We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out at Coco Bay”
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've just returned from 2 weeks travelling in Sri Lanka, staying at many different hotels. CoCo Bay, Unawatuna was fantastic! The staff are so friendly and helpful, its just like being with friends. CoCo Bay is great because there are only about 14 rooms, so it never feels busy. It's right on the beach front, which can be a bit windy depending on time of the year, but the breeze dropped in the evenings and eating dinner on the beach in balmy weather was fantastic.There was an amazing selection of food on offer, but our favourites were the Sri Lankan dishes, delicious!
The rooms were beautifully appointed and the suite room we had was so spacious, great balcony and gorgeous view of the beach/sunset. What amazed me is how the staff always had our room cleaned and prepared while we were out, without ever having to ask and never getting in our way. Fabulous, friendly service. We loved our few days here, and we'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are great. A few have private plunge pools, 4 new rooms on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beattysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the COCO BAY and thank you for the positive comments made on Trip Advisor.
The staff join me in sending our best wishes and look forward with much anticipation to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a mixed experience. It has to be said that the staff were really friendly and did a great job. The rooms in the hotel are really spacious and beautifully done. However, we booked one of the room with a plunge pool on the ground floor. The bathroom, although huge, was very smelly!! The smell was coming from the drains. We spoke to the manager who moved us to another room which didn't have the pool anymore :-(. However, they did try to make up for it in other ways. The hotel is about 4 km outside Unawatuna so if you are looking for hustle and bustle this might not be the best option. It does have it's own private beach to make up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the smell in the bathroom. We had just opened after a refurbishment and this was due to a loose water seal and was repaired the very next day.
Thank you for the positive comments on the rest of your stay and we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I along with my wife and 21 month old daughter stayed in this hotel for two nights in december 2013. We booked half board, the food was great. Location is very good, right on a small beach. our guide find it difficult to locate the hotel first as it is little inside the main road. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated, its a new hotel, you can feel it. Overall i ll rate this hotel excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasim1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to write to Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us the staff look forward to welcoming you back to the COCO BAY on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

WOW! We only stayed one night at coco bay but it was the most breathtaking hotel room we've ever stayed in. Everything about our room was luxurious and beautiful, VERY comfortable bed, huge bathroom with a jacuzzi. Everything looked brand new and freshly renovated. We had a big balcony where you could watch the sunset..

The hotel has its very own private beach where you can lounge on their comfortable sun beds and swim in the pool.

We had dinner at coco bay's restaurant and even though we only shared the seafood pizza and a couple of cocktails it was divine. Very tasty food.
In the morning we had the breakfast as well and the amount and quality of food was amazing!! & very well priced @ $9 AUD per person.

We would love to come back here for total relaxation. It truly made is feel like a million bucks!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linbaba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your encouraging review . The staff join me in sending our best wishes and look forward with much anticipation to your next visit to COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked this the night before on a whim as an overnight trip from Colombo. A very modern feel to the recently upgraded hotel. It is quite 'orange' and may not be to everyones taste, but it feels very classy. The room and bathroom were huge, very clean, and there were nice touches, such as a choice of hand cut soap and a bowl of fruit. The only noise that might disturb was the crashing of the waves, but with French Doors closed this was not a problem.
The relatively shallow pool sits right next to the open reception area and is next to the beach and was enjoyed by our two children. The small private beach looks out across the bay towards Galle, but it was too rough to swim during our visit. The Beach Sand was a little black, but still fine for sand castle building.
Cocktail Happy Hour allows for sundowners on the Balcony and the meals were excellent, with a served breakfast and set menu evening meal. Although, it does not have the initial feel of a family friendly hotel, it turned out to be just that. DVD player in the room and a free DVD library kept the children entertained whilst cocktails were drunk on the large balcony. Furthermore, the set menu was adjusted to allow for the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravelling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your encouraging review. We are delighted your family enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a lovely hotel to stay in at the end of a tour around Sri Lanka. The room was tastefully decorated and very spacious. The staff were all so friendly and the service they provided was superb. As for the food-we enjoyed every meal. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footballgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write to Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Near Galle, a few minutes walk or tuk-tuk to Unawatuna beach this hotel shines compare to its authentic surroundings. Great rooms, very clean and excellent restaurant with a great set dinner. The staff is amazing and tries hard to make every stay perfect. Since there isn't much happening outside the hôtels in this country, the pool table was a great plus.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alpineworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svdes79, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
617 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: £124 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing