We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fall over tango paul”

Black & White Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Grill, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Black & White restaurant. The best culinary experience of Unawatuna beach. Famous for outstanding food and great ambiance in a charming restaurant. Perfect dining experience on the beach with a usual casual flair. We are proud to serve only the freshest food. Our seafood always a fresh catch of the day, fruits and vegetables come from local markets, we prepare our food to reflect the freshness and original taste with special attention to each and every dish. Our menu offers a selection of fresh seafood, international cuisine, and Sri Lankan traditional rice and curry which are all prepared & cooked to very high standard by our chefs. Our kitchen is open 7.30 a.m. to 9.30 p.m. and our bar is open until our last customer leaves. We are closed during the full moon.
jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fall over tango paul”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have the luck and pleasure of staying in unawatuna for a few months of the year and i love hanging out at the black&white and the seahorse diving centre,great people great friends,
see you soon guys....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paulcJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    124
    48
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great vibrations”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Manju, Ruwan and the team do everything they can to make you happy and welcome! Food is great as well all dishes tasty & fresh. Worth a visit for the smiles alone. Cool place for a sundowner.

Helpful?
3 Thank lookinglost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallikaserry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service too allow...”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

I know beach shackd should be laid back and its okay to have to wait for your food while you drown a few beers. But this place takes it to a while new plane. And to make it worse, the food is average. Don't order the chicken satay which is basically chicken with peanut butter. Service is friendly which is the only reason you don't fight with the Waiters.... Avoid this place..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Place for seafood”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Located right on the beach past the UBR on Unawatuna Bay. Most of the tables are set up on the sand with the ocean just a few metres away. Was also a full moon that night which added to the ambience.

Drinks served quickly and our mixed party of adults and young children had very differing demands of what we wanted to eat. Chices were mostly for sea food platters or jumbo prawns. The childrens foosd was served well in advance of the adults and they were happily fed and quiet before our very well prepared sea food arrived. Salads were imaginative and different from other places on the beach and the dressing served separatley. A real rarity on the beach.

Staff are friendly and attentive but never intrusive.

The devilled chicken was not up to standard but overall everyone was more than happy.

Well run and fresh food.

Toilets could easily be kept cleaner and the staff accomodation nearby should have the doors closed, not exactly 5 star. Kitchen looked clean, well laid out and open to public view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tastiest food in Unawatuna”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

You would not think from the outlook of this little place how exceptionally good the food is! We stayed in the guesthouse connected to the restaurant for 6 nights. First we tried out other "fancier looking" restaurants, but then stuck to this one, as the food overrated the others. Breakfast is OK, dinners are excellent. Try the fried rice, deviled, prawns and most of all the Sri Lankan curry set, all of them remarkable. Highly recommended even if you don't stay in the guesthouse!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Szilva_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black & White Restaurant also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Black & White Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing