We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Coco bay delicious food”
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Coco bay delicious food”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights over The Avurudhu weekend. Faultless. Luxurious room and attentive service delivered by smiling & friendly staff who were dedicated to making my stay wonderful. I loved the location. If you want to get away from the "madding " crowd this is the place for you. Watch sunset & sunrise from your balcony. Sit under the stars. Have a swim in the calm bay. Galle town is close by and the crowded & lively beaches of Unawatuna are close by too should you wish to visit.
Thank you to manager Vinod and his staff for making my stay memorable. Special thanks to the chef for the delicious 3 course special dinner on my last day. Next time I shall stay for a week. Marion

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    141
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
192
322
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very nice new hotel. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and the staff is very helpful and attentive. The hotel has a access to the beach. The wifi is very good here. The downside for us, it's the only hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Good hotel if you just want to stay in the grounds. A few minutes from Unawatuna Beach where the cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here, absolute gem! Rooms are clean and spacious and staff are friendly!
Access to the beach and pool. Food is delicious and well prepped. True value for money spot and we felt we had the whole place to ourselves!!! Highly recommended.. You get to choose a pillow and your own soap from the menu.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ_Creations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful six nights at It was the first time in a long time that both me and my husband were truly sad to leave somewhere. We are both pretty well travelled and have stayed in some amazing hotels previously (four seasons, oberoi's etc) but this hotel and its staff were some of the best we have experienced. It really is the staff that make this hotel, they cannot do enough for you and nothing was too much trouble. We took our 19 month old son with us and they were amazing with him, they cooked to order foods that he liked and entertained him.

The food was lovely and the chef and his team worked hard to please everyone. We ate here for all our meals other then a lunch in unawatuna and one in galle but the food didn't compare. It was by far the best food we had whilst in Sri Lanka.

Special mention to our waiter Mahinda who our little boy adored, Saman and the cleaners and the restaurant manager Bishan - what a smashing guy.

Reny the hotel manager is approachable and quick to act on any problems, he is very relaxed and this is reflected throughout this wonderful hotel as it really is a place where you can switch off completely. You really get the impression that the people working here really take pride in their jobs and enjoy working here. It is no wonder this hotel (in the four months since it opened) has shot to number one of all the hotels in Unawatuna. Yes there are a few teething problems and room for improvement in some areas. I.e the rain shower leaks over the floor and the floor can become quite slippery so I think this needs some attention. But any problems or requests are dealt with quickly and efficiently and with a smile.

It's location is v.good as you are sandwiched between Galle and Unawatuna and only a short tuk tuk drive away from both.

We rarely visit anywhere twice but we will definitely return here at some point in the future. We wish them the best of luck with this hotel as they deserve it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at CoCo Bay in late April and were thoroughly impressed by the beautiful facilities, very pretty beach lagoon and such nice people working at the hotel who really did try their hardest to provide excellent service while being kind and not over-bearing. The hotel was such a nice get-away from the tourist-y areas of the town where the strips of what little beach is left were crowded with backpackers. Dining outside along the beach at nice while watching the crabs scurry across the sand was a big bonus, and the balcony outside our room offered plenty of privacy and a fabulous view. The pool wasn't huge but it sufficed for a cool dip and even worked for lap swimming, the exercise room was nice, the bathroom was huge and ultra-modern, everything was clean and lovely. We went as a couple but the hotel was perfect for kids - some rooms had small private pools on their deck. A few families with small children were there but the set-up offered enough privacy that the hotel was also perfect for childless couples or friends. Our hotel and overall trip to Sri Lanka was booked by Niranjan Motha at Chrys Tours, an excellent choice for a driver and tour guide who took us to an array of terrific hotels and sites and led us to some off-the-beaten path food stalls that offered up the best local food we had in the country. Niranjan is at chrysmotha@mobitelnet.lk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Kicked off a coastal Sri Lankan holiday with a three-night stay at this new resort situated between Galle and Unawatuna. Not the prettiest strip of beach around, but a mini-resort well designed for relaxation within easy reach of all the area’s highlights. Good service, tasty (but pricey) food, large rooms. Only quirk was that the metal grilles on the façade vibrate noisily in high winds – hopefully this design flaw will be remedied sooner rather than later. Many thanks to the staff for arranging airport pickup at 2AM.

Room Tip: Skip the rooms with ‘private’ pool access and go for the upper-floor options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRF_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We were really pleasantly surprised with coco bay. Lovely reception from friendly efficient staff, clean well equipped room, lovely clean beach, small pool but the sea was so nice we had no need for that anyway. Downside? Food a bit hit and miss ..also a bit pricey for what is on offer.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faussett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
888 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
812 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Property: CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing