We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Submarine Diving School
Ranked #6 of 15 Tours in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

At our first journey to Sri Lanka in October 2010 we (family with 2 children 12 and 14 years old) were travelling to many parts of the island. At the end of our journey we stayed by chance in Unawatuna. Walking along the beach Shirly, instructor and boss of the Submarine Dive Center, asked us whether we would like to dive. We were hesitating because we have not been diving for more than ten years. Our children had never been diving before.

It did not take long and we agreed to a Refresher Course for the two of us and a Discover Scuba Diving for the children. I never forget seeing my children under water, Shrily holding both by their hands. They were looking at and touching sea stars, sea cucumber etc. They were not scared at all and felt really comfortable. The team of Submarine Dive were very helpful, helped us into and out of the equipment and carried all our stuff into and out of the boat. We have never felt so cared for at any other diving center before, not at the Red Sea, not in Italy, not in the Caribbean and not in other Asian countries. After this experience we were sure to continue diving and to come back to Unawatuna and Submarine Dive.

In October 2011 when we returned to Unawatuna, our children had already done the Open Water Diver. So we did the Advanced Open Water Diver Course, certainly with Shirly from Submarine Dive. The course was good and Shirly really tried hard to teach me navigating. We did many nice dives. The visibility sometime was not so good, but we could not expect anything else at this time oft the year.

In March 2012 I came to Unawatuna alone and did about ten dives. Before the first dive I felt scared. So Shirly himself went with me to Napoleon reef, what I very much appreciated. At one of the next dives at a level of 22 meter I was running out of air, what was absolutly my fault, I was watching the fish and not my finimeter. Wisni, the divemaster, Shirly‘s brother, reacted immediately, gave me the octopus and rescued me. Thank you Wisni! I never forget that and I will never forget again to watch my finimeter, you might not be there! Beside that I had very nice dives. I saw two wrecks, many fish, big lion fish, my favorites, and a huge stone fish.

Shirly, Wisni and Submarine Team, you are simply the best. I am sure we are coming back.

2  Thank P_P1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Наталья З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Benoit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Thank TravelingFischteich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Submarine Diving School also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Submarine Diving School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing