We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kokos beach bar ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koko's Beach Grill

Koko's Beach Grill
Ranked #5 of 95 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: a small family run restaurant on the beach, offering the best in western cuisine for those who need a bit of familiarity in there diet whilst in Asia. all created by Chef Gary(UK) and his team ensuring 100% satisfaction by using only hand picked local ingredients and preparing all food cooked to order.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Kokos beach bar ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Went there after reviews i had read on trip adviser tiny little place to eat husband british wife sri lankan food was excellent mainly british but good choice from burgers to nachos good old potato chips not fries right on the beach would retun again

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
hi thanks for your kind review.

we are glad you enjoyed your experience at kokos on the beach
all food is prepered fresh daily and our chips are peeled cut washed and fried to order ensuring 100% quality and freshness.

we wish you all the best in the future and we will meet again.

thanks and blessings
kokos on the beach family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    200
    55
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Worth a trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great burgers!! Great views and vibes at this place just go for a swim after to burn off the awsomeness.

Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
hi thanks for your great review,
we are glad you enjoyed your overall experience at kokos on the beach.
it was great to meet you and hope our paths cross again in the future.

thanks and blessings
kokos on the beach family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
179 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We loved the place... great food and a subliem family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very small place... but the best place to get a beer, a burger or fish and chips. A lovely family to get the picture complete. We loved the place and will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
hi thanks for your kind review.
we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at kokos on the beach.
we prepare all our food daily to ensure you get the very best on offer.
we keep the restaurant as informal as possible and encourage our guests to sit back and relax and make them selve at home.
it was great to meet you guys and hopfully we will neet again in the future.

thanks and blessings
kokos on the beach family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“29/07/2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

tired of curry ?seafood?want to eat some munchy burger with cold beers in a family like place ?this is your spot ...daring to test your ability to chew huge burge KOKOS ALMIGHTY is the answer...!burgers not for the fain hearted ! if you are in the area place is a must for the openminded fellas...GARY you are the man !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank idomeneasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
HI thanks for your kind review.
we are glad that you enjoyed your whole experience at kokos on the beach
we constantly strive for 100% satisfaction and it gives us great pleasure when we achieve this.
it was great to meet you and share some life experiences and we wish you all the best in the future.

thanks and blessings

KOKOS ON THE BEACH FAMILY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I've only tried the burgers (cheeseburger and the tex mex), but they are great. Good beef and great buns. The best burger I've had in all my travels in Asia.

The place could be nicer, a bit cramped between to other restaurants.

But the food is very tasty, and the owner really nice.

Helpful?
Thank espenhogbakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
hi, thanks for your kind review and for visitibg us at kokos on the beach.

we are glad you enjoyed your burgers, we make the bread twice a day(some times 3) and grind our beef fresh daily to ensure 100% freshness.
all our ingredients are sourced locally every day to make sure we deliver great fresh food daily.

unfortunately due to the monsoon season and the general sea erosion we are forced into a small space, we are however hopeful that we will gain some extra beach in the near future.

thanks again for visiting us and hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.
thanks and blessings

KOKOS ON THE BEACH FAMILY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koko's Beach Grill also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Koko's Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing