We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
Ranked #4 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“One word - Paradise”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I honestly couldn't recommend a better place to stay. After volunteering in Sri Lanka for 5 weeks this is definitely the best place I have stayed. Lovely, beautifully decorated rooms and to top it off an amazing atmosphere with amazing owners. To show how much we loved this place the first time we turned up we booked our second visit for our last weekend. You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy-Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    29
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
89
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Unawatuna in the early evening without a booking, and Jenny (one of the owners) was happy to provide us with a wonderful room last-minute. She made us feel very at home and gave us recommendations for local restaurants. The room was spacious and well designed, with a great balcony. The hotel is ideally located just off Beach Road. The next morning, when we came to checking out, we found that we did not have enough cash to pay for our stay, and as they are not able to take card payments at Dunes, Gayan (the other owner) was kind enough to give us a lift to the nearest ATM to withdraw cash. (- There is currently no ATM in Unawatuna.) He also let us use the room until 1.30pm that day free of charge, so we were able to take a dip in the sea and shower afterwards before continuing on our way. His hospitality was much appreciated. We thoroughly recommend Dunes.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GemmaRWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Home stay feel. Just 8 rooms, so maximum of 16 guests at full capacity. Will never be crowded. Just far enough from the din of the beach (All night beach parties & bars playing loud music can get to be quite a disturbance), yet walkable (5 minutes).
Conveniently set back from the road, especially the twin room cottage. Offers peace & tranquility but convenience of stepping out to eat or shop. Located right on Welladevalaya road, many places to choose from to eat & drink, or even small shops for necessities.
Gayan & Jenny believe in personal attention & are very hands on. If you want it done right, do it yourself approach. Jenny, originally from Moscow, is the whiz in the kitchen. Get through her fresh home-made jam, local cottage bread, choice of eggs, fresh non sweetened fruit juice, fruit platter for breakfast & then you won't need or even think of lunch. Gayan the local bloke, having spent time in India & Aussie, has the international exposure, but has grown up in these parts.
Walking / talking Condensed version of Lonely Planet or Wikipedia on Galle. Very resourceful with info or the last minute travel arrangements. Would be worth spending some time on a chat with him to get the low down on whats worth & not worth doing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt_H_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am writing this review still being here and cannot be more happy that I choose this place, the true gem of Una! Originally I came for 2 nights and decided to stay for 6 and would rather spend all my vacations here than moving from one place to another along the coast!

First of all, Dunes owners, Gayan and Jenny, do the great job! Once arrived you feel that this place is run by people who love their job and focus on guests' needs! Gayan and Jenny are most welcoming, honest reliable hosts who will always give you a good advice and help with planning trip or booking.

Cons to consider:

Location: convenient and 5 min to beach, you wont hear cars noise or be disturbed by random jerks passing the beach. If you book upstairs, definitely will enjoy the nice garden view watching monkies ;)

Rooms: spacious and clean! Thy made to be a room you gonna be happy to fall asleep and wake up, like home. There is safety box, and they provide mosquito lotion and aloe vera after sun! Hey, you wont find it even in hotel of higher category! Bed is huge! So, if you are travelling with tall boyfriend he won't complain ;) Towels are brand new and all technic is of very good brand.

Service: they will make your bed!!!!!! This is the nicest thing to see coming late from the beach! Every night bed was decorated and a bottle of water provided!

Breakfast: excellent and worth more than you are charged for: fresh juice (fresh fruits without water added!) that will make you full already! Fruits plate, tea or real coffee from a press! as well as you have a good selection of either western eggs or cornflakes or sri lankan delights!

Of course, some people will find minuses like no A/C, but hey you are in jungles and better enjoy nature. I was never too hot since the hotel is made wisely of good wood! and fan was quire powerful. Internet connection might be a problem if you wish to gamble online or do trade but for me it won't cause any discomfort.

I can go on and on and on talking about small details (nice plates made of cocout shel, frlowers in water bowls as a decoration) I was surprised to see and did not expect from this place. And I have comparison since its my 2nd time in Sri Lanka and I stayed on lots of places.

This is a bargain and its worth paying a bit more:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jekaterina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Dunes Unawatuna is located near the beach. The place is very nicely decorated. The natural touch given to the premises is splendid, you can sit and bird watch if nothing else. Wifi is good, but not accessible in the rooms which I didn't like. Best thing was the owners were really helpful and friendly, and guided us on a lot of things.
Visit http://travelzandstories.wordpress.com/

Room Tip: I'd just recommend to stay in an AC room there because it can get a bit humid without AC and tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-sailing-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here after trying a very cheap hotel in Unawatuna the night before we were impressed by the high standard of our room and the friendly service. The owners are extremely helpful and gave us ideas of places to visit and eat, many of which we would not have found on our own. The place has been built thinking of every little detail, the rooms are very spacious and there is a powerful fan that works fine to keep you cool at night.

I read previous reviews that mention no A/C in the rooms, but I can only think that if A/C is so important to someone travelling through Sri Lanka, maybe this question should be asked before booking a hotel? We found the rooms to have modern amenities, including a safe for storing money and passports and inbuilt universal wall adapters. This was the first time we came across this while traveling through Sri Lanka.

The owners and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and this hotel is very close to the beach, breakfast is great.

Nice garden setting with monkeys playing in the trees around the pond.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhinoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you decide to stay in Unawatuna, don't miss this place! Lovely quiet internal yard, superb design, perfect location (3-5 minutes to the beach), and very pleasant owners. One of the best breakfasts in Sri Lanka (can be chosen and paid additionally, but really worth that money!) Unfortunately we stayed only one night but would love to come back for longer and would really advise this place to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask the owners for the best available room, they will be happy to provide it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria_689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
888 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 32 in Unawatuna
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Unawatuna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Unawatuna Hotel

Property: Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
Address: 65B Welle Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Unawatuna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunes Unawatuna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing