We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a honeymoon”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Excellent friendly staff with impeccable service. The manager, Reny was always on hand to answer questions and organise anything we needed. The Aqua Romance rooms are worth the small extra for a large terrace, jacuzzi and private pool. We booked with breakfast only but decided to change to include evening meals as the food and service was so good. The prices in the restaurant are very reasonable considering the standard of the food. The beach here is perfect and quiet - much nicer than Unawatuna bay and it's a much nicer place to stay than Galle itself. The location is good for a nice walk up Rumasala road (20 mins) to jungle beach which is nice for snorkeling and the hotel also has a free boat service here. On the walk you'll see monkeys and two temples. The hotel was quite new when we visited - it's very clean, nicely designed and is a lovely relaxed environment. This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Thanks Reny for making the first week of our honeymoon perfect!

Room Tip: The Aqua Romance rooms are worth the small additional for a large terrace, private pool and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezmanmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We consider it a privilege that you selected COCO BAY for your honeymoon and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.Your compliments encourage us on our ongoing commitments towards service excellence.Thank you for your review and the staff and I look forward very much to welcoming you back to Sri Lanka and the COCO BAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    134
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
184
314
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

What a lovely pleasant surprise to escape the hustle and bustle of busy Unawatuna beaches to have a very private, intimate dining experience - ahh yes "serenity" or should I say "Serendipity" - it was a welcome relief from the bustle of tutk tuk’s passing buses, cars and motorcycles (all at once) along the beach road. Coco bay was free from beach traders (which I really do love) but it was nice to escape to some privacy to recharge the batteries to explore every-thing that is fabulous about Sri Lanka. It is also very conveniently located to the historic Galle Fort (short tuk tuk ride, where we saw an amazing sunset from the Fort Wall)

Although I was not staying at the villa, I thoroughly enjoyed an amazing seafood meal (feast) at Coco Bay Restaurant – the food was prepared to perfection, very well presented was only surpassed by the location on a private beach overlooking the pool, then sandy bay to the ocean. Dinner by candlelight was a beautiful way to finish a hectic, lively day. I could suggest a dimming of the some of the back lights as a part of the restaurant (at the back ) was a little bright.

The restaurant is high quality, but affordable for the quality of food, wine offered and the service. Sri Lankan people are very welcoming and attentive, but the service received was beyond expectation – with lovely finishing touches like fresh mint flavored water.

I would highly recommend at dinner at Coco Bay Restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Coco Bay is a small modern semi-luxury resort on a private beach overlooking Galle Fort. It is important to note that this hotel is not actually in Unawatuna proper, but rather on Galle Bay - this has advantages and disadvantages explained below, depending on what your holiday goals are.

We paid USD 209 per night, half board for two, which we felt offered very good value for the level of service and comfort provided, as well as the high quality of the restaurant.

First the good news. This hotel gets almost every detail right in terms of comfort and service, and the restaurant serves excellent food and generous portions. The staff are well trained and attentive. Everybody seemed eager to accommodate whatever requests we had. We probably were more comfortable at CoCo Bay than anywhere else in Sri Lanka. There were a few silly oversights, like having a magnificent pool table, but one of the pool balls was permanently missing (7-stripe) from the set, rendering the giant table useless.

Now the bad news. Once you have seen the fluffy golden sands and turquoise waters of Unawatuna and other beaches, you will surely be disappointed in the beach at CCB. CCB is in the back corner of a bay between the mouth of a languid creek and some disused industrial buildings. The hotel makes a valiant effort to present the gardens and beach in the best light possible, but there is no escaping the fact that the extremely shallow brown silty water lapping up on a dark beach does not invite bathing, and it seemed practically none of the guests used it for such. It is fine however as a backdrop for evening dinners or afternoons spent reading, and hey, at least they DO have a beach. To be fair, this sort of beach would be good for small toddlers etc, as Unawatuna beach has very rough surf at times.

But even if you are a beach lover, don't write of CCB just yet! After our initial disappointment with the beach, we ended up feeling CCB's location was more an advantage than a disadvantage. That's because in exchange for not being in Unawatuna proper, you are in closer striking distance to historic Galle town. Both it and the glorious idyllic Unawatuna beach are only a 5 minute tuktuk ride away, and the hotel also runs free daily boat-shuttle around the point to much more pleasant "Jungle Beach" (also reachable under your own steam by tuktuk, scooter, or even walking) - so the location is really only a disadvantage for folks who expect to lock themselves in the resort for a week and not leave. We hired a scooter (800 Rps/day in Unawatuna town) so that we could come and go as we pleased, and so we made several daily sojourns to various beaches, or to Galle, coming back to the room in between to refresh or rest. Used in this way, CCB is in an ideal location.

Note that CCB has nothing around it in walking-distance - but again, problem solved if you hire a scooter or use the tuktuks.

The only other gripe I had was that we were unable to stay at this hotel on a breakfast-only basis, no matter how much we pleaded. And although the restaurant does make very good food, the menu is western-orientated and anyway we prefer to not eat in the same place every day. To the extreme that a couple of times we simply forewent our prepaid dinner and chose to eat elsewhere, which of course left us with a bit of a bad feeling.

The chic pool is elegant, but has a mortal flaw that it remains in shade all of the time as it is built under an overhang of the building. It is also very close to the restaurant tables, which gives you the feeling of being a giant koi fish for the diners to look at when you swim!

So we ended up using CCB more as a comfortable base than a resort. Used in this light, I highly recommend CCB if you are looking for something at the top-end whilst in Unawatuna-Galle.

Tip: Hire a scooter for freedom!
Tip: Try the Sri Lankan breakfast! If you want to eat the yummy "egg hoppers", you need to let the kitchen know the night before.

Room Tip: Forego the deluxe suites on the ground level and go for the normal rooms upstairs. They are brighte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for your review and constructive comments. As you rightly say , the beach is different compared to some of the others nearby. However the view of Galle Fort across the ocean and the magical sunsets are big advantages. The rolling waves during most of the year also makes it a good place for surfing for beginners. There are plenty of surfers when the waves are right. We are sorry for the inconvenience on the missing pool ball. A set of balls was on order and have been replaced. Our half board option includes breakfast and lunch or dinner. This is normally intimated at check in. I am sorry if this was not conveyed.
It was a pleasure to have hosted you both and thank you for your review and we hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again at the COCO BAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We just returned from an 8 night stay at CoCo Bay resort. We were in love from minute one. Top 10 things: (in no particular order)

1) the service! Unbeatable. From the small glasses of fresh mint water served to us on the beach to the care given when I wasn't feeling well. The chef prepared special food, the waitress brought special tea to the room, the whole crew checked in on me. More like family than staff at a hotel. A big thank you to each and everyone of you!

2) the private, secure location. You feel like you have your own piece of property in paradise. We went over to the other beaches and were always so thrilled to return (home) to peace, quiet and a smile. There's a big gate and security walking around all the time. I don't know if it's needed but it makes you feel great especially when you have one of the aqua romance rooms on the beach level. I also appreciated that while we were at our hotel no one was trying to sell us stuff.

3) convenience and relaxation. We could just take 2 steps out of our room and we were on the beach. They were ready with fresh beach towels and of course comfortable lounge beds. No need to wake up early to 'mark your chair'. Didn't matter what time we came, we got a bed. Additionally we could leave our things on our beds when we went to the water or for food. Speaking of convenience, it was 10 steps to the restaurant. Again didn't have to make a big effort to go for a drink or food or the ocean. Small things like not having to pay a deposit for beach towels, or having to watch over our stuff really added to our relaxation.

4) the food. I could go on and on. We enjoyed everything we had. So fresh and tasteful. Not like some hotel restuarants. They had a much more extensive menu than we expected and everything we got was great. The breakfast (made fresh to order) was presented in a beautiful way, with fresh fruit and fresh juice. Lovely. The other favorites were the lobster (we had it twice), the pizza, the chateaubriand steak, and the local dishes. Nothing disappointed! Nice touch that we met the chef a couple of times.

5) the aqua romance room. The big room, nice king size bed (not 2 beds pushed together), robes, mini bar, flat screen with a couple of really good movie channels ( was sick one evening so that came in handy). The view. The pool (although not entirely private it was still nice). Nice patio.

6) the bathroom is huge. The rain shower plus the regular shower ( which makes a bit of a mess) the one thing that could be optimized. The jacuzzi tub. The modern amenities incl blow dryer.

7) the proximity to other things. Just a 300rp-400rp ($1-2.00) tuk tuk ride (5-10min) from bars and restuarants. We enjoyed the Happy Banana and the Lucky Tuna where it have some more lively nightlife. Both recommended by staff at our resort when we said we wanted to go out.

8) the yoga and fitness room. We did use both -1 time. The room isn't a fitness guru's dream by any means but it gets the job done. The yoga was great -our first time trying it and our instructor was very patient and kind. He was also the same person who helped ensure everyone had their lounge chairs. Great guy!

9) arrangements made. transport to and from the airport was easy and timely. I might suggest that they consider offering the option to pool some of the guests as we saw 2 other parties arrive around the same time as us (all in our separate vans). This would save all of money :-). The guests can always request private if they want. Reny (the mgr) also arranged a scuba diving excursion for us with a dive shop (the Submarine). We really enjoyed it. Only booked it 2 days before and it was only my husband and I and the dive master.

10) all the small things. The fresh juice on arrival. Check in early to our room. The cleaning staff. Everything was immaculate. Extended checkout (with a fee). The pillow menu. The smiles. If you are not satisfied with something, you have more than enough opportunities to say something as we were asked daily how we were enjoying our time, room, etc.

We tend to try new places (new countries), but we will, no doubt consider going to CoCo Bay again. And we have already recommended to our family. Book it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJS180581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
It was indeed a pleasure to have hosted you both at the COCO BAY. Thank you for the review in the trip advisor which is sincerely appreciated. We know you travel a lot and seldom return to a destination. We however hope very much that you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I have to say that of all the research and decisions that we made about our 10 day holiday to Sri Lanka, deciding to stay at CoCo Bay Hotel was by far the best one. Set in a perfect location, just 5 mins by tuk tuk between the buzz of hippy style Unawatuna and the beautiful and colonial Galle Forte, CoCo Bay allows you to enjoy the best of both worlds whilst also being able to enjoy the hotels own private grounds, lovely beach and modern facilities.

From arrival at the hotel everything is perfect from the modern and stylish bedrooms with the additional extras of a welcome fruit platter, soap menu and pillow menu (very nice touch), to the jacuzzi bath and oh so picturesque view from the balcony...if you were any closer to the sea you would actually be in it!

All that said there are two main things left to comment on , the food,....from extensive research I can hereby confirm as daughter of an executive head chef and holidaying with a food/ restaurant PR and ex restaurant manager that the CoCo Bay's curry is most definitely the best served in all of Galle and Unawatuna. In addition their breakfasts and barbecues ...the two most important 'b' meals of the day, are fit for kings! Breakfast in particular converted me from a 'no food just coffee before 2pm girl' to a 'I am going to set my alarm half an hour earlier than usual because I am so excited about enjoying the extensive and delicious breakfast menu."

From fresh fruit smoothies to french pastries, warm porridge, fresh fruit salad, full egg breakfasts and then the best of all a full Sri Lanka breakfast menu from which we tried everything and thoroughly recommend the egg hopper, it was all delicious! yum yum yum!

The last thing to tell you about is the CoCo Bay team, simply put, they are all so amazingly kind, friendly and attentive that my mother actually cried the night we all said goodbye to them! My sister used to work for a 5/6* travel industry awarding body and said that of all of the hotels she has ever visited/ awarded around the world that she had never encountered such a great and welcoming team.

Without you asking they strive to make every aspect of your holiday perfect from handing out complimentary chilled coconut water whilst your sunning yourself on the beach to leaving you a delicious little tea time snack in your room every evening before dinner. Then when asked, no matter what your request they will go above and beyond to meet your preferences. On several occasions the restaurant staff made dishes for us that were not even on the menu as well as actually ordering in special fruits etc that we liked and wanted to try. The butlers also provided a special hand wash service when we had a few stained items of clothing and the yoga instructor that provides a complimentary yoga class each day (very fun/ educational and relaxing) also even changed the time and location of the yoga on several occasions just to suit us, and fit in with out safari trips etc...which FYI the hotel will organise all for you and with the nicest people! On one occasion the owners own actual wife even helped us on a quest to find out where in the local area may be able to remove gel nails, very very kind and helpful of her.

Anyway we would like to give special thanks to Bishan and all of his amazing team as well as Sumith and the oh so smiley Indika! We shall miss you all and hopefully see you all soon!

M,L,D. xx

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you so much for your most encouraging review. We appreciate your comments which have been passed onto the staff and this really motivates us to improve and enhance our services.We send you our warm wishes and look forward with anticipation to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We are just finishing our beautiful stay at Coco Bay. Our 8 night holiday has been the best holiday experience ever. We have stayed extensively in hotels all over the world during the last 30 years but this one is definitely the best and by a long way. Rene and all of his staff are so caring and eager to please. The location is perfect and the food to die for. Don't hesitate. Come here!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you so much. It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The staff join me in conveying our best wishes and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

The most pedantic critique couldn't fault this beautiful paradise in the coast of Galle. We were welcomed by Reny, an attentive and sincere manager who took around and sat us by the lounge with cold refreshing towels and a pineapple juice whilst checking in. He said "Enjoy your time in paradise" and he was right!

Staff were welcoming and attentive. Food was fantastic and affordable. We initially ventured out the local restaurants but soon decided to maximise our dining experience at Coco Bay. If you're not staying at hotel, food alone is worth the visit.

Our privilege ocean view room was private yet picturesque view of the beach right at the balcony. It is beautifully furnished, spacious and comfortable. Our bathroom had the best shower and a huge jacuzzi.

We went out for a swim and sun bathing after breakfast and on return, we found our room made with a basket of fruits on table. They run a daily boat service to nearby Jungle beach. The only criticism is that the beach is quite small so if you're a keen swimmer and wants to so water sports, you have an option of taking the boat at 9am and they will bring you back at 12. Or else you can return on your own at later hours.

Our experience at Coco Bay was phenomenal. We highly recommend this place and we plan to return in few years.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juma3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you so much for your encouraging review which is sincerely appreciated. It was our pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to your next visit with much anticipation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
800 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,377 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Property: CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing