We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel, not the best beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, not the best beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Loved the bedroom here, bright and modern, goregous views, enormous bathroom with rain shower. Incredible staff and the welcome by the manger was very nice.

We liked the 'cold' pool, at least it was refreshing from the heat unlike the baths that most pools turn into. If you are looking for an amazing beach then this isn't the best choice. You can swim here but the river outlet is right next to it. I have seen enough rivers in Asia to know what goes in them so I chose not to swim here.

Dinner is different from the day time menu which I liked. It is very generous, starter, soup, sorbet, choice of 4 mains, dessert. I didn't find the food amazing like other reviewers. The seafood was cooked well but all the dishes are so dated and heavily western and a bit boring. We tend to have big appetites but I think they have gone over the top on portion sizes so there is a lot of food wasted.

Room Tip: I think upstairs is better for the balcony with a view. The plunge pools with the deluxe rooms are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    126
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
179
302
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Excellent place. Rooms where clean big and had all you need and some extra. We had a fantastic time at Coco bay and will definetly come back next time we are in Sri Lanka.
The most frindly and kind staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mille19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have stayed in the hotel 3 weeks and absolutly happy. The town is near and iti si possible to go for shopping and to see Fort Galle.
The Chef in the hotel made for our baby what she wants without no extra money
Next year will stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaE577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The entrance is hidden away just meters from the enterance to the Sothern Expressway. Set on a quiet bay overlooking Galle Fort in the distance. Sandy beach with safe swimming.

Came here for lunch at their La Mer Restaurant. Several international family groups all obviously enjoying a stay at this contempory well designed building. Very modern and gleaming white with hot accent colours. It felt comfortable rather than bleak in such modern surroundings. Great seating, very comfortable and the breeze off the sea made you want to linger over that extra drink.

Staff are attentive , polite and efficient. Food was well prepared and very well presented. Had a quick look in the large kitchen which was spotlessly clean.

The whole experience was very enjoyable and not spoilt by an unrealistic bill. very good value for somewhere of this quality.

Obviously caters for everyone from families with young children to people of a more senior age.

Room Tip: Only here for lunch but the view of the rooms from below held promise of excellence. All had sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

From the moment we were greeted and shown aroun this 5 star resort we knew that our 14 nights would be everything we had hoped for as I had booked in November before the resort was completed.The staff are fantastic led admirably by Reny,there is nothing they will not do for you if it is at all possible and always with a smile.We had booked an Aqua Romance Pool and were not dissapointed,the terrace is private and the plunge pool is semi private which is perfect because the ambience of the resort and the sea views would be lost.
I will start with the staff and I won't name any person in case I leave someone out.The restaurant manager and his staff,the house manager and his staff ,the front desk guys,the security and pool staff were all excellent.I believe it all stems from the top starting even with the Owner who will give you a warm greeting when he is at the resort .
The restaurant is definitely worthy of a 5 star resort.The dining is excellent both with the presentation,quality and freshness of the dishes prepared by the Chef and his staff. You will be surprised at the very and I mean very reasonable prices for such gourmet food.
Do yourself a favour and pay the extra $ for the aqua romance room.
Although we rarely went into the ocean I can assure you it was very clean and safe while we were there.

Room Tip: Try to book room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was our final accommodation for our amazing holiday in Sri Lanka and picked this place to relax, unwind and enjoy a bit of luxury and it did not disappoint. We arrived a day early as we were ready for the comfort of a nice hotel and quickly felt relaxed and comfortable. All the staff were very caring to our 3 year old. Thank you Reny for all your assistance with our anniversary dinner, airport transfers and our last minute changes and thank you to our favourite waiter, Mahinda for making all our meals very enjoyable. We can highly recommend this place as a great place to relax, swim in the pool and beach, and to explore Galle and Unawantuna.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FCREAM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I went here just for 1 day for my Honeymoon & it was absolutely a wonderful place. We were warmly welcomed & went through all the facilities. Manager was always willing to help with a smile. We got a free upgrade to Aqua Romance room because we were a honeymoon couple. We were the only Sri Lankan couple there. Gall fort is just 10-15 minutes drive from this hotel. Conveniently located just after exiting the Colombo-Galle toll way. Would recommend to anyone who needs a getaway in a quiet location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Lanka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Property: CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing