We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of Unawatuna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
Ranked #4 of 148 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am writing this review still being here and cannot be more happy that I choose this place, the true gem of Una! Originally I came for 2 nights and decided to stay for 6 and would rather spend all my vacations here than moving from one place to another along the coast!

First of all, Dunes owners, Gayan and Jenny, do the great job! Once arrived you feel that this place is run by people who love their job and focus on guests' needs! Gayan and Jenny are most welcoming, honest reliable hosts who will always give you a good advice and help with planning trip or booking.

Cons to consider:

Location: convenient and 5 min to beach, you wont hear cars noise or be disturbed by random jerks passing the beach. If you book upstairs, definitely will enjoy the nice garden view watching monkies ;)

Rooms: spacious and clean! Thy made to be a room you gonna be happy to fall asleep and wake up, like home. There is safety box, and they provide mosquito lotion and aloe vera after sun! Hey, you wont find it even in hotel of higher category! Bed is huge! So, if you are travelling with tall boyfriend he won't complain ;) Towels are brand new and all technic is of very good brand.

Service: they will make your bed!!!!!! This is the nicest thing to see coming late from the beach! Every night bed was decorated and a bottle of water provided!

Breakfast: excellent and worth more than you are charged for: fresh juice (fresh fruits without water added!) that will make you full already! Fruits plate, tea or real coffee from a press! as well as you have a good selection of either western eggs or cornflakes or sri lankan delights!

Of course, some people will find minuses like no A/C, but hey you are in jungles and better enjoy nature. I was never too hot since the hotel is made wisely of good wood! and fan was quire powerful. Internet connection might be a problem if you wish to gamble online or do trade but for me it won't cause any discomfort.

I can go on and on and on talking about small details (nice plates made of cocout shel, frlowers in water bowls as a decoration) I was surprised to see and did not expect from this place. And I have comparison since its my 2nd time in Sri Lanka and I stayed on lots of places.

This is a bargain and its worth paying a bit more:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jekaterina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Dunes Unawatuna is located near the beach. The place is very nicely decorated. The natural touch given to the premises is splendid, you can sit and bird watch if nothing else. Wifi is good, but not accessible in the rooms which I didn't like. Best thing was the owners were really helpful and friendly, and guided us on a lot of things.
Visit http://travelzandstories.wordpress.com/

Room Tip: I'd just recommend to stay in an AC room there because it can get a bit humid without AC and tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-sailing-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here after trying a very cheap hotel in Unawatuna the night before we were impressed by the high standard of our room and the friendly service. The owners are extremely helpful and gave us ideas of places to visit and eat, many of which we would not have found on our own. The place has been built thinking of every little detail, the rooms are very spacious and there is a powerful fan that works fine to keep you cool at night.

I read previous reviews that mention no A/C in the rooms, but I can only think that if A/C is so important to someone travelling through Sri Lanka, maybe this question should be asked before booking a hotel? We found the rooms to have modern amenities, including a safe for storing money and passports and inbuilt universal wall adapters. This was the first time we came across this while traveling through Sri Lanka.

The owners and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and this hotel is very close to the beach, breakfast is great.

Nice garden setting with monkeys playing in the trees around the pond.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhinoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you decide to stay in Unawatuna, don't miss this place! Lovely quiet internal yard, superb design, perfect location (3-5 minutes to the beach), and very pleasant owners. One of the best breakfasts in Sri Lanka (can be chosen and paid additionally, but really worth that money!) Unfortunately we stayed only one night but would love to come back for longer and would really advise this place to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask the owners for the best available room, they will be happy to provide it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria_689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place is an absolute gem. We have been to Sri Lanka 4 times and stayed in lots of different places across the country and this hotel wins hands down! The rooms are gorgeous, and compete with some of the 5 star places we have stayed in the Maldives. The owners are lovely people who genuinely have a passion for the place and will help you with any questions you might have about the area. I highly recommend booking the cottage, it is pure bliss. For those of you debating where to stay along the coast Unawatuna is ideal, far more intimate and peaceful than Hikkaduwa and a great spot to explore from. Great for surfers and those interested in Galle. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Book the cottage for a beautiful outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunl0ver28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We paid extra to stay in the cottage out the back of the guest house and didn't regret our decision. The outdoor shower is every bit as memorable as the photos suggest and the beds are very comfortable. It is a basic room which makes it an expensive stay considering the price that is charged, especially when you realise how much money it equates to in everyday terms once you've spent some time understanding how much things cost (or rather don't cost) in Sri Lanka. However, the staff are wonderful, the owner is just an all round nice guy and it's impossible to leave filled with anything but fond memories of a great stay. It's very easy to explore the surrounding areas by Tuk Tuk from the guest house as well (Mirissa, Galle etc). Make sure you try the hotel curry at least once - best we had the whole trip. Don't be put off by the lack of A/C - it always cools down at night and they have fans.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imjustthemessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is the eco friendly place. The room have big open bath room. No aircond, no hot water pot and other frills. Nice clean room and bed.. Recommend to all that want to try eco friendly place. the manager is good and friendly

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optimus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Unawatuna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Unawatuna Hotel

Address: 65B Welle Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £24 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Unawatuna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dunes Unawatuna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing