We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, fantastic location”
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment I walked in the welcome was very warm. Detailed explanations on hotels facilities as well as pillow selection and soap selection done very well. The rooms are brilliant. Jacuzzi clean and in perfect working order. The sea is calm and nice. Pool was clean and the pool boy friendly. Information given at the front office was courteous and accurate.
The only down side was the breakfast which I thought was average. The only problem with the room was the wifi. It was very weak and worked intermittently.
Definitely will visit again!!!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Malaka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the COCO BAY and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have chosen this place because it offered both: pool and direct access to the beach. The beach was very clean and my kids (2.5 years and 7 years) could play without hesitation in the water, as it was very flat. There was a babypool integrated in the big pool, so in addition to the beach we also enjoyed sometimes the pool for swimming. The staff was very helpful and friendly and we liked the foot very much. We were on halfboard & some light food during the day; my daughter think the Spaghetti Bolognese were one of the best she ever had. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy the sun and the beach, it's definitely a very nice place to go and the kids have enough space to play.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the COCO BAY and look forward to the pleasure of hosting you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Rooms are clean and well presented, there were a few issues with the bathroom, but to our surprise the maintenance man actually managed to fix them. It's a typical tropical beach resort kind of place and if you like bright orange and white you'll love this place, though it lacks refinement in it's fixtures and fittings that it should have at this price (Fake wood laminate flooring, irons provided but with a plug type that the room doesn't have - hope you brought your own adapter).

For a relaxing lazy beach holiday this is a very good place to unwind, however the meals are hit and miss. The half board (Breakfast and Dinner) package gives you a six course - or possible five if they forget the tea and coffee, which they did every time, meal for dinner:
Usually a starter that may be heaven or mediocre, followed by what always tastes like instant soup, next can be frankly strange: some sort of sorbet or ice cream intended to clean the palate, but a super-sweet lime sorbet or avocado ice cream doesn't really do that. The chef has a tendency to cook things too hot so don't expect juicy tender meats or fish, but he is trying hard at food he has probably never tasted in it's native environment. Desert will be either too sweet or just nothing like it's description. Having said all this, it's still some of the best food in the area unless you want local street food, which is excellent, but not something we could eat more than once a day.

The staff were the usual mix of really nice and friendly and the not so much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Princess_Choco_Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We refer to your comments and are sorry you had a mixed experience at the resort. The COCO BAY team are closely scrutinizing your comments and wish to assure you that action will be taken to make improvements on the short comings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Coco bay is a wonderful hotel perfectly situated on the coast between Galle and Unawatuna. The hotel has a private beach with shallow warm waters that are fringed by tall coconut trees (hence the hotel name). There is an inviting fresh water pool for all hotel customers and also a separate pool divided into thirds and which are for private use by those staying in the aqua romance rooms. The evening sunsets are absolutely beautiful to watch with the suns rays glistening on the calm waters.

We stayed for three nights as part of our honeymoon and were given one of the three aqua romance rooms. The room was excellent with a large & comfortable bed, a plush lounge suite, satellite TV (with the test match cricket on!) and well stocked mini bar. The spacious bathroom had a large Jacuzzi and powerful shower and was very clean. The WiFi signal throughout the entire hotel was also very strong, a rarity among Sri Lanka’s more boutique hotels.

The hotel food was also of the highest quality, there is a 6-course set menu available which was very tasty and which can be served on the beach. We did feel however that the service was just a little rushed, as soon as one course was finished the next was delivered and 6 courses were complete within 40 minutes. The breakfast menu is split between European, Sri Lankan or vegan options. Of the 9 hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka, this breakfast menu was the best we had.

The management & staff were all very professional and helpful. We were personally greeted on arrival by the manager and provided with the customary cool towels and a refreshing drink, the small touches do make a difference.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Coco Bay and when it was time to depart it was with a heavy heart. If you’re looking for a peaceful and beautiful hotel yet with easy access to the life and atmosphere of Galle and Unawatuna then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01Andrew_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A lovely small exclusive hotel, excellent rooms, service and food. The staff cannot do enough to please. The hotel has the benefit of a private bay, the sea being calm, sandy underfoot with no rocks therefore a very safe environment to swim. Dining experience magical sun setting directly opposite eating area and waves lapping gently in the near distance. Pity our stay was too short , cannot wait to return.
Whilst there, wanting an ayuravedic massage, we were recommended by the hotel to go to the Cellantao healing centre situated on the headland above the hotel. This was the best massage ever experienced thoroughly recommended to try. All details for this at hotel reception, transport included.

Room Tip: Privelage suite room 201 fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

It was our pleasure to have hosted you all and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The COCO BAY team look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the end of tour of Sri Lanka. This boutique hotel is tucked away at the end of the bay (not big busy Unawatuna) with it's own secluded section of beach. We had one of the Aqua Romance rooms (you don't have to be on honeymoon to have one!) and it was fantastic to have the room with the private patio, plunge pool and loungers right on the beach. The room was big with everything we needed and the bathroom even bigger including a jacuzzi for two. We did have one small issue which we brought to the attention of the managers and they very quickly resolved it to our satisfaction. All the staff were very professional and helpful and the food excellent. Our best meal was sitting out under the stars by the sea eating a delicious seafood platter. Would highly recommend.
ps Be careful with the tuk-tuk drivers that park at the end of the road as in our experience they are not to be trusted, instead try Saranga on (+94)0779767884.

Room Tip: Aqua romance room 1 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the COCO BAY. We will look into the problem with the TUK TUKS and try to resolve it even though it happens outside our premises.
The staff look forward to your return and the pleasure of hosting you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I recently spent a relaxing 6 nights at Coco Bay and would thoroughly recommend it.

The hotel is designed to maximise the beachside location and view of the beach, sea and Galle Fort (on the other side of the bay). All rooms have this view, as does the restaurant (which spills out onto an outdoor terrace), bar and lounge area, which was a truly fantastic vista.

The hotel itself is modern and of a very high standard. Our room was big, with a jacuzzi bath, sofa, table and a balcony with table, chairs and sun lounger - and no creepy crawlies, always one of my fears!

There were lovely little added extras, like being able to choose our own soap (which the porter then cut for us!), an afternoon treat of cake or biscuits in our room each day, and an evening turndown service, complete with rose petals most nights.

The food was very good - breakfast is served at the table (rather than a buffet) and is generous, there is a good selection of baguettes and pizzas for lunch (plus a much broader menu if you could manage it after a big breakfast!) and dinner offered a wide choice of the fantastic Sri Lankan rice and curry, sea food (with prawns that were the size of lobster!) and decent standard meat dishes. There was a certain idiosyncrasy to things at times - we'd order the same thing and get something slightly different - but that wasn't really a problem as whatever we were given was always delicious!

We had booked on a room only basis but opted to go up to bed and breakfast - half board using a set dinner menu was certainly available though if we'd wanted it (and possibly full board - not sure).

The service was pretty good - some staff were polite but a little distant, whereas others were particularly friendly and clearly enjoyed their jobs and wanted to enhance your stay. The standard of spoken English was generally very high. One or two things are a little rough round the edges - on one occasion we were missing one bath towel, and on another we were missing the promised complimentary bottles of water and had to ask reception for them - but very minor gripes!

The location meant that we could easily visit the Unawatuna beach area or Galle Fort/town by tuk tuk, and we did so on a number of occasions.

The only real disappointments were that there weren't more sun loungers (sometimes we had to wait for one) and that things wind up by about 10.30pm in the bar.

All in all a great choice for a hotel far enough from the madding crowd for some serious beach relaxation, but close enough to to be able to visit the nearby places of interest easily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepyhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and for the constructive comments which are appreciated. Glad to inform you that sun lounges are on order and we are arranging to keep the CHILL OUT bar open till 11 PM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: £124 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing