We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coco Bay New Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Coco Bay New Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This small hotel is really adorable!
We were over welcome here from everyone and especial from Mr René da Silva, the hotel manager, who presents me my sósia - Patricia Dias da Silva - a wonderful person who likes to travel around the world, just like me.

So, my family and I were pampering in this unique hotel. We just stayed 2 days at the aqua romance room with a pool, an amazing suite, with a huge bathroom with aromatic homemade soaps.

At sunset we enjoyed a happy time drink by the beach and we had fabulous dinners on the hotel. But my favourite was the seafood banquet they prepared for us on our last night – everything was just delicious. I also loved the restaurant atmosphere, very peaceful, relax and with luxury details. All staff was remarkable and friendly.

During the day, we visit the ancient Portuguese Galle district and enjoy the golden sands and turquoise waters of nearby Unawatuna beaches.

Truly recommend this small boutique hotel for family and couples who wanted to be pampered!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PateLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review which gives us much encouragement .We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    134
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
184
314
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is new and if there was not that horrible wind( monsoen) it would be perfect. The rooms are wonderful with jacuzzi with view on the Indian ocean.The food is excellent and the employes are hard working always friendly guys ( no ladies)
The best time to visit will be from oct /april.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review. We are sorry about the strong monsoon winds you experienced. This was unusual and was impacted by a bad storm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

great little place, especially for a sun down pizza and a beer. one of the finer restaurants in Galle and i would recommend this and will no doubt be visiting again in the future.

its a little out of UWB, tuc tuc will take you directly though.

Room Tip: try the pizza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatHinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This little hotel is the epitome of a getaway. Set on its own directly on the beach, from arrival to departure this was the perfect experience. The warm, friendly and helpful staff are all excellent, the food is simply delicious and very fresh, the views are spectacular and the room was just perfect. I can't imagine not leaving this place glowing; we enjoyed a getaway weekend here recently and literally do not have one criticism. Many thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review which gives us so much encouragement and satisfaction. The staff join me in sending our best wishes and we hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at the COCOBAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Coco bay unawatuna is wonderful place and it increase the pride of our small country..Starting from Manager to room staff, every one is committed to made the guest's holiday so special..Rooms, food and beach is excellent and those things insist us to be there again and again..special thank to all the staff,and coco bay has the best staff it could be.

Room Tip: Each and Every room is best in quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosala A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you so much for your encouraging review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience the magic of COCOBAY and look forward with much anticipation to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka in May 2013.

The hotel itself is very nice, good rooms, nice bath rooms, nice views and is located in the beginning of Unawatuna close to Galle Fort (a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away). There isn't much of a beach around the hotel, and the area behind the hotel has some litter.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and accommodated a request for a birthday cake making my husbands birthday quite special and we came back to towel elephants on our bed and a message saying 'happy birthday' which was quite sweet.

We left Coco Bay feeling that we had salvaged some of our holiday which we had struggled to enjoy due to the services of a tour company called Flywing tours and their driver Jegan whom we had dismissed on our drop off to this hotel due to his dishonesty, attempts to con us and his very dangerous driving.

However it seems (from a number of abusive messages later sent to us by the driver following his dismissal by us) that he had been informed by the staff at this hotel that we had had problems with our credit card (a forgotten pin so we used a different account card) and didn't have cash to pay for our stay (a complete and utter lie). This detail, albeit incorrect, could only have come from the hotel staff who were around when we were paying our bill and checking out.

We really can't understand why the staff at Coco Bay would do this, especially after we confided in the manager Reny our concerns about this driver and even showed him the abusive text message that was sent to us. He told us not to worry and took down the drivers telephone number and company details and assured us that the hotel was secure and that we should enjoy the rest of our holiday. We trusted him and the other staff and cannot understand why they would go behind our backs and say these things to this driver who they knew there was clearly a problem with. We feel really betrayed.

I can only say that we are really disappointed that what we thought was the best hotel of our trip has actually turned out to be the worst because of their actions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haz_Mo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Manager at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
We are extremely sorry for this misunderstanding. At your request I personally sent your driver off after you explained the problems you had with him. Neither myself nor my staff have had any contact with this driver thereafter. We are extremely sorry that you think bad of the resort due to something that was not done by us and this has spoilt the memory of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Such a beautiful hotel, with the friendliest staff! We booked via Agoda only 3 days before, but as we arrived the reception desk were ready to welcome us by name! This hotel really has the wow factor - huge rooms all overlooking the private beach. The beds are ridiculously comfy, with a choice of 4 different pillows! Bathrobes, fluffy slippers, a selection of complimentary teas.
Galle town is about 10 mins away in a Tuktuk - we walked it, but i would recommend taking the tuktuk!!
Also highly recommend taking a walk/tuktuk to the beautiful Jungle beach, about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel. It's a secluded litle idyll, and you can also call in at a stunning Buddhist Peace Pagoda on your way.

Room Tip: Sea escape was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Property: CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing