We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - relaxing, welcoming and perfect location”
Review of Hibiscus Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Villa
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed two nights at Hibiscus Villas and had a great time. The house is superb, beatifully appointed and in a great location, set back from the beach and in lush gardens. So peaceful and tranquil. Ajith is a lovely host - really helped us with all the requests for the family - always helpful as are all the staff and the breakfasts are superb. Great atmosphere, made all the better by the dogs (Ella, Lucky, Tekla, Naomi and Poppy!) and a vast array of wildlife in the gardens from squirrels, to tortoises and monkeys. The garden itself is gorgeous and the beach is just a just through the gate. Would definitely stay again and recommnend to all.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are set on the terrace and have great views
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Hibiscus Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Despite a quite unwelcoming host, this is a good guesthouse.

Gorgeous building with fabulous gardens set about 50 m from the beach. Nice and quiet.

Room was quite small and dark, but in good condition. AC was 'broken' which lead to a very uncomfortable night - almost unbearably hot, with an insufficient fan.

Breakfast was ok, though it took an age to arrive (and we have had much better elsewhere).

We tried to order dinner (at 2 pm), but were advises that because we had not provided 12 hours notice, this would probably not be possible! Hardly the most welcoming experience.

All in all, a good option for Unawatuna (which I thought was a bit of a dump compared to the other Southern beaches), but with some shortcomings.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Hibiscus Villa is all we could've asked for- spacious verandah, lovely garden where one can bird watch, relax amidst lush greenery, sultry scents of of exotic muraya flowers in the evening, a well-decorated room, all set in a villa that was designed by one of Sri Lanka's foremost architects. We loved the concept of being able to sit amongst lush gardens one minute, and cross the road over to a gorgeous beach the next. With only 4 rooms and a cottage nearby, this is one place I'd gladly revisit each time I come to Unawatuna.

Say hello to Ajith, one of the most genuine and funny hosts we've met, who made us feel right at home from the time we arrived. He helped arrange for our whale watching trip at nearby Mirissa, suggested places to head out to in the evening, and entertained us with stories of his travels in Asia, and his love for his dogs. Speaking of dogs, the villa has friendly inhabitants who will be your best friends if you want them to be, or they will simply chill out in the verandah and watch the birds that come along. Seeing Poppy, Naomi, Tekla, Ella and Lucky (yes, that's their names!) lounge around on the cool verandah floor made me do just the same, and it was fabulous!

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are larger and face the villa front, the balcony rooms face the back.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_Rajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanandAjith, Manager at Hibiscus Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Thanks Lisa, so glad you loved your stay, all the dogs say hi to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Rented 2 room at Hibiscus for family. We had a lovely stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and Agith arranged an extra bed for one of my daughters at short notice. The breakfast is delicious and tea and coffee are served at any time of day. This was particularly appreciated after dinner out. It is very close to the beach and a short journey from Galle. It is very pleasant to sit in the garden and observe the wildlife. I was told that a couple of rooms are being extended and A/C introduced which would make the staying there even more agreeable.

Room Tip: The rooms to the side are slightly larger.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

we spent 5 nights at hibiscus villa unawatuna. Rooms are clean and nice decorated BUT it's not calm at all.
Wonderful garden, monkeys for breakfast but you can hear noises from the road located at the end of the garden
The dog of the neighbour doesn't keep barking , the host of the hotel lives just above the rooms and you can hear everything (walking, talking...)
The host also doesn't hesitate to call in the morning just close to your room.
Well, what should have been a paradise was just hell !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanandAjith, Manager at Hibiscus Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

I am really sorry your stay didn't live up to expectations. As you now know, Unawatuna village is a lively and active place, and dogs, monkeys and birds can be noisy creatures!. Since our rooms are quite open, so that natural ventilation can flow through, noise does carry and I can see that it has disturbed you and spoilt your enjoyment of the house and its facilities.

I hope it will not spoil your opinion of Sri Lanka, there are many great places to stay to suit all tastes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here in two rooms for 6 nights a few weeks ago and never wanted to leave. The house is beautiful and the rooms are spacious, clean and cater to all your needs. The house itself is minutes from the beach but just far away enough from the hustle and bustle to allow a great nights sleep. The staff were incredibly helpful, nothing was too much trouble and on our return, day or night, we were offered tea and coffee which was a lovely touch. The breakfast was amazing, with fresh fruit and eggs every morning, Ajith and his staff were the perfect hosts and his brother, a tuc tuc driver was absolutely lovely, running us in and out of Galle, to various attractions and all for reasonable prices, he even ran us to the train station on the last day and ensured we bought the correct tickets and waited with us (two girls) to ensure we received no unwanted attention as the station was very small and local. All is all a wonderful place to stay, the only thing that could possibly improve the villa would be added ac as the fan rooms were quite warm at times. We would not hesitate to come back here (in fact we hope to next year) and would recommend the villa for anyone looking for an authentic Sri Lankan stay. Thank you again to all the lovely staff, you really made our stay special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbypur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Wow, just stayed a couple of nights at the Hibiscus Villa in Unawatuna and felt at home as soon as I walked in. The staff are great, tea and coffee on tap all day long and a good breakfast to kick the day off. My garden facing room was huge as was the bathroom - all very nice. With sandy beach just two minutes away, a good and relaxing place to stay and I will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus V, Owner at Hibiscus Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review, I hope we can welcome you back for a longer stay next time!

Best wishes

Ajith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 33 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ridee Villa
Ridee Villa
#2 of 132 in Unawatuna
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
#1 of 132 in Unawatuna
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Villa

Address: Temple Lane | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 300 29, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: £48 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Villa is a beautiful, peaceful, boutique-style Bed & Breakfast with just 4 guest rooms. The house combines the convenience of a boutique hotel with the feeling of a private home; a secluded place to relax and unwind in quiet and secure surroundings. Experience the tranquility of the tropical garden, the delight of its bird and animal life and the convenience of Unawatuna Bay on the doorstep. Our rooms are decorated in modern, contemporary Asian style with en-suite bathrooms and solar-powered hot water. Rooms are cooled by natural ventilation, with high ceilings and fans. The Hibiscus and Jasmine ront rooms are doubles with garden view and private veranda, the back Frangipani room is double or triple and has a private sitting area, the smaller back Orchid room is a double with french windows opening onto the rear garden. The main guest terrace with comfortable sofas is a great place to experience the terraced garden with a wide variety of tropical trees and flowering plants which attract many visiting birds and other wildlife. Breakfast and free wi-fi are included in our rates. Our staff are on site 24-hours a day for daily room cleaning and your comfort and security. We are just a two minute walk to Unawatuna beach with its wide range of great value cafes, restaurants and bars. Enjoy swimming, sunbathing, shopping, diving and snorkeling here. Our staff will be happy to help you get the most out of your visit to Unawatuna and Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hibiscus Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing