We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco bay - good hotel but betrayed by staff”
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka in May 2013.

The hotel itself is very nice, good rooms, nice bath rooms, nice views and is located in the beginning of Unawatuna close to Galle Fort (a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away). There isn't much of a beach around the hotel, and the area behind the hotel has some litter.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and accommodated a request for a birthday cake making my husbands birthday quite special and we came back to towel elephants on our bed and a message saying 'happy birthday' which was quite sweet.

We left Coco Bay feeling that we had salvaged some of our holiday which we had struggled to enjoy due to the services of a tour company called Flywing tours and their driver Jegan whom we had dismissed on our drop off to this hotel due to his dishonesty, attempts to con us and his very dangerous driving.

However it seems (from a number of abusive messages later sent to us by the driver following his dismissal by us) that he had been informed by the staff at this hotel that we had had problems with our credit card (a forgotten pin so we used a different account card) and didn't have cash to pay for our stay (a complete and utter lie). This detail, albeit incorrect, could only have come from the hotel staff who were around when we were paying our bill and checking out.

We really can't understand why the staff at Coco Bay would do this, especially after we confided in the manager Reny our concerns about this driver and even showed him the abusive text message that was sent to us. He told us not to worry and took down the drivers telephone number and company details and assured us that the hotel was secure and that we should enjoy the rest of our holiday. We trusted him and the other staff and cannot understand why they would go behind our backs and say these things to this driver who they knew there was clearly a problem with. We feel really betrayed.

I can only say that we are really disappointed that what we thought was the best hotel of our trip has actually turned out to be the worst because of their actions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Haz_Mo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Manager at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

We are extremely sorry for this misunderstanding. At your request I personally sent your driver off after you explained the problems you had with him. Neither myself nor my staff have had any contact with this driver thereafter. We are extremely sorry that you think bad of the resort due to something that was not done by us and this has spoilt the memory of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Such a beautiful hotel, with the friendliest staff! We booked via Agoda only 3 days before, but as we arrived the reception desk were ready to welcome us by name! This hotel really has the wow factor - huge rooms all overlooking the private beach. The beds are ridiculously comfy, with a choice of 4 different pillows! Bathrobes, fluffy slippers, a selection of complimentary teas.
Galle town is about 10 mins away in a Tuktuk - we walked it, but i would recommend taking the tuktuk!!
Also highly recommend taking a walk/tuktuk to the beautiful Jungle beach, about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel. It's a secluded litle idyll, and you can also call in at a stunning Buddhist Peace Pagoda on your way.

Room Tip: Sea escape was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed three nights end of April, and we just loved the hotel. Our room was big enough for our family of 4 (2 young kids), very clean, you can chose your kind of pillow and even your soap!! We had sea view like all the rooms I think. The hotel has few rooms but the dining room is large so you don't feel oppressed by the others at meal times.
Breakfast is excellent, with a great choice of continental items. Dinners were very good too (the beef with rosemary sauce is an experience I'll remember forever!). We could order more classic things for our kids, they appreciated.
The pool is good for swimming (it's quite long) and has a baby area. The beach is not the nicest one, because of the dark sand, but it is full of living seashells so my kids spent their day watching them bury themselves into the sand! The waves are small so it's safe to bathe for the youngest.
Nice cocktail menu by the way!

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea view. We had a room with a private pool and a Jacuzzi, amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nalini5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights over The Avurudhu weekend. Faultless. Luxurious room and attentive service delivered by smiling & friendly staff who were dedicated to making my stay wonderful. I loved the location. If you want to get away from the "madding " crowd this is the place for you. Watch sunset & sunrise from your balcony. Sit under the stars. Have a swim in the calm bay. Galle town is close by and the crowded & lively beaches of Unawatuna are close by too should you wish to visit.
Thank you to manager Vinod and his staff for making my stay memorable. Special thanks to the chef for the delicious 3 course special dinner on my last day. Next time I shall stay for a week. Marion

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very nice new hotel. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and the staff is very helpful and attentive. The hotel has a access to the beach. The wifi is very good here. The downside for us, it's the only hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Good hotel if you just want to stay in the grounds. A few minutes from Unawatuna Beach where the cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jahir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here, absolute gem! Rooms are clean and spacious and staff are friendly!
Access to the beach and pool. Food is delicious and well prepped. True value for money spot and we felt we had the whole place to ourselves!!! Highly recommended.. You get to choose a pillow and your own soap from the menu.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJ_Creations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful six nights at It was the first time in a long time that both me and my husband were truly sad to leave somewhere. We are both pretty well travelled and have stayed in some amazing hotels previously (four seasons, oberoi's etc) but this hotel and its staff were some of the best we have experienced. It really is the staff that make this hotel, they cannot do enough for you and nothing was too much trouble. We took our 19 month old son with us and they were amazing with him, they cooked to order foods that he liked and entertained him.

The food was lovely and the chef and his team worked hard to please everyone. We ate here for all our meals other then a lunch in unawatuna and one in galle but the food didn't compare. It was by far the best food we had whilst in Sri Lanka.

Special mention to our waiter Mahinda who our little boy adored, Saman and the cleaners and the restaurant manager Bishan - what a smashing guy.

Reny the hotel manager is approachable and quick to act on any problems, he is very relaxed and this is reflected throughout this wonderful hotel as it really is a place where you can switch off completely. You really get the impression that the people working here really take pride in their jobs and enjoy working here. It is no wonder this hotel (in the four months since it opened) has shot to number one of all the hotels in Unawatuna. Yes there are a few teething problems and room for improvement in some areas. I.e the rain shower leaks over the floor and the floor can become quite slippery so I think this needs some attention. But any problems or requests are dealt with quickly and efficiently and with a smile.

It's location is v.good as you are sandwiched between Galle and Unawatuna and only a short tuk tuk drive away from both.

We rarely visit anywhere twice but we will definitely return here at some point in the future. We wish them the best of luck with this hotel as they deserve it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
448 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
617 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: £126 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing