We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Gaetano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Gaetano
Ranked #3 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Spent christmas at this great place, the rooms are big and clean and really great value for the money.
Its located in the "jungle" a short tuktuk ride from unawatuna beach.
Great food and staff is wounderful and really helpful.
This place was our top accomodatio during our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Villa-Gaetano ( Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna. We are really very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us specially on Christmas Time. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back to our little Home for yet another memorable stay with us.Thank you once again!
Melani+Chrishan
Villa-Gaetano - gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
0094 7777 123 26/ 0094 77 340 80 47
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
108
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this beautiful location and I have to say that everything was perfect!!!
Let's start with the villa. It's not on the beach, but it's in the middle of the mangrove forest. The surroundings are beautiful (you can jog or walk in the morning). They have a splendid garden, very big, with flowers, coconut trees, a natural pond with fish and a nice pool.
In this fantastic garden is the newly built villa with 6 rooms. The rooms are super large and light, with high ceilings, nice decorated, very clean, large bathroom, large balcony with hammocks.
The owners, Melani and Chrishan are the perfect hosts and they are offering you the best service in every way, every time, with a big smile.
Let's talk about food - if you are staying here, it's a must to try their dishes!!!
Apart for the breakfast which is included in the price, you can also have lunch or a candle light dinner in the garden.
Any special request that you have for food or anything, you only have to ask and they will provide.
I have to say that we've tried here some of the best dishes in Sri Lanka. Chrishan is cooking a lot of dishes, but his mangrove crab is heavenly tasty, cooked to perfection!!!
Chrishan, congratulations again for your cooking!
They can arrange for you excursions, transfer from the airport, etc. And if you are lazy and don't want to walk to the beach (it's a 30 minutes walk), Chrishan will give you a ride by tuk-tuk.
We were really impressed by everything and very sad that we had to leave.
I'm looking forward for our next trip to Sri Lanka, because as Melani's father said - definitely Villa Gaetano will become our second home in Sri Lanka.
Many thanks for everything Melani & Chrishan and the rest of the family and see you soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitea2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for a great excellent review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in our little villa. The staff with Chrishan will be heartened to hear such a lovely praise from you.

The area is really good for jogging, walking & cycling too as you mentioned.

It’s great that you enjoyed the special food prepared by Chrishan. Specially the Mangrove Crabs!

Our specialty in here is to fulfill the expectations or wishes of our guests as much as we can with giving a home feeling to them in a friendly service.

We would love to have you back at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) and hope you will return soon.

Thanking you,
Melani+Chrishan
Tel:- 0094 7777 123 26
E-mail:- gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and was so impressed. The family are warm and caring. The villa is gorgeous with outdoor pool and badminton net (racquets and shuttle cocks to borrow). We had dinner most nights there and every meal was incredible. So much food! Breakfast was included with our booking and always lovely. We walked to unawatuna beach every day (30mins) but there is free tuk tuk available but good exercise to walk! The place is so peaceful. We was sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammieelou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Ayubowan! Thank you so much for this wonderful excellent review. We have given our best service mixing special LOVE for you to enjoy your holiday to relax with peace & calm. We loved having you with us at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) and hope that you will return soon. Warmest regards.
Melani & Chrishan.
Please contact us:- gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com 0094 7777 12326 / 0094 77 3408047
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent our last couple of days on Sri Lankan soil in Villa Gaetano and we really loved it! We were welcomed with flower garlands and very tasty fruit juice. The garden and swimming pool were perfect for our kids (10 months & 3 years) and the food is wonderfull! Melani gave me a private cooking lesson and shared a lot of good recipes! Chrishan even bought me some watties to make iddyappam back home and dropped us at a store to buy some other kitchen stuff. Watching the fruit bats fly over the mangrove at sunset is just magical... Many thanks to Melani, Chrishan and the rest of this lovely family for adding another unforgettable experience to our amazing 2013 Sri Lankan holiday!!!
Greets from Sven, Jessica, Aiko & Len

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Ayubowan! Thank you so much for your kind excellent review and for choosing Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna to stay at the end of your holiday to be relax, peace and calm.As you tried our recipes it is really nice to hear & you will keep reminding us when ever you are having Asian Food. It was an honor to have you with us and we look forward seeing you soon! Warmest Regards,
Melani & Chrishan
Contact us :- gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com 00947777 12326 / 0094 77 34080 47
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We spent 5 nights in the end of our holiday at Villa Gaetano and it is really great place for relaxation. Rooms are very nice, light and clean and you can feel warm family atmosphere here. The service of the owners is just perfect. Although the beach is a bit far, Chrishan took us there by tuk-tuk whenever we needed. The large fantastic garden and amazing peace of this place was definitely better for us than staying close to the the busy and noisy Unawatuna beach. We hope to come back to Villa Gaetano soon!

GPS location: https://maps.google.com?q=6.02647,80.255

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vovisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for your excellent feedback following your recent stay at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in our little home. It is really possible everything for us to give like FREE Tuk-Tuk service to the beach & make you really feel like your Sri Lankan Home.
Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again. Thank you!

Melani & Chrishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skara, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at Villa Gaetano eight nights ín November 2013. The family who runs the guesthouse is very nice and helpful. The rooms are big and clean ad the garden is beautiful.It is really good value for the money. It is a good place, with a home-feeling, where you can relax. The service is very good.
The family helped us with different excusions. They recomended some places that we couldn´t have found on our own, for example a batikfactory. They have their own tuk-tuk and they can drive you to different places for a good price ( it´s free of charge to Unawatuna beach). When we went to Galle and the beach we decided a time when we wanted to be picked up or just sent a text-message if we hadn´t decide a time. They also picked us up at the railway-station when we arrived. We went to Mirissa for whalewatching. Chrishan drove us 4.30 in the morning. They made coffee for us before leaving and sandwishes and fruitsallad to bring for breakfast. Chrishan waited for us until when we came back after six hours.
The food is also very good and we tried many Sri Lankan specialties that Melanie suggested. We had also delicious seafood.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of excellent following your stay at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our home for yet another memorable stay with hidden Sri Lankan tradition to expierience.
Thank you!
contact us-gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com

Melani+ Chrishan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recently stayed here with my brother (both backpackers) for a bit of luxury for a few days and we loved it. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the family, who are such amazing friendly people. They make you feel so welcome, they showed us around the place and even brought us a complimentary coconut drink. The rooms are very impressive, big and spacious and you can tell that they have been recently renovated. They each have a balcony overlooking the gardens ,ponds and swimming pool.. Free Wifi access is also available in the restaurant and the rooms, which is always ideal for the traveler. Breakfast is included, which includes tea/coffee, a mixed fruit shake, toast and butter and a choice of egg dish.. It was delicious. In the evenings you have the option of a special dish, my brother and I only had it once as it was a little over our budget. The meal we did have was excellent. The only drawback of the place is that it takes about 30 minutes to walk to Unawatuna Beach, however the family organise one free tuk tuk shuttle to the beach each day for you. Would highly recommend this place to people and thanks to the family for a great few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookey1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanking you for writing a such a nice excellent review about Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home).
It is really good to us feel our family atmosphere made your stay more nicer.
Just one thing is our evening meal we could talk about your budget and solve it out.
We try our super best to satisfy you and give the very best service as we can.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Melani & Chrishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 144 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#2 of 144 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gaetano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gaetano

Property: Villa Gaetano
Address: Kadolana ''Mangrove'' Road | Atharagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gaetano - Melani and Chrishan's Home located in the village of Atharagoda, Unawatuna in a fully natural setup in mangroves.We have three large separate rooms ach with balconies, each with attached bathrooms & a refrigerator. All bedrooms are furnished. Melani and Chrishan's Home offers 1 free shuttle service per day to beach at your command. Rare facilities like free cookery class& kitchen facilities also are available on request.Other services: Swimming pool - (10meters long), Internet, frees bicycle, Library, Ayurvedic therapy and yoga, 24 hour safety guaranteed service, spacious garden for playing Laundry service, Airport pickup and Sight-seeing. When you are coming to villa gaetano please turn to Heenatigala Road from near the Post Office and turn again from Mangrove Road and come until you find Aturvedic Village Garden then pass the biggest bridge and left side with a green gate is Villa-Gaetano as we are new and a little place there is a little board with ''Melani+Crishan's Home'' Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Gaetano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing