We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly idyllic guest house "in the jungle"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Gaetano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Gaetano
Ranked #4 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly idyllic guest house "in the jungle"”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at Villa Gaetano for 3 nights in January and enjoyed it very much. Melani & Chrishan are the loveliest, most helpful hosts and we were well taken care of. Chrishan is an excellent cook- try his amazing Sri Lankan crab curry! The rooms are large and clean (however a little bit dark). The A/C works well and there's plenty of hot water. Breakfast was great and there was plenty. The grounds are large, green and peaceful, a perfect spot for morning yoga practice!
It kind of feels like you're in the middle of the jungle, with animals, reptiles and insects (not so enthusiastic about the insects but I guess it's Sri Lanka and you just have to accept it.)
However it's just a 10min tuktuk ride from the beach and Chrishan was very helpful driving us there whenever we wished to go. It's perhaps a bit far to walk, especially at night as the road is narrow, jungle-like and dark but you can also borrow bikes for free.

However what is most memorable is the kindness, service and smiles of the hosts. They take care of you as if you were staying in their home. I warmly recommend Villa Gaetano!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannasandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us in Villa-Gaetano.
We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly invaluable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Home, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable.
Thank you!

Melani + Chrishan
Villa-Gaetano
gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
108
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My friend and I stayed one week at Villa Gaetano in Jan 2014. We booked a transfer from the airport and was met by our driver and taken all the way to Villa Gaetano in a lovely air-conditioned car with a stop for coffee which was much needed.

Melani and Chrisan are just so welcoming and attentive to your needs I can highly recommend staying at Villa Gaetano. First night we had an amazing dinner served - home cooked and very tasty. Every morning we had breakfast served by Hassi - just delicious food, coffee and juice, can recommend the Sri Lankan omelette. The villa is just so well positioned in the mangrove away from all the hustle and bustle of the beach area, it is a very relaxing place and with such good facilities, great pool, lovely landscaping and you can play badminton in the lovely garden.

I hope to come back soon and thanks Hassi, Melani and Chrisan for a lovely stay at Villa Gaetano!

Room Tip: Get the room with the hammocks outside on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperStinaLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your great comments about Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially that you enjoyed our breakfast and other meals. In the garden you can play badminton, have nice bicycle tours, and enjoy playing and swimming in the pool at any time. We look forward to seeing you at Villa Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna soon! Warmest Regards!
Melani+Chrishan

Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home)
Contact us:- 0094 77 340 80 47/ 0094 7777 123 26
( When you are coming to villa gaetano please turn to the road near Unawatuna Post Office the road called Heenatigala Road, then cross the rail gate too when you are coming straight of this road you will find a little inner road called ''Mangrove'' in Sinhalese ''Kadolana'' please turn from that road come till you find ''Ayurvedic Village Garden'' then pass the biggest bridge over there next to it villa gaetano is with a green gate. There is a little Bord of ''Melani+Chrishan's Home''. As we are new and little make sure to contact us when you are arriving to give the directions to you in friendly manner!
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podimore
Level Contributor
284 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked direct and could not believe the quality of accomodation for what we paid. The room was spacious and beautifully presented. There was a shared balcony and a swimming pool in lovely gardens. We were picked up without cost from the bus stop and at all times were treated with gracious politeness and gentle charm by all the staff.
The Villa is about a kilometre from the main road but we found this a pleasant walk. We borrowed free bikes and the rides along the back roads were beautiful.
It is a bit far to easily eat anywhere else but there is a good menu and the table decorations are beautiful and full of flowers. We could be picky about the slowness of food arrival especially at breakfast and we probably had better currys elsewhere but to give this place anything other than 5 stars would be unfair.
Highly recommended for a relaxing and quiet stay in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a lovely shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us in Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home).
We apologize that the services provided, did not meet your expectations. We are constantly reviewing our standards and always endeavor to improve our product and service offerings. Your constructive feedback is therefore deeply valued by us and will certainly be looked in to as areas where we could better our quality standards.
Once again thank you for taking your valuable time to writing us, and we certainly hope to have you with us once again.

Melani + Chrishan
Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home)
Contact us:- 0094 77 340 80 47/ 0094 7777 123 26
( When you are coming to villa gaetano please turn to the road near Unawatuna Post Office the road called Heenatigala Road, then cross the rail gate too when you are coming straight of this road you will find a little inner road called ''Mangrove'' in Sinhalese ''Kadolana'' please turn from that road come till you find ''Ayurvedic Village Garden'' then pass the biggest bridge over there next to it villa gaetano is with a green gate. There is a little Bord of ''Melani+Chrishan's Home''. As we are new and little make sure to contact us when you are arriving to give the directions to you in friendly manner!
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alingsas, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Dear Melani & Chrishan,

We really enjoyed our four days stay at Villa Gateano, the room was big, beatiful and very clean. This little guesthouse is in Unawatuna, a short tukuk drive from the beach (but we prefered the pool). The area around this place is very safe and friendly and it´s not that turistic.
The best thing of our stay was to meet Melani, Chrishian and Hasi. The most friendly, helpful and happy persons.
Melani and Chrishian (the owners), made us feel like home, and organized theese lovely trips to the Buddhist temple and to Galle Fort.
The food was splendid, we ate there three times per day. We can specially recommend the sri lankan style crab... delishious!
If you are going to Sri Lanka, stay at this guesthouse, you´ll absolutely love it! It made our journey to the best!
PS. (they make the BEST mango and orange jucies IN THE WORLD).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie_123sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Madam & Sir,
Thank you for your excellent feedback following your stay at Villa-Gaetano ( Melani+chrishan's Home) Unawatuna . We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Specially our food ( Crab,Sandwiches,Sri Lankan Kitchen & Various Fruit Juices). It's a pleasure to join with you for a cycling tour to see around the mangrove beauty with inner village. Great to know our services & staff exceeded your expectations. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Thanking you!
Melani+Chrishan

Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home)
Contact us:- gjhapuarachchi@yahoo.com 0094 77 340 80 47 / 0094 7777 123 26
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Spent christmas at this great place, the rooms are big and clean and really great value for the money.
Its located in the "jungle" a short tuktuk ride from unawatuna beach.
Great food and staff is wounderful and really helpful.
This place was our top accomodatio during our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Villa-Gaetano ( Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna. We are really very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us specially on Christmas Time. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back to our little Home for yet another memorable stay with us.Thank you once again!
Melani+Chrishan
Villa-Gaetano - gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
0094 7777 123 26/ 0094 77 340 80 47
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this beautiful location and I have to say that everything was perfect!!!
Let's start with the villa. It's not on the beach, but it's in the middle of the mangrove forest. The surroundings are beautiful (you can jog or walk in the morning). They have a splendid garden, very big, with flowers, coconut trees, a natural pond with fish and a nice pool.
In this fantastic garden is the newly built villa with 6 rooms. The rooms are super large and light, with high ceilings, nice decorated, very clean, large bathroom, large balcony with hammocks.
The owners, Melani and Chrishan are the perfect hosts and they are offering you the best service in every way, every time, with a big smile.
Let's talk about food - if you are staying here, it's a must to try their dishes!!!
Apart for the breakfast which is included in the price, you can also have lunch or a candle light dinner in the garden.
Any special request that you have for food or anything, you only have to ask and they will provide.
I have to say that we've tried here some of the best dishes in Sri Lanka. Chrishan is cooking a lot of dishes, but his mangrove crab is heavenly tasty, cooked to perfection!!!
Chrishan, congratulations again for your cooking!
They can arrange for you excursions, transfer from the airport, etc. And if you are lazy and don't want to walk to the beach (it's a 30 minutes walk), Chrishan will give you a ride by tuk-tuk.
We were really impressed by everything and very sad that we had to leave.
I'm looking forward for our next trip to Sri Lanka, because as Melani's father said - definitely Villa Gaetano will become our second home in Sri Lanka.
Many thanks for everything Melani & Chrishan and the rest of the family and see you soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitea2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for a great excellent review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in our little villa. The staff with Chrishan will be heartened to hear such a lovely praise from you.

The area is really good for jogging, walking & cycling too as you mentioned.

It’s great that you enjoyed the special food prepared by Chrishan. Specially the Mangrove Crabs!

Our specialty in here is to fulfill the expectations or wishes of our guests as much as we can with giving a home feeling to them in a friendly service.

We would love to have you back at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) and hope you will return soon.

Thanking you,
Melani+Chrishan
Tel:- 0094 7777 123 26
E-mail:- gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and was so impressed. The family are warm and caring. The villa is gorgeous with outdoor pool and badminton net (racquets and shuttle cocks to borrow). We had dinner most nights there and every meal was incredible. So much food! Breakfast was included with our booking and always lovely. We walked to unawatuna beach every day (30mins) but there is free tuk tuk available but good exercise to walk! The place is so peaceful. We was sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammieelou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Ayubowan! Thank you so much for this wonderful excellent review. We have given our best service mixing special LOVE for you to enjoy your holiday to relax with peace & calm. We loved having you with us at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) and hope that you will return soon. Warmest regards.
Melani & Chrishan.
Please contact us:- gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com 0094 7777 12326 / 0094 77 3408047
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 29 in Unawatuna
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 144 in Unawatuna
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#2 of 144 in Unawatuna
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gaetano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gaetano

Property: Villa Gaetano
Address: Kadolana ''Mangrove'' Road | Atharagoda, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gaetano - Melani and Chrishan's Home located in the village of Atharagoda, Unawatuna in a fully natural setup in mangroves.We have three large separate rooms ach with balconies, each with attached bathrooms & a refrigerator. All bedrooms are furnished. Melani and Chrishan's Home offers 1 free shuttle service per day to beach at your command. Rare facilities like free cookery class& kitchen facilities also are available on request.Other services: Swimming pool - (10meters long), Internet, frees bicycle, Library, Ayurvedic therapy and yoga, 24 hour safety guaranteed service, spacious garden for playing Laundry service, Airport pickup and Sight-seeing. When you are coming to villa gaetano please turn to Heenatigala Road from near the Post Office and turn again from Mangrove Road and come until you find Aturvedic Village Garden then pass the biggest bridge and left side with a green gate is Villa-Gaetano as we are new and a little place there is a little board with ''Melani+Crishan's Home'' Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Gaetano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing