuk tuk ride to beautiful Galle Fort. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this gorgeous place and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanandAjith, Owner at Hibiscus Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Hibiscus Villa is the most beautiful spot in Unawatuna. The amazing house is in an even more fantastic garden with a rich life of both fauna and flora.
The moment you enter the garden you're overwhelmed by the most relaxing atmosphere you can imagine.

Hibiscus Villa is Paradise, nothing less.

Enjoy! When you leave you wish you were able stay forever.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanandAjith, Owner at Hibiscus Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Paradise is always waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay in Hibiscus Villa. It is such a heavenly corner, set back from the main road. so that it is peaceful. yet readily accessible. The gardens are a delight, well set out and alive with birdlife and monkeys - all most entertaining. There was even a flitting appearance by an Asian Paradise flycatcher - not at 4pm as promised - but 10 minutes later - obviously a creature of habit. Ajith was most welcoming, and was able to produce a truly home-cooked Sri Lankan curry for us, which was very tasty. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, with large en-suite bathrooms - ideal for ourselves and our daughter. If we return to Sri Lanka, we shall certainly return to Hibiscus Villa!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanandAjith, Owner at Hibiscus Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thanks for the lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A perfect place just a stones throw from laid back Unawatuna beach... Great value for money (we were offered two rooms for the price of one!) spotlessly clean, abundant flora and fauna and comes complete with the best cook in Sri Lanka! (thanks for the Thai green curry Ajith). ideal for couples or families or anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryPotter947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stumbled across Hibiscus Villa through a recommendation of another guest and it turned out to be the perfect end to our trip through Sri Lanka. The villa has a wonderful layout and kept in a very high standard by Duncan and Ajith - the perfect hosts! The spacious rooms have openair showers and the whole feel of the property is the height of tropical luxury. The location is just 2-3 minutes from the beach up a small hill yet feels very secluded despite its proximity to the main restaurants and other facilities in Unawatuna. Even though we arrived unnanounced over the Sri Lankan new year time, we were warmly welcomed and made to feel as honoured guests in this wonderful property, also by the resident monkeys! Cannot recommend this place highly enough :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed in Hibiscus Villa with my husband and 2 young children. The villa has been wonderfully designed with 4 large airy rooms (en suite bathrooms) and tasteful furnishings. It is also very well positioned - just two minutes from the beach which you reach by walking through a lovely terraced garden and through a 'secret doorway' at the bottom of the garden. We arrived in the early hours of the morning (our flight having been delayed) and were fully expecting to just be shown our room and left to it. However, Ajith, the owner went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed, made us a cup of tea and drinks for the children, sat with us on the raised terrace and pointed out the wildlife that we could see in the garden below (monkeys in the trees, beautiful colourful birds, a turtle at the end of the garden). We really enjoyed staying at Hibiscus Villa and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a welcoming, relaxing experience in a stylish, comfortable location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in Hibiscus Villa 2 nights and it was such a great surprise. It is a villa with 4 rooms, each rooms has a different layout and the villa is awesome. It remind me the balinese villa. The owner is a great guy, very helpful, the staff are really great too. As its a villa, its quite flexible, you can have breakfast whenever you wake up, one morning we had to leave really early to see the whales so he helps us to prepare a take away. Always wiling to offer you a cup of tea, coffee, there is no wifi but his laptop is available whenever you need. He also has a 3G key that you can connect to your own computer. Location is great because you just walk 5 min and you are in the main street where all bars and restaurants are. Next door you can rent a motobikes for affordable price, he also has a tuktuk available for you. We had to go to Secret Garden after because the villa was full and there are no comparison, in terms or price or quality of life, Hibiscus is so much better, new, more stylish and flexible.... The rooms are big so i guess they can accomodate your kids if needed....
Will definitely go back ther.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myanh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#16 of 34 in Unawatuna
404 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Baywatch
Villa Baywatch
#30 of 34 in Unawatuna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Villa

Address: Temple Lane | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 300 29, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £26 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Villa is a beautiful, peaceful, boutique-style Bed & Breakfast with just 4 guest rooms. The house combines the convenience of a boutique hotel with the feeling of a private home; a secluded place to relax and unwind in quiet and secure surroundings. Experience the tranquility of the tropical garden, the delight of its bird and animal life and the convenience of Unawatuna Bay on the doorstep. Our rooms are decorated in modern, contemporary Asian style with en-suite bathrooms and solar-powered hot water. Rooms are cooled by natural ventilation, with high ceilings and fans. The Hibiscus and Jasmine ront rooms are doubles with garden view and private veranda, the back Frangipani room is double or triple and has a private sitting area, the smaller back Orchid room is a double with french windows opening onto the rear garden. The main guest terrace with comfortable sofas is a great place to experience the terraced garden with a wide variety of tropical trees and flowering plants which attract many visiting birds and other wildlife. Breakfast and free wi-fi are included in our rates. Our staff are on site 24-hours a day for daily room cleaning and your comfort and security. We are just a two minute walk to Unawatuna beach with its wide range of great value cafes, restaurants and bars. Enjoy swimming, sunbathing, shopping, diving and snorkeling here. Our staff will be happy to help you get the most out of your visit to Unawatuna and Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hibiscus Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing