We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was our final accommodation for our amazing holiday in Sri Lanka and picked this place to relax, unwind and enjoy a bit of luxury and it did not disappoint. We arrived a day early as we were ready for the comfort of a nice hotel and quickly felt relaxed and comfortable. All the staff were very caring to our 3 year old. Thank you Reny for all your assistance with our anniversary dinner, airport transfers and our last minute changes and thank you to our favourite waiter, Mahinda for making all our meals very enjoyable. We can highly recommend this place as a great place to relax, swim in the pool and beach, and to explore Galle and Unawantuna.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FCREAM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    134
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
184
314
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I went here just for 1 day for my Honeymoon & it was absolutely a wonderful place. We were warmly welcomed & went through all the facilities. Manager was always willing to help with a smile. We got a free upgrade to Aqua Romance room because we were a honeymoon couple. We were the only Sri Lankan couple there. Gall fort is just 10-15 minutes drive from this hotel. Conveniently located just after exiting the Colombo-Galle toll way. Would recommend to anyone who needs a getaway in a quiet location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Lanka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meddawatta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for a mini break with my 2 year old daughter- I work in Sri Lanka. The service, rooms and general resort was fantastic. The staff were all amazing, friendly and welcoming. The personal touches such as choosing my own handmade soap and the afternoon cookies and fruit delivered to my room really made the hotel stand out. The beach is great for young kids and my daughter loved playing with the pool toys that were set out each day. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I would highly recommend this hotel. I stayed one night in the aqua room and one night in ocean view. It was amazing being able to use the plunge pool after my daughter had gone to bed, knowing I was just outside on the terrace should she wake up. Will be back to stay in this fantastic hotel. Oh, yes, the pizza is to die for!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelle_donaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at the COCO BAY. Your compliments give us tremendous encouragement for our ongoing commitments towards service excellence. We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back to Sri Lanka and COCO BAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

A wonderful boutique hotel on the outskirts of Unawatuna. It was a 5 mins tutuk from the main town and beach but meant you got to escape the busy beach and feel like you we're in the middle of nowhere.
Perfect sized private beach, good sized if slightly cold swimming pool and restful beach loungers.
The rooms on the 1st floor with balcony views were stunning, the best nights sleep all holiday, real luxury with all the mod cons, including a jacuzzi bath.
The food was some of the best on our trip, either local or international when you want a change from curry and rice.
So glad we paid the extra for this resort - although the most expensive of our accommodation it was still great value for money, and the small touches made it all worthwhile. Unawatuna is a busy beach and slightly disappointing - it was good to be able to go in for the day or evening but I'm glad we stayed slightly further out. We also went to Galle fort one evening which was just as close and a good chance to see some local history.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review . It was a pleasure to have hosted you both and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the coco bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Excellent friendly staff with impeccable service. The manager, Reny was always on hand to answer questions and organise anything we needed. The Aqua Romance rooms are worth the small extra for a large terrace, jacuzzi and private pool. We booked with breakfast only but decided to change to include evening meals as the food and service was so good. The prices in the restaurant are very reasonable considering the standard of the food. The beach here is perfect and quiet - much nicer than Unawatuna bay and it's a much nicer place to stay than Galle itself. The location is good for a nice walk up Rumasala road (20 mins) to jungle beach which is nice for snorkeling and the hotel also has a free boat service here. On the walk you'll see monkeys and two temples. The hotel was quite new when we visited - it's very clean, nicely designed and is a lovely relaxed environment. This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Thanks Reny for making the first week of our honeymoon perfect!

Room Tip: The Aqua Romance rooms are worth the small additional for a large terrace, private pool and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezmanmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We consider it a privilege that you selected COCO BAY for your honeymoon and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.Your compliments encourage us on our ongoing commitments towards service excellence.Thank you for your review and the staff and I look forward very much to welcoming you back to Sri Lanka and the COCO BAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

What a lovely pleasant surprise to escape the hustle and bustle of busy Unawatuna beaches to have a very private, intimate dining experience - ahh yes "serenity" or should I say "Serendipity" - it was a welcome relief from the bustle of tutk tuk’s passing buses, cars and motorcycles (all at once) along the beach road. Coco bay was free from beach traders (which I really do love) but it was nice to escape to some privacy to recharge the batteries to explore every-thing that is fabulous about Sri Lanka. It is also very conveniently located to the historic Galle Fort (short tuk tuk ride, where we saw an amazing sunset from the Fort Wall)

Although I was not staying at the villa, I thoroughly enjoyed an amazing seafood meal (feast) at Coco Bay Restaurant – the food was prepared to perfection, very well presented was only surpassed by the location on a private beach overlooking the pool, then sandy bay to the ocean. Dinner by candlelight was a beautiful way to finish a hectic, lively day. I could suggest a dimming of the some of the back lights as a part of the restaurant (at the back ) was a little bright.

The restaurant is high quality, but affordable for the quality of food, wine offered and the service. Sri Lankan people are very welcoming and attentive, but the service received was beyond expectation – with lovely finishing touches like fresh mint flavored water.

I would highly recommend at dinner at Coco Bay Restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Coco Bay is a small modern semi-luxury resort on a private beach overlooking Galle Fort. It is important to note that this hotel is not actually in Unawatuna proper, but rather on Galle Bay - this has advantages and disadvantages explained below, depending on what your holiday goals are.

We paid USD 209 per night, half board for two, which we felt offered very good value for the level of service and comfort provided, as well as the high quality of the restaurant.

First the good news. This hotel gets almost every detail right in terms of comfort and service, and the restaurant serves excellent food and generous portions. The staff are well trained and attentive. Everybody seemed eager to accommodate whatever requests we had. We probably were more comfortable at CoCo Bay than anywhere else in Sri Lanka. There were a few silly oversights, like having a magnificent pool table, but one of the pool balls was permanently missing (7-stripe) from the set, rendering the giant table useless.

Now the bad news. Once you have seen the fluffy golden sands and turquoise waters of Unawatuna and other beaches, you will surely be disappointed in the beach at CCB. CCB is in the back corner of a bay between the mouth of a languid creek and some disused industrial buildings. The hotel makes a valiant effort to present the gardens and beach in the best light possible, but there is no escaping the fact that the extremely shallow brown silty water lapping up on a dark beach does not invite bathing, and it seemed practically none of the guests used it for such. It is fine however as a backdrop for evening dinners or afternoons spent reading, and hey, at least they DO have a beach. To be fair, this sort of beach would be good for small toddlers etc, as Unawatuna beach has very rough surf at times.

But even if you are a beach lover, don't write of CCB just yet! After our initial disappointment with the beach, we ended up feeling CCB's location was more an advantage than a disadvantage. That's because in exchange for not being in Unawatuna proper, you are in closer striking distance to historic Galle town. Both it and the glorious idyllic Unawatuna beach are only a 5 minute tuktuk ride away, and the hotel also runs free daily boat-shuttle around the point to much more pleasant "Jungle Beach" (also reachable under your own steam by tuktuk, scooter, or even walking) - so the location is really only a disadvantage for folks who expect to lock themselves in the resort for a week and not leave. We hired a scooter (800 Rps/day in Unawatuna town) so that we could come and go as we pleased, and so we made several daily sojourns to various beaches, or to Galle, coming back to the room in between to refresh or rest. Used in this way, CCB is in an ideal location.

Note that CCB has nothing around it in walking-distance - but again, problem solved if you hire a scooter or use the tuktuks.

The only other gripe I had was that we were unable to stay at this hotel on a breakfast-only basis, no matter how much we pleaded. And although the restaurant does make very good food, the menu is western-orientated and anyway we prefer to not eat in the same place every day. To the extreme that a couple of times we simply forewent our prepaid dinner and chose to eat elsewhere, which of course left us with a bit of a bad feeling.

The chic pool is elegant, but has a mortal flaw that it remains in shade all of the time as it is built under an overhang of the building. It is also very close to the restaurant tables, which gives you the feeling of being a giant koi fish for the diners to look at when you swim!

So we ended up using CCB more as a comfortable base than a resort. Used in this light, I highly recommend CCB if you are looking for something at the top-end whilst in Unawatuna-Galle.

Tip: Hire a scooter for freedom!
Tip: Try the Sri Lankan breakfast! If you want to eat the yummy "egg hoppers", you need to let the kitchen know the night before.

Room Tip: Forego the deluxe suites on the ground level and go for the normal rooms upstairs. They are brighte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for your review and constructive comments. As you rightly say , the beach is different compared to some of the others nearby. However the view of Galle Fort across the ocean and the magical sunsets are big advantages. The rolling waves during most of the year also makes it a good place for surfing for beginners. There are plenty of surfers when the waves are right. We are sorry for the inconvenience on the missing pool ball. A set of balls was on order and have been replaced. Our half board option includes breakfast and lunch or dinner. This is normally intimated at check in. I am sorry if this was not conveyed.
It was a pleasure to have hosted you both and thank you for your review and we hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again at the COCO BAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Property: CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing