We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Hotel”
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent six nights at Coco Bay Resort following ten days touring Sri Lanka. It was a delightful experience from start to finish...the only downside being having to leave! Although this is a small hotel it certainly punches above it's weight in every way! The design is superb, very open and fresh and virtually wherever you are in the hotel you can see the wonderful beach, smell the sea and feel a cool breeze flowing through. The staff are warm and friendly and cannot do enough for you and the food is outstanding with plenty of choice, either European or Sri Lankan. The beach is one step from the restaurant, very clean, quiet and safe for swimming. Altogether a superbly relaxing and enjoyable experience as close to perfection as one is likely to get.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was excellent,plenty of room with a large balcony with lounger and tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    137
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
186
316
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to spend our final week in Sri Lanka in a luxury hotel. Because we are not 'resort types', we booked this small boutique resort with only 12 rooms. And decided to burn even some extra cash on the Ocean View Privilege Suite. This turned out to be a very good idea. The room was very very spacious, two balconies, yummie bed with a pillow menu and a bathroom with a jacuzzi. The staff is very polite and eager to help; they even know your name.

The location is also perfect; in a quiet area between Unawatuna and Galle. Both can be reached easily by tuktuk. Also the secluded beach is very nice.

The hotel is new, but the owner is an experienced hotelier and combined all of his knowledge in one new hotel. The hotel is expanding though: they are planning to build an additional 4 rooms by 2015.

Only small point of critique would be on the food. Although others seem to love it, we thought the European style 6 course menu was a little bit bland. The breakfast was good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Saskia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Aa boutiquehotel very new. We stayed there for 2 nights. Very relaxing place quiet bay you do not hear the noisy roads.

We had the Ocean PRivilage suie wich is dobble size room with jacuzzi.

The staff did thier best to serve the hotel guest.

The cheff is the best in erilanka. Very very rich and well cook dinner.

But

In the bathroom we didnt have thjngs you expect to find .

Brakfast is not as rich as you can expect.

In the very close and nice beach we coud not find shadow

The door to the balcony is not closing.

Resume: too much money for a friendly hotel but not first class

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yossi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great place for relaxing. I stayed for 11 nights with my family in a ocean privilege suit and everything was perfect. Very nice shallow beach perfect for children. Superb food and staff definitely coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joachim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a cute boutique hotel with only 12 rooms! This is what keeps it nice and tranquil. It is a short tuk tuk ride from Unawatuna and is very serene. We also went to jungle beach closeby which was a bit of an anticlimax as there were so many people there (however the ocean is the clearesta dn most blue)

The breakfast is good with a great selection and various options. The evening dinner is 5 course...which in my opinion is a bit long winded for the quality that you are getting.

Overall the rooms are nice (all face the ocean), have turn down service, huge jacuzzi baths. The butler gives you the option of different soaps as well which is nice.

In my opinion there is no point paying for the private pool rooms (as they are gith night to the main pool and open for all to see)

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for any of the different types of room, they all ahev an ocean view and the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked at Coco Bay at the last minute and were really impressed with the range of facilities, views across to the fort, excellent food and wine list and the attention to detail and friendly approach of the management. The suites were modern, clean and spacious and all had excellent views of the ocean with the added touch of being able to listen to the waves as you drifted off to sleep on a pillow of your choice from the pillow menu! Dining under the mature palms whilst sipping a crisp chilled Prosecco, that was reasonably priced was a perfect finale to the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Despite being between noisy Unawatana and Galle, the hotel location in its own bay is pretty secluded and quiet, and the views across the water to Galle Fort are outstanding. We had one of the Ocean Privilege suites, which was enormous, tastefully decorated and with all the amenities and equipment you would expect, including a Jacuzzi bath which we only used once because in these temperatures, all you really need is a cool shower! The welcome from the staff was genuinely warm and friendly, they were happy to spend time talking with us and greeted us every day by name - its that sort of small and intimate hotel. We were on half- board, with good choices of food for breakfast and dinner, and could choose from the a la carte menu for a change if we wanted. On our last evening, the chef cooked us a huge pomfret fish, which was delicious. All meals can be taken either in the restaurant or on the pool deck under the coconut palms and the stars (at night)! On some evenings, there was musical entertainment at dinner, which was interesting.
In summary, this is a lovely place to stay for a relaxing break, with good food, lovely staff and in a super location. We think some of the other reviewers must have stayed in a different hotel - we certainly didn't recognise some of the complaints.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
400 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Property: CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing