We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay just outside Unawatuna”
Review of Villa Gaetano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Gaetano
Ranked #3 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great place to stay just outside Unawatuna”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great place to stay just outside Unawatuna centre. Nice atmosphere, very friendly people and a lot of activities are recommended and organised by the owners. Very nice food, breakfast as well as a fine dinner. Rooms are spacious, cleanm nice hot shower and western standard matrasses. Can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Owner at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your excellent feedback following your stay at Villa Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna. We are truly happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality.Great to know our Location, services, activities & our family staff exceeded your expectations.
We eagerly look forward to having you with us again!
Thanking you for staying in Villa Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home)

Melani & Chrishan,
Villa Gaetano,
Mangrove Road,
Unawatuna.
gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
melani8921@yahoo.com
0094 7777 123 26/ 077 340 80 47

****If you come by bus or alone your self please come near Unawatuna Main Post Office, from there is a road junction called ''Eramudugaha Junction'' please turn from there and use the boards directions of Ayurvedic Spice Garden then please pass it, again you have to pass a long bridge then you can see villa gaetano (Melani +Chrishan's Home) in your left hand side with a green gate. So you can open the gate and come in.
Its better if you can contact us before coming here, it is also possible to pick you up from Unawatuna.
Thanking you!****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
113
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rooms and bathroom are big and very clean. Good shower with hot water. Airco in bedrooms workshop very well. WiFi good and powerful. WiFi is shot down around 10 pm, but - at request- can be used 24/7. (Very much needed because of several worldcup football games!). We had fantastic freshly home cooked meals every evening. Meals were succulent and great great quality!! We were offered tea and biscuits at several occasions which was a lovely gesture. Melani, Chrishian and Waroene made us feel very welcome at their villa: Thank you all very much!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee-en-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Owner at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sir & Family,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write an excellent review about our home stay Villa Gaetano ( Melani +Chrishan's Home). Great to know that you have enjoyed the food and the clean rooms.Its our pleasure to be flexible according to the situation like FIFA Foot Ball Match. Will share your comments with Waruna too. Hope you & your family will visit us again for a relaxing stay to Villa Gaetano (Melani + Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna.

Thank you.

Melani & Chrishan
gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
0094 7777 123 26/ 0094 77 340 80 47
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we loved the place! We travelled three weeks in Sri Lanka and in the past also in other countries and this villa is really the best placed we have stayed. The welcom was warm and friendly. We didn't have a reservation but the showed us the room and prepared it very quick. The room is very big, clean and comfortabel. Everthing is new and Melani and Chris have thinked at everthing, a umbrulla for rain, a good bed, showergel and so on.
We liked the garden with lots of palm trees and a nice pool. We haved been with the free tuktuk service to the beach and also to Galle and a turtle 'farm'. Chris and the boy (sorry forgot your name) took us with two small boots to the mangrove. Also an good advice!!!
The food is delicous and the breakfast was the nicest that we have had on our holiday, fresh juice, tea, fruit salad, pancakes, egg, toast and some Sri lanka food. The dinners (also vegetarion) were great, every day a different kind of very tasty curry. Chris, Melanie and the stagair that helped us every moment very friendly. My friend had a medical problem and they took us to a good docter and pharmacy. When we check out and were already at the Galle station they brought us a bag we forgot.
The rates for the room and food are also good.
We really recommend this villa and if we come back to Sri Lanka we will be here again! Thank you very much for everthing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nien1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Owner at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Villa Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna!
It was indeed a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we are humbled to see such high praise from you. We hope that you had a memorable holiday with real Sri Lankan culture and food and things to do around us.We also happy to help you in a friendly manner at anytime from bottom of our hearts.Everything that we have done to make your valuable holiday more nicer.Thanking you for your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
Thanking you,
Melani & Chrishan.
Villa Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home)
Kadolana (Mangrove) Road,
Yatagama,
Unawatuna. (0094 7777 123 26)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in March and had an amazing stay.

Melanie and Crishan were always full of smiles and more than happy to help at any time, going far beyond the usual generic service level of other places in Sri Lanka. The attention to detail in the room on arrival made us feel instantly at home. Then there were the free lifts to the beach, the laundry, the leaving gift of roti's after we'd mentioned they were our favourite snack... the list could go on.

This guesthouse is not near the beach and although we initially thought this might be a problem it turned out to be pleasant surprise as it's much more relaxing than the seafront area and a nice place to explore from on the free bikes available at the guesthouse.

On the final day of our 3 night stay, Crishan demonstrated how to cook some traditional Sri Lankan curries, of which we happily devoured the delicious final product.

Top marks for a top guest house run by top people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 166DaveW166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Owner at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Madam & Sir,

Ayubowan! Thank you so much for your excellence review of Villa Gaetano! It was a pleasure taking care of you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Gaetano (Melani + Chrishan's Home) Unawatuna. Chrishan & the team is thrilled to know that you loved the food, the service and the surroundings. We look forward to seeing you soon at Villa Gaetano!
Also from all of our Guests Excellence Reviews we have won the Certificate of Trip Advisor Excellence Reviews 2014! I take this response opportunity to Thank You All!
Thanking you!
Warmest Regards,
Melani & Chrishan
gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
0094 77 340 80 47 / 07777 123 26
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had such a lovely stay in Villa Gaetano, the owners are really helpfull, friendly, smiling all the time. Melani and Crishan really tried their best to made us fell like in paradise.

The place itself is about 1km away from the main road, so it is very peacefull and also very safe. Do not worry about location, since they offer free tuk-tuk service anytime. Crishan took us twice to Jungle beach and also to the bus station.
Rooms are incredible: spatious, very clean, good smell in them, big bathroom with open shower, balcony, mini bar, small fridge etc.

We also tried food there and loved it! Crishan knows what he is doing in the kitchen. They also prepare you what you like. Breakfast is great, freshly cut fruit, fruit juice, pancakes, eggs…

They offer bikes for free, there is a swimming pool, palm trees all over the place…

I would really recommend this lovely place to everyone and would like to stay here again myself!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukc567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Owner at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for this beautiful review and we are so, so happy that you were to Villa Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) and we hope that your expectations were fulfilled and exceeded. Your kind words about the food and service are very much appreciated by Villa Gaetano Team. We hope to see you again very soon!
Warmest Regards,
Chrishan & Melani.
Villa Gaetano
Mangrove Road, ( Just passing Ayurveda Spice Garden Unawatuna)
Unawatuna.
gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
07777 123 26/ 077 340 8047
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAMADVENTURER
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Villa Gaetano with our son for two nights and can only endorse other guests' comments. We were most impressed with the accommodation and facilities provided by Melani and Chrishan who are very hospitable and delightful hosts. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious and look out over beautiful gardens and the swimming pool ; the food is delicious and Melani went out of her way to accommodate our individual tastes. They also offer a range of activities including cycling and canoeing and sightseeing trips. We would certainly stay here again and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone wishing to spend time in the Unawatuna area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADVENTURER30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for this beautiful review. We are so glad that you have enjoyed every part of Villa Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home) hospitality, including the food and service.

We all are extremely happy to see such a wonderful review and enjoyed having you with us. We hope that you will be back soon and that we will exceed your expectations every time.

Warmest Regards,
Chrishan & Melani.
Villa Gaetano
Mangrove Road ( Just passing the Ayurveda Spice Garden Unawatuna)
Unawatuna.
gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com
07777 123 26/ 077 340 8047
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Because we've visited again Villa Gaetano, I have to update my review.
What can I say, we had again the best experience in every way!
This time it was my birthday and they organize a party for me - a candle light dinner in the beautiful garden, with seafood barbecue. They brought a very nice guitar and harmonica player, we had fireworks, flowers and a birthday cake.
They've prearranged everything with my husband and it was the best surprise for me (they also decorated our room with balloons and a lot of flowers).
Apart from this, we had again and again THE MOST AMAZING MANGROVE CRAB!!!
Chrishan is doing wonders in the kitchen and definitely you have to order some other dishes as well - he's preparing this excellent jackfruit dish and this very special eggplant salad. Basicly, if you have a special requirement for a dish, you simply ask them.
Now they have 2 brand new canoes and you can spend a few hours on the mangrove forest and canals. Boating through the mangroves is absolutely special, you can see water monitors, a lot of birds and fish, monkeys jumping into the trees. It's beautiful and a must try.
Thank you guys for everything and see you next time!!!
Melani&Chrishan - we wish you a gorgeous and well deserved vacation!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitea2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrishan S, Owner at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Villa Gaetano! It was a delight for the entire team to have had you with us and an honor to have had your Surprise Birthday Party at Villa Gaetano! It was a pleasure to attend to the little details to make your special day perfect.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and Specially the Big Mangrove Crabs for the second time! And also the Canoe tour inside the Mangroves very much enjoyable.

We all are wishing you a bright future with good health!

Thanking you!

Melani & Chrishan.
Villa Gaetano
Mangrove ''Kadolana''Road
Unawatuna.
gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com

(Just passing the Ayurvedic Spice Garden in Unawatuna Kadolana)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
818 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
900 reviews
0.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gaetano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gaetano

Property: Villa Gaetano
Address: Kadolana ''Mangrove'' Road | Atharagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gaetano - Melani and Chrishan's Home located in the village of Atharagoda, Unawatuna in a fully natural setup in mangroves.We have three large separate rooms ach with balconies, each with attached bathrooms & a refrigerator. All bedrooms are furnished. Melani and Chrishan's Home offers 1 free shuttle service per day to beach at your command. Rare facilities like free cookery class& kitchen facilities also are available on request.Other services: Swimming pool - (10meters long), Internet, frees bicycle, Library, Ayurvedic therapy and yoga, 24 hour safety guaranteed service, spacious garden for playing Laundry service, Airport pickup and Sight-seeing. When you are coming to villa gaetano please turn to Heenatigala Road from near the Post Office and turn again from Mangrove Road and come until you find Aturvedic Village Garden then pass the biggest bridge and left side with a green gate is Villa-Gaetano as we are new and a little place there is a little board with ''Melani+Crishan's Home'' Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Gaetano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing