We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in lovely location”
Review of Beach Grove Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Grove Villas
Ranked #5 of 149 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It is a short, cheap tuk tuck drive just outside Unatwatuna, we had a lovely stay in November. Mr Asoka and his staff were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were very clean, light and airy. I had one of the best nights sleep of my holiday in the comfy four poster beds with mosquito nets. Enjoyed sitting out at breakfast and watching all the birds, and even saw from the swimming pool monkeys up in the near by trees. We stayed there at the end of our holiday (wish we’d had longer) and would recommend it as a good place to start the holiday too. (may be worth the extra money for the airport transfer, as we booked through an agent at the beach and they sent a tiny Tata - was cheap but a scarey 2 and half hour journey to the airport!) Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

From the moment we arrived, to the minute we left this was something special. Asoka is a genuinely warm host who will instantly make the weary traveller feel at home. The rooms are incredibly spacious, the 4 poster bed and large bathrooms are stunning.

You have to eat here one night, as the Sri Lankan food is superb, cooked using fresh local ingredients and served with the warmth that you would expect from a friend.

Asoka even arranged transport for us for our whole stay in this beautiful country. Nothing seemed too much trouble!

Simply fabulous!

Richard & Vanessa

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I would like to say a very warm thank you to Mr. Asoka and his team. My boyfriend and I had such a wonderful time at the Villa. The highlight being the home cooked meal his wife prepared. I would say that was one of the best dinners I had the whole holiday, my particular favorite was her Pineapple Curry.
The rooms were modern, clean and inviting with very comfortable beds, with plenty of space. The surroundings are so peaceful and it was amazing to see so many fireflys too.

Mr Asoka and his team are professional, welcoming and friendly.
I highly recommend you stay in this hidden paradise!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a home cooked dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaDarling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent one night in an amazing villa few hundred meters from the beach in the jungle. The villa has been built few months ago, is super clean and offer a very relaxing and calm environment. Service was great with warm welcome and excellent breakfast. We spent one day there and wish we have spent longer. Last but not least the owner is a very nice person and is truly taking care of his guests. A great place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredericL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

A large group of us stayed here and took over the entire villa. It was such a fabulous find, perfectly located a short walk from the beach but on the side of a hill, above a rice field. It was clean, beautiful and reasonably priced. Asoka the owner and his wife cooked a delicious dinner for us one night and was so welcoming and helpful. We couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahB2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

9 of us stayed at Beach Grove Villas for 5 nights last month so we had the entire villa to ourselves and were incredibly well looked after by Asoka and his team who kept the place immaculate and organised practically everything for us. We had a delicious supper cooked by Asoka's wife one evening and a very large breakfast each morning when we woke up.

The Villa is a short distance from the beach which isn't too built up and there is a wonderful beach bar/restaurant called Wijaya as well as a number of other great places to eat a short tuktuk ride away. It is nestled in a secluded elevated position in the jungle overlooking paddy fields - it really is a special place and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We staid in this amazing place for 6 nights/5 days. We were 2 families with 3 children (2 of 4 yo and 1 of 2 yo). We had the "apartment" which is actually a villa ( 2 huge rooms with a saloon between) overviewing the swimming pool. The owner Mr. Asoka answered all our requests. He is an onset person who organized for us even the trips ( safari, turtles, fort, whales). We had private Sri Lankan dinner on our veranda, twice - a real delicates. Every thing was on time and spotless.

We recommend this place for anybody who wants to chill out!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bursu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
1.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#10 of 33 in Unawatuna
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Grove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Grove Villas

Address: Talpe North, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £30 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Grove Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Beach Grove Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing