We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simplicity with quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
Ranked #3 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“simplicity with quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just came from this calm peaceful place, I fall in love with Dunes. Great conditions and at the same time the real feeling of Sri Lanka. Unawatuna was a fisherman village not so many years ago. So the surrounding still has this rustic feeling. I came to Sri Lanka to explore the country, and so I wanted to stay in a Sri Lankan traditional but comfortable conditions (I personally don't like international hotel chains - they are the same all over the world). I stayed at the top floor room with the balcony. And I loved it. A lot of timber, king size bed, massive mattresses, traditional comfortable chairs,great spacious bathroom with fresh big towels. It was nice to sit at the balcony with a book in the evening. Open construction of the building really help to keep it quite cool. Just before coming (but after booking Dunes) I read some not so good reviews and was a bit scared, but everything was perfectly fine. Strongly recommended:)

Room Tip: downstairs rooms are a bit cooler, but I choose the room with the balcony:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    27
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
88
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Dunes after traveling a bit in Sri Lanka. So I can compare. I also had checked some places and prices in Unawatuna while staying. And I can say that Dunes is a great choice, but not for everybody, for sure. People who are used to stay in Turkish or Egypt all inclusive hotels can be disappointed. Those who want plastic windows, who can't think to stay without AC, who prefer small rooms like boxes, but with ac (there are a lot of places like this in the area), who is annoyed with sounds of nature you'd better stay away from Dunes. Dunes is a NATURAL resort, built in a traditional srilankan way. Traditionally in Sri Lankan rich houses there are high roofs & gaps to let the hot air escape, and some windows (spaces) without glasses done for ventilation. at Dunes there are windows on top of the rooms closed only with bamboo tats which helps to keep the rooms cool, but of course not as cool as ac would do, but for me it is perfectly fine bcs I personally don't like ac, I caught colds in the office with it, I don't need 18 degrees to sleep... I didn't even use the fan some nights, and during the day time I was at the beach. there is a nice jungly garden with a natural pond, but again - it's not for everybody, people who love organized gardens won't like it I guess. But those who enjoy wild nature & animals (monkeys, peacocks, mongoose, lizards, palm squirrels & birds of all colors) will fall in love!!!
I even got some ideas to implement at my countryside house back home.Oh, it was the only one place that had proper spring mattresses & rain showers for this price while I was traveling in Sri Lanka but this was already mentioned in all the reviews of Dunes:)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We recently stayed in one of the cottages a short distance from the main building. The cottage itself was quite comfortable - lovely shower room and a decent enough fan, but the area, immediately around the cottages resembeled a building site, with sheets of wood, cable drums and, right in front of our door, a large tree stump. The hotel grounds were not much better - a dust bowl with a pond in the middle - not much to look at but great for wildlife with monitor lizards, langur monkeys, kingfishers and a female mongoose and her pup all regular visitors. The big problem we had with the cottage was it's proximity to the surrounding houses, all noisy and intrusive, the one to the rear waking us up every morning at 5.30 with the television on full volume and the dogs barking in the grounds of the one to the front. I'm sure that the hotel will be a better propositon when the grounds are landscaped and the noise problem is sorted out.

Room Tip: Talking to other guests I'd say your best bet for a good nights sleep would be to wear ear defen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This new hotel is approx 5 mins walk along a road to the beach, and is a stones throw from nearby cafes, juice bars, restaurants and shops.
The hotel is built from wood, no A/C but does have fans and mosquito nets. Rooms are semi-open at the ceiling level, so if you are afraid of potential creepy crawlies, then this may not suit.

Room quality is nice, simple with high quality sheets. Food supplied on site is good, ambience is relaxed. Downstairs rooms may hear upstairs neighbours walking around as the floor is just thin wood planks.
The hotel also boats two independent cottages.
There is a pond (i.e. hole in the ground filled with water) facing all rooms - looks a bit in-progress, and may be a hazard for very young children.
Altogether - a nice place to stay which is a little off the beach road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Small guesthouse, 5 mins walk from the beach. I booked for 2 nights, & then realised it didn't have AC. I should have cancelled the booking immediately but thought I'd try it. No good for me, left after 1 night, room didn't cool much at all, even with fan on full power.

It didn't feel very private or secure, with neither the bedroom or bathroom being fully enclosed, big gaps at the top of the walls & roof, & would have been quite noisy if busy with other guests. The big hole full of water must increase the mossie population as well, not good, when your room isn't insect-proof

No AC, no fridge, no WIFI & no tv in rooms. Very basic, & certainly not 4* hotel as a previous reviewer amazingly suggested.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I recently stayed a few nights at the Dunes - if you don't mind lots of noise during the night, this is OK as a no frills budget option. The location is good for Unawatuna (close to beach etc.) and more generally staying in unawatuna is a good base to visit nearby Galle Fort, Hiddkaduwa and Jungle Beach. I stayed in a luxury double balcony room and if you're unlucky enough to have guests staying in adjoining rooms you will be able to hear their conversations and everything they do - the walls are very thin and do not completely separate the rooms where the roof joins.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a good hotel. It's not an excellent hotel. I've been in India for the last year so my budget expectations are different from other reviewers from Europe. And in my opinion the main reason for the current success of this hotel is the perceived discounts you are given on the travel booking sites. I cannot imagine anyone paying the list price for this hotel.
The hotel has a good location, is a simply build (as such the downstairs rooms carry all the noise from the upstairs rooms), well designed rooms and is quiet. The layout of the hotel is next to an unfinished water feature which looks pretty in evening and just like a mosquitos paradise during the day. The breakfast is good but they only have the western choices, I had the local breakfast once but it was obviously a big deal for them to go and get the ingredients.
The service is friendly and efficient but doesn't feel natural, that may change when the owner is on site.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Unawatuna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Unawatuna Hotel

Property: Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
Address: 65B Welle Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Unawatuna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dunes Unawatuna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing