We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly terrible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Comaran Beach Hotel
Ranked #110 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shockingly terrible”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

What an imposter hotel this is. Our experience of this place was full of lies and more lies, from the start. We booked it based on the hotel's website, which sells it as 'Hotel Lavendish' --- we were quite happy with the budget rates and clean rooms with good views when we booked (with 100 percent advance payment). We were assured that there were no reviews of the hotel, because it was 'new'. However, the chinks began showing as soon as we reached Unawatuna. Our cab driver could not find any place called 'Lavendish' in Unawatuna, even though we stopped and asked at at least five places. Finally we called the number provided on their website, and they directed us to a certain Hotel Comaran Beach Resort, which was under renovation and had none of the rooms and views shown in the pictures on the website.

The management assured us that this was because it was in the process for applying for name change etc, and took us to to pool-facing rooms which smelled like they hadn't been opened for a long time --- clearly no one had stayed there, even though this was peak tourist season and all hotels were booked in Unawatuna, which was the first alarming thing. The second was the under-construction look and noise of the place - so much dust and drill machines screeching away all day on the main dining floor, which we were not informed about on their website. Then the access --- through gloomy, narrow staircases and exits, and it seemed as if we were the only guests staying there. However, the small lobby-restaurant on the ground floor suspiciously always had men sitting there, at odd hours, whispering and huddling over empty tables -- clearly they hadn't any luggage nor were casual dine-in guests.

At night, the electricity went off and when we returned from dinner outside, the whole place was shrouded in darkness, even though we had been explicitly told that the generator back up was available to last all night. Not a single staff member had a working torchlight. We had to make do with the meager light provided by our mobile phones to see where we were standing even, and felt very unsafe. The workers were totally unbothered about our problems --- they just shrugged their shoulders and casually said that the blackout was because the generator had run out of fuel and that 'someone has gone to get the petrol' to restart it. This was such a breach of trust, if not an eerily shady place --- how could we be guaranteed that something more ghastly wouldn't happen in the course of the night? We quickly packed our bags and prepared to leave that very night, to look for an alternate hotel. The manager and staff were least bothered. Forget about refunding our money --- there wasn't even a single 'sorry' uttered by them all.

AVOID this place, for who knows what worse could happen here.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Swaati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
8
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our experience at Comaran was nothing short of horrible. we had booked the property through Agoda where the property was registered as Hotel Lavendish with photos showing it to be on a hilltop close to the beach. This we found was not true when we landed there. Bad start. We checked in and were taken through a labryinth of stairs - giving it a very spooky feeling. Once we had checked cpl of rooms and rejected it. We were taken to be shown a set of rooms away from the main building. Heavy smell of stale air and wood paint - left us a little disappointed but we anyhow agreed to stay in the villa option (2 rooms and a dining plus kitchen). We were in for a rude shock when we returned in the evening after a trip to the happening part of Unawatuna (good 3 km away) - electricity was not there at the hotel and Villa was not connected to the generator backup (eventhough we were told there is power backup in all rooms). We then decided to shift to a room in a main building into a much smaller room. Lo-behold the power backup also failed as soon as we setlled into the room. We being two couples were in a sticky spot in pitch darkness- when 4 of the staff stood in the stairway - joking in local language and making us feel very uncomfortable. They kept making vague excuses like some problem in genset then saying the gasoline has finished and someone has gone to get it (this is at 10pm). The harrowing experience continued as no one from the management showed up in spite of our repeated requests and we were growing tense by the minute with no match or light being provided by the staff. We decided to switch the hotel immediately and moved to a better property. While we were shifting out our luggage - the duty manager turned up with glazed eyes as if he was doped and offered no apologies for the inconvenience - let alone any talk of refunding our 258 USD charged at the time of check-in. All in all - a property you must AVOID!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our experience at Comaran was nothing short of horrible. we had booked the property through Agoda where the property was registered as Hotel Lavendish with photos showing it to be on a hilltop close to the beach. This we found was not true when we landed there. Bad start. We checked in and were taken through a labryinth of stairs - giving it a very spooky feeling. Once we had checked cpl of rooms and rejected it. We were taken to be shown a set of rooms away from the main building. Heavy smell of stale air and wood paint - left us a little disappointed but we anyhow agreed to stay in the villa option (2 rooms and a dining plus kitchen). We were in for a rude shock when we returned in the evening after a trip to the happening part of Unawatuna (good 3 km away) - electricity was not there at the hotel and Villa was not connected to the generator backup (eventhough we were told there is power backup in all rooms). We then decided to shift to a room in a main building into a much smaller room. Lo-behold the power backup also failed as soon as we setlled into the room. We being two couples were in a sticky spot in pitch darkness- when 4 of the staff stood in the stairway - joking in local language and making us feel very uncomfortable. They kept making vague excuses like some problem in genset then saying the gasoline has finished and someone has gone to get it (this is at 10pm). The harrowing experience continued as no one from the management showed up in spite of our repeated requests and we were growing tense by the minute with no match or light being provided by the staff. We decided to switch the hotel immediately and moved to a better property. While we were shifting out our luggage - the duty manager turned up with glazed eyes as if he was doped and offered no apologies for the inconvenience - let alone any talk of refunding our 258 USD charged at the time of check-in. All in all - a property you must AVOID!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel goes under two names, which is a bit odd. It comes up on some internet hotel booking sites as 'the Lavendish' but the sign outside actually says 'Comoran Beach'. We were told it was in process of changing name but it made it hard for our taxi to find - the driver had to phone for directions.

It is directly across the road from a quiet stretch of beach and about 10 minutes walk along the beach into the centre of Unawatuna.

The hotel is a labyrinth - several buildings joined together. it has a pleasant and clean swimming pool and a restaurant with a view over the bay, through breakfast service was inexplicably slow.

We had a good room in one of the external blocks, clean, good sized bathroom, aircon and fan and the managers kindly allowed us to keep it on until the evening on the day of departure. However there were repeated power cuts (to our block, not the whole town) though these were promptly and politely attended to.

Galle fort is worth a half day. Despite the name it is more like a historical town than a fortress, offering quiet streets of colonial buildings to explore and fine views out to sea from the fort walls. There are many pleasant cafes and museums.

Unawatuna is a resort that appears to have been rebuilt since the tsunami. It offers an attractuve sandy beach round a bay with a reef close offshore, lots of paces to eat and drink and plenty of accommodation.

There is little to see in the village itself but Galle fort is 20 minutes aware by tuk tuk and trips are offered by agencies to many places including a whole day trip to Yala National Park, whe eif you get luck, as we did, you may see leopards.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate blocks may be quieter being away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
#14 of 31 in Unawatuna
657 reviews
1.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comaran Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comaran Beach Hotel

Property: Comaran Beach Hotel
Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful and beautiful location in southern coast of Sri Lanka, you will find Lavendish Beach Hotel Unawatuna overlooking the world famous Unawatuna beach which dazzles under the tropical sun. Offering the deserving traveler and holiday enthusiast with a lovely view of the Indian Ocean, Lavendish Hotel Unawatuna provides a memorable holiday experience with its cozy rooms, friendly service and delectable food.Guests at the Lavendish Hotel Unawatuna enjoy Room service, 24 hour Reception services, Restaurant & bar, Internet Access and Laundry. The elegant swimming pool at Lavendish Hotel Unawatuna allows guests to enjoy the sun and water or make the most of the holiday spirit by relaxing with friends and family, tasting delightful snacks from the poolside snack bar. The restaurant at Lavendish Hotel Unawatuna serves Continental and European breakfast, and local and international dishes at the hotel’s buffet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing