We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Honeymoon!!!”
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We have just returned from our 2 weeks honeymoon trip at CoCo Bay. As far as we were informed, we were the very first honeymoon couple. We stayed at Aqua Romance room with a private swimming pool. The room features memorable views and we would recommend it to all travellers seeking exceptional luxury and personalised attention.

We were very happy to welcome New Year 2013 at CoCo Bay and it was just awesome!

Spending our beautiful moments from busy day to day life with excellent and top hospitality made our honeymoon unforgettable!

Everything is brand new, great rooms interiors, views... You can be assured of the ultimate in personal service throughout your stay. Aqua Romance rooms are tastefully furtnished with huge bathrooms equipped with modern jacuzzi, rain shower, etc.

We have certainly experienced an unforgettable blend of romance and relaxation!

Coco Bay was much more than just a nice accommodation to us. It was our home away from home. Outstanding breakfast, dinners as well as all day a la carte menu were just great.

The staff stands definitely behind the meaning of a top personalized service. Very attentive, polite and experienced! You could spend the weeks there relaxing and never leave.

Thank You CoCo Bay team (Reny - hotel manager, Indika - great entertainer, Bishan, Lalantha, Saman, Rony, Pradeep, Ramya, Damith, Upul...wish we could name them all) for our unforgettable honeymoon!... btw. usually we do not remember hotel staff names... However, CoCo Bay is a truly different place to stay!

Room Tip: Aqua Romance and private pool is well worth those extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucas_616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for your review. The coco bay team was happy to host you on your honeymoon and look forward with anticipation to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and four young kids. We booked the Ocean Priviledge Suite and was pleasantly surprised by the space and facilities in the room. There was a king size bed, 2 baby cribs and a double fold out sofa bed. The room also had a walk in robe and the bathroom was equipped with a spa/hot tub.

We were welcomed by the hotel's signature welcome drink which was total bliss. The check in process was extremely easy as it was all done by the time we finished the welcome drink. The hotel was modern with free wi-fi and felt very exclusive.

All the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure the kids felt comfortable and welcomed. While at dinner, one of the waiters offered to baby sit our 3 month old so we could enjoy our meal.

The hotel enjoys a private secluded beach and each room has a view of the ocean.

We definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to be back next year.

Thank you Coco Bay for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of hosting your family again at the COCO BAY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 24 - 29th of December for six nights. We arrived late in the evening/night and the hotel staff was still waiting on our arrival. They had kindly prepared night snack (sandwiches and drinks) for us into our room. What a nice gesture.
Stayed at Ocean Privilege Suite, had our own pool etc. Room was spacious and nicely layer out, walls could be more decorated.
We had half-board deal which was excellent. Breakfast was always pleasant, menu to choose from. We often choose to sit right by the sea watching the ocean and listening the waves. Restaurant & dinner on each evening was simply delicious: three course dinner, often table right by the water. Restaurant staff was so smiling and happy, made us feel home right from the first day.
The manager & management took personally interest that our request for visiting places etc were
taken care of.
In summary, we liked every aspect of our stay and are looking forward to visit again!

Room Tip: We liked the room on ground floor with our own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluesGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your encouraging review and look forward with anticipation to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel just before Christmas for two nights and wished we had stayed two weeks. We had an Ocean Privilege Suite. Brand new, palatial room and bathroom (including lovely jacuzzi), balcony complete with day bed and comfortable tables and chairs, impeccable and unobtrusive service. The beach is small but private with fantastic views. The best hotel we stayed in out of the 9 different hotels we tried in Sri Lanka. The owners have put so much thought into tis place they deserve a huge success. The foods, by the way, is excellent and very good value for money and the barman makes a mean mojito. Loved this pace!

Room Tip: Ocean Privilege Suites are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaS590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for your review which is sincerely appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Sri Lanka can be proud of this newly built hotel where we spent 10 fantastic days during december 2012. The very well designed hotel right next to a nice and safe beach (many of the beaches near by are not very suitable for swimming due to large waves and current) delivered the facilities of a five star hotel and at the same time it kept the personal feel of having relatively few rooms.
The excellent, friendly and motivated staff made everyday a pleasure, and the level of service was like no other we have ever experienced. They all took a great effort in making us feel happy, satisfied and entertained at all times and our kids were pampered with attention, small gifts and humorous gimmicks.
The owner should be proud of his golden team!
There is no doubt that we'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne Ida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I have just left coco bay resort this morning after a 6 night stay.
Beautiful place!
Excellent staff all round! Very friendly can't do enough for you.
We stayed in the aqua romance room it was absolutely beautiful.
Met Lukas&Yana spent new years eve with them had a great night (thank you) :)
10/10 for this new hotel!!

Marie and Paul (Sheffield).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marie773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for your encouraging review. We hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you at the coco bay again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My closest Childhood friend and myself meet every year during the Christmas holidays for the last twenty odd years and took a risk this time to try something different....and boy did it really pay off...

We were one of the few early guests and were extremely skeptical on our drive to Galle from Colombo...but our gamble paid off.

As soon as we got in to the hotel ...we were blown away with the breathtaking view of the sea and the welcome we received.

It was one of the best holidays we have had...the rooms were awesome....where one could have a view of the sea while relaxing in the jacuzzi....the rooms were well thought through and one could also relax in a spacious balcony and dine in as well.

The food was brilliant and we were able to request out of the menu and the chef delivered....the crab curry was out of this world...must try.

The breakfast was menu was extensive and beautifully presented.....it seems that they took a personal pride in their food.

The other beauty of the place is the privacy one had and one felt that the place belonged to only you...it was absolutely relaxing,very tranquil and truly paradise.

Will be back for sure...

Room Tip: They cater to family suites as well as beautifully appointed rooms for couple with their private po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raghu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Mr Raghu,
Thank you for your encouraging comments which are sincerely appreciated. It was our pleasure tou have hosted you and Vivek ,your friend from India and we hope you will return to the Coco bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: £134 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing