We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place”
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Excellent place. Rooms where clean big and had all you need and some extra. We had a fantastic time at Coco bay and will definetly come back next time we are in Sri Lanka.
The most frindly and kind staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mille19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    137
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
186
316
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have stayed in the hotel 3 weeks and absolutly happy. The town is near and iti si possible to go for shopping and to see Fort Galle.
The Chef in the hotel made for our baby what she wants without no extra money
Next year will stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaE577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The entrance is hidden away just meters from the enterance to the Sothern Expressway. Set on a quiet bay overlooking Galle Fort in the distance. Sandy beach with safe swimming.

Came here for lunch at their La Mer Restaurant. Several international family groups all obviously enjoying a stay at this contempory well designed building. Very modern and gleaming white with hot accent colours. It felt comfortable rather than bleak in such modern surroundings. Great seating, very comfortable and the breeze off the sea made you want to linger over that extra drink.

Staff are attentive , polite and efficient. Food was well prepared and very well presented. Had a quick look in the large kitchen which was spotlessly clean.

The whole experience was very enjoyable and not spoilt by an unrealistic bill. very good value for somewhere of this quality.

Obviously caters for everyone from families with young children to people of a more senior age.

Room Tip: Only here for lunch but the view of the rooms from below held promise of excellence. All had sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

From the moment we were greeted and shown aroun this 5 star resort we knew that our 14 nights would be everything we had hoped for as I had booked in November before the resort was completed.The staff are fantastic led admirably by Reny,there is nothing they will not do for you if it is at all possible and always with a smile.We had booked an Aqua Romance Pool and were not dissapointed,the terrace is private and the plunge pool is semi private which is perfect because the ambience of the resort and the sea views would be lost.
I will start with the staff and I won't name any person in case I leave someone out.The restaurant manager and his staff,the house manager and his staff ,the front desk guys,the security and pool staff were all excellent.I believe it all stems from the top starting even with the Owner who will give you a warm greeting when he is at the resort .
The restaurant is definitely worthy of a 5 star resort.The dining is excellent both with the presentation,quality and freshness of the dishes prepared by the Chef and his staff. You will be surprised at the very and I mean very reasonable prices for such gourmet food.
Do yourself a favour and pay the extra $ for the aqua romance room.
Although we rarely went into the ocean I can assure you it was very clean and safe while we were there.

Room Tip: Try to book room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was our final accommodation for our amazing holiday in Sri Lanka and picked this place to relax, unwind and enjoy a bit of luxury and it did not disappoint. We arrived a day early as we were ready for the comfort of a nice hotel and quickly felt relaxed and comfortable. All the staff were very caring to our 3 year old. Thank you Reny for all your assistance with our anniversary dinner, airport transfers and our last minute changes and thank you to our favourite waiter, Mahinda for making all our meals very enjoyable. We can highly recommend this place as a great place to relax, swim in the pool and beach, and to explore Galle and Unawantuna.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FCREAM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I went here just for 1 day for my Honeymoon & it was absolutely a wonderful place. We were warmly welcomed & went through all the facilities. Manager was always willing to help with a smile. We got a free upgrade to Aqua Romance room because we were a honeymoon couple. We were the only Sri Lankan couple there. Gall fort is just 10-15 minutes drive from this hotel. Conveniently located just after exiting the Colombo-Galle toll way. Would recommend to anyone who needs a getaway in a quiet location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Lanka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meddawatta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for a mini break with my 2 year old daughter- I work in Sri Lanka. The service, rooms and general resort was fantastic. The staff were all amazing, friendly and welcoming. The personal touches such as choosing my own handmade soap and the afternoon cookies and fruit delivered to my room really made the hotel stand out. The beach is great for young kids and my daughter loved playing with the pool toys that were set out each day. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I would highly recommend this hotel. I stayed one night in the aqua room and one night in ocean view. It was amazing being able to use the plunge pool after my daughter had gone to bed, knowing I was just outside on the terrace should she wake up. Will be back to stay in this fantastic hotel. Oh, yes, the pizza is to die for!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelle_donaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at the COCO BAY. Your compliments give us tremendous encouragement for our ongoing commitments towards service excellence. We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back to Sri Lanka and COCO BAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Property: CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing