We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time in Beach Grove Villas and just as fantastic experience”
Review of Beach Grove Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Grove Villas
Ranked #6 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Second time in Beach Grove Villas and just as fantastic experience”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My stay way the second time staying at the Beach Grove Villas and it was again a great experience Asoka picked us up from the airport in a very comfortable minibus bus with AC etc.
and arranged all our tours which were fantastic especially the Blue Whales and Dolphins. The Villas are luxurious and spacious. The seemed to be more staff than our previous stay and staff are friendly and professional. The setting for the Villas is great and so close to the beach These villas (2) are super and a great find. Well done Asoka his staff and his family

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    19
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
86
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Beach Grove Villas for 5 days.

The communication with the owner when booking the property was easy and professional.

The villas are beautiful, very spacious and quiet, and with a lovely swimming pool. The grounds are lush and beautiful and meticulously maintained.

We were a bit disappointed at first with the location, we knew it was 5 mins from the beach, but we didn't realise that the beach wasn't Unawatuna beach. Unawatuna is 20 mins tuk tuk away.

However the beach that you are close to is very beautiful and less commercial than Unawatuna.

The service of the manager and the staff on site was flawless. Every day we had breakfast outside and it was fruit, eggs, toast, juice and coffee. Everything we needed.

The wi-fi was free and strong, the air-con very effective, the bed extremely comfortable.

We did have a lot of issues with ants both in the room and the pool area, you are after all in a tropical country and the villas are right in the lush surrounds. I also got bitten badly by mosquitoes. Again things to consider if you are sensitive to these things.

We weren't impressed with Unawatuna, quite build up and touristy, lots of 'fake brands' such as Starbeans and other fake food chains. It's been voted one of the best beaches in the world.... not sure how. You can barely see it for all the sun beds and umbrellas.

Jungle Beach was also disappointing, snorkelling was rubbish, the food place there was terrible service, like the really didn't want you to be there, and the tuk tuk drivers really tried to sting you for the ride,

Get one you like and trust to take you there and arrange them to pick you up. We used a guy that the manager recommended called Gayan, who lived just opposite the villas. We used him for most of our rides.

Galle was very interesting and well worth the visit, probably the highlight of the region.

Food was okay, ate a couple of times in Unawatuna, then we found this great little pizzeria place in walking distance of the Beach Grove, right on the beach so great sundowners, amazing sushi too.

It is called Mijaya Beach, when coming down the road from the villas, and you reach the big main Matara Road, turn left (so the sea is now on your right side) Walk for about 5-10 mins. If you are walking via the beach you'll see the picnic tables on the beach and the coloured flags.

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I rarely review holidays but I had to comment on the perfect holiday my wife and I had at Beach Grove Villas. The villas are new, spacious and very modern in fact Im surprised why they are categorized under B&B and not luxurious villas because they are luxurious and the location is tranquil. Asoka and his staff were fantastic and arranges all our visits. We will definitely be returning to Beach Grove Villas and Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We visited many hotels in Sri Lanca and this was really the cleanest hostel I've seen, and comfortable like home. We loved staying in this Villa. The facilities and everything is real 5 star and you feel you get what you paid for ( this is not so easy to find in Sri Lanca so luxurious hotel for normal price).Rooms are big and light with fun and aircon ( very silent comparing to others hotels), clean and very modern bathroom . The location of the hotel is great – surrounding of the beautiful trees ( in the morning birds sing), beach was the nicest beach we stayed so far(as we stayed on other beaches as well) only view minutes from villa, but owner (Asoka) will organize you every time you need tuk-tuk to the beach. Swimming pool in very clean and very comfortable for all - for swimming to ( specially I recommend to swim in the night when lifts will turn no. Asoka is very friendly and helpful man – he will give you what you will need during your staying. We decided to change our plans – he organize fantastic trip to Kandy, Nuwera Eliya ( with train trip) and Pinawella ( driver ( Manguko) who care our trip was very nice, safety drived man, well speaking english and german- he care all things connected to trip ( thickets, food, hotels – we fell absolutely safety with him). I strongly recommend dinner in villa – chief villa - Sarath will prepare you the best prawns, crabs or lobsters you ever eat ( I am specialist in this meter and you can trust me – he is genius in cooking). Generally service is excellent – man who clean your room ( Tarke) is very friendly and gently , they will at your service all day and think about your needs and dreams ( and of course realize it). Atmosphere is quite different then in normal hotel ( we visited the most expensive hotels in Sri Lanca – but far from good quality ) in Grove Beach Villa you will feel like in the best dream ( for reasonable money.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable and silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What is there to say? Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014, and had a fantastic stay with my girlfriend. The compound is really small, only 4 villas guaranteeing a very personal service. The location is really quiet, which is part of the charm. The sunsets on the beach (15mins walk) are epic, and it might have just been one of the nicest stretches of sand we visited during our month in Sri lanka, as the beach is not very commercialized yet. Asoka the owner is genuine nice guy, who has a lot of good suggestion on what to do with your time around Sri Lanka, and can arrange you comfortable trip around Unawatuna. Highly Suggested!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a lovely time at the Beach Grove Villas. There were 5 of us and we had the two bedroom villa. It was spacious and very clean. Everything worked perfectly, from our airport pickup to the three day tour organized through their tour company. I really enjoyed waking up in the morning and wandering out onto the verandah for a cup of tea followed by a tasty breakfast. We also had supper there two nights - completely different dishes each time - all delicious. We had great wifi connections and plenty of hot water. We enjoyed the pool and the on-site massage service. If you plan to walk down the road in the evening, I'd recommend taking a flashlight. Otherwise it feels like taking your life in your hands.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoeNisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harstad, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had 9 wonderful relaxing days here - couldn't imagine any better. The place is a peaceful pearl, not fare from the beach. It`s about 10 minutes walk, or you can hire a tuc tuc if you´re lacy ;)
Asoka and his staff are wonderful. We got served our breakfast every morning on our "south state veranda". And they are there for you all the time!
The birdlife are fantastic, waking up with the birds, are just perfect!
The villa has big spacious rooms, nicely decorated. Some may find the villa a little expensive.
We had the most pleasant stay here. Highly recommended!
Bente and Kjell

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
889 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
813 reviews
1.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#8 of 146 in Unawatuna
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 32 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Grove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Grove Villas

Property: Beach Grove Villas
Address: Talpe North, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Grove Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Grove Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing