We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth all the five star reviews”
Review of Beach Grove Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Grove Villas
Ranked #6 of 162 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What is there to say? Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014, and had a fantastic stay with my girlfriend. The compound is really small, only 4 villas guaranteeing a very personal service. The location is really quiet, which is part of the charm. The sunsets on the beach (15mins walk) are epic, and it might have just been one of the nicest stretches of sand we visited during our month in Sri lanka, as the beach is not very commercialized yet. Asoka the owner is genuine nice guy, who has a lot of good suggestion on what to do with your time around Sri Lanka, and can arrange you comfortable trip around Unawatuna. Highly Suggested!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a lovely time at the Beach Grove Villas. There were 5 of us and we had the two bedroom villa. It was spacious and very clean. Everything worked perfectly, from our airport pickup to the three day tour organized through their tour company. I really enjoyed waking up in the morning and wandering out onto the verandah for a cup of tea followed by a tasty breakfast. We also had supper there two nights - completely different dishes each time - all delicious. We had great wifi connections and plenty of hot water. We enjoyed the pool and the on-site massage service. If you plan to walk down the road in the evening, I'd recommend taking a flashlight. Otherwise it feels like taking your life in your hands.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoeNisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had 9 wonderful relaxing days here - couldn't imagine any better. The place is a peaceful pearl, not fare from the beach. It`s about 10 minutes walk, or you can hire a tuc tuc if you´re lacy ;)
Asoka and his staff are wonderful. We got served our breakfast every morning on our "south state veranda". And they are there for you all the time!
The birdlife are fantastic, waking up with the birds, are just perfect!
The villa has big spacious rooms, nicely decorated. Some may find the villa a little expensive.
We had the most pleasant stay here. Highly recommended!
Bente and Kjell

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bente L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had wonderfull relaxing days there - couldn't imagine any better. The place is peacefull with lots of animals (peacocks on the roof every morning, king fishers ... midst of nature. Asoka (manager and owner) and his team were exceptionally comforting and careing. It's just a 5 min walk to the beach with a natural pond, where swimming ist also possible with rough wheather. Asoka's brother manages a hotel there with private beach which is also available for all guests of the beach grove villas. Never miss the curry, Asoka offers every now and then - marvellous!!!! Best curries we had during our whole stay in Sri Lanka (though food is anyhow very good in Sri Lanka). We already look forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: Each villa is spacious, neat and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigrun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014


Great place to relax and spend quality time with family or friends. The villa has big spacious rooms, nicely decorated and clean too. The owner, Mr.Asoka is nice and friendly man same as his staffs too.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hannah-Ariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you are looking for peace and quite this is the place. The villas are set in a beautiful landscape and have a nice pool. The rooms are huge and airy, the beds makes you sleep way too long. There are plenty of hot water in the shower and with good pressure.
When you finally wake up, you just walk out of your room and will be served a fresh breakfast. The fruit platter was amazing.
The downside is that the villa is a 10 min walk to a beach. And if you want to go in to Unawatuna, it is a 10 min ride with a tuk tuk. Asoka, the owner, will help you to arrange a tuk tuk. If you are fine with this, then go for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If there is one word that doesn't exist in Asoka's vocabulary, it is "NO". There wasn't a single request of ours that he turned down and, in fact, he went all out to make our vacation relaxing and enjoyable.

The airport pick-up vehicle was extremely comfortable for our family of 7 adults and 2 children. Asoka had arranged for lunch and we arrived at this beautiful, clean, sunny villa to be served chilled beer and fruit juice followed by the most delicious Sri Lankan lunch!! We immediately requested Asoka to prepare lunch for us for the remaining days our stay and he kindly obliged, serving us unique and different Sri Lankan dishes each meal. The breakfast was plentiful and again, he went the extra mile, serving traditional Sri Lankan foods (hoppers, string hoppers, pittu, sambol, etc) in addition to the standard continental breakfast - and all of it was delicious! He also allowed us the use of the kitchen, making it convenient to prepare meals for my two young children.

The villa is beautiful and spacious. Tastefully decorated. Well maintained and clean. The beds are huge and can easily accommodate a family of four. The only issue was with the hoards of flies that were just about everywhere and got into the mosquito nets and sat on our food. The mosquitoes were less of an issue in the villa, although my relatives who stayed in the room in the bungalow complained of being thoroughly bitten by them.

The swimming pool was lovely. It was so tempting to have the pool was just a few steps away from the room that we had a hard time keeping the children out of the water! It was also nice that there are only two villas and a few rooms because it was private, peaceful and quiet at all times.

Although the other hotels and sights of Unawatuna are only a short tuktuk ride away, it is a bit of a pain because you need to arrange in advance for a tuktuk every time you want to head out - even to get to Sri Gemunu, which is a sister hotel but a good half kilometre away. Yet, while we would have been content in the villa our entire stay, we had to head out in order to get dinner everyday and also to enjoy the beautiful beach (the villa isn't on the beach front but located on an inner road). Sri Gemunu's food is bland and a bit overpriced, but its beach front is very beautiful, especially the natural pool which we thoroughly enjoyed. It might be helpful to have your own vehicle if you want to look around/ spend lot of time at the beach or do some sightseeing.

Overall, Beach Grove Villas is the perfect place to stay if you want to have a quiet and lazy time and enjoy the extremely gracious and hospitable service of Asoka and his staff. It is also a wonderful choice if you are traveling with small children as the place is safe and intimate, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the kitchen is accessible and the pool is a major favourite! Do try it out and you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mswa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
958 reviews
1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 34 in Unawatuna
832 reviews
1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
732 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 162 in Unawatuna
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Grove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Grove Villas

Address: Talpe North, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £44 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Grove Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beach Grove Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing