We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Beach has been wiped out”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Set Point Hotel
Ranked #116 of 150 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Overall good value for money. We completely enjoyed staying here with a group of friends in December 2013. Nice clean rooms, service and food at the restaurant was really good and many options. Building a new deck. Suggest a sunset view room for best view.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank SandeepBalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were only meant to stay 1 night but as we loved it so much we ended up staying a week!
Lal and the staff made our stay extra special with the warm, helpful service - nothing was too much trouble!!
The breakfast is to die as is dinner and what a stunning setting - overlooking the sea with waves breaking on the rocks.
Short walk to jungle beach and a gorgeous pool in the garden to cool off or spend the day!
The sea view rooms (very clean) are really worth it with the best sunset view in the bay.
Can't wait to come back next year!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

quiet laid back,three hundred metres off the beach. very good value with spacious clean rooms.excellent breakfast included,served on sea view balcony.helpful friendly staff withvery good cook . very homey relaxed atmosphere. strongly recommed . pjs

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjs6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the sea view room and the name of the hotel is very suited, the evening sun set is directly in front of your balcony and is truly amazing. You look straight out into the horizon and to the left so can see galle fort and light house. Breakfast is great and the staff do all they can to make you feel safe and welcome. I love this place, the peace and quite and sound of the sea is so tranquil. Highly recommend it as it is basic but brilliant.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lal the owner is a very friendly well spoken helpful host. The location of the hotel is good a 5 min walk to the beach and out of the busy area. Price is fair. Our room had multiple leaks in the roof which looked to be there for some time this needs to be fixed. There were no spare rooms to change to on our first night. Lal moved us as soon as he could the following day and the new room was good. No compensation for the first night offered. Breakfast was nice and staff friendly. A suggestion i make to the owner is to pickup any rubbish that has blown into the property each day, simple actions like this really make a difference.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Sunset Point Guest House is a nice and quiet place to stay in Unawatuna. The view is just amazing - you can watch the sunset and see Galle Fort from the balcony.

The rooms are basic but clean and bright. The walk to the beach is about 5 minutes but you can use the pool in the garden of the guesthouse. It is also easy to walk to the jungle beach from the guesthouse.

The staff is so nice and friendly and knows how to make you feel welcome. The food which the boss prepares on his own is delicious - You can order fresh fish, sea food or curry. For breakfast you get a large fruit plate, eggs and jungle bread.

We really loved that place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 5 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.9 mi away
Sergeant House
Sergeant House
#13 of 33 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Land's End Hotel
Land's End Hotel
#41 of 137 in Unawatuna
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zeilan
Hotel Zeilan
#17 of 150 in Unawatuna
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#16 of 150 in Unawatuna
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Set Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Set Point Hotel

Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: £27 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a the ultimate tropical vacation experience at Sun Set Point Hotel – an iconic property that encompasses all the charm and color that nestled within the one of the best beach fronts in Sri Lanka has to offer you. Watch the waves dance with soft golden stones to the music of the happy breeze as you bask in the sun's kisses. Beautiful beach frontage offering travelers a get away from the busy city life. This is the life. Sun Set Point Hotel is one of the cheap, budget hotels in Sri Lanka with an exclusive hotel accommodation. We are a small hotel with 8 rooms with spectacular views across the Galle harbor and Dutch fort, with divine cuisine & services designed to indulge your senses in total privacy, set amidst a rocky outcrop in the famous Unawatuna beach, Sri Lanka. Sun Set Point Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your holiday without having annoying sounds & music. Sun Set Point Hotel rooms offer all possible amenities to make your stay a regal experience. The smiling and friendly team of staff at Sun Set Point Hotel is at your personalized service round the clock. Sri Lanka is famed for a absolute delightful stay and offers accommodations at an affordable rate. At the mid of the Unawatuna beach you would find the hospitality of the down south Sri Lankans with their smiling faces. So you have come to your most enjoyable destination of your journey...no point to think twice....this is your own home away from home………...Traveling time to Sun Set Point Hotel from the main Bandaranayke International Airport is approximately 2 & 1/2 hours. And from the new Mattala Rajapaksa International Airport it also takes approximately 3 hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing