We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out after one night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Set Point Hotel
Ranked #117 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Checked out after one night”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This place is like something from the Shining. It's truly awful. Firstly, I emailed and asked for a twin room. This email was responded to, so I asked to confirm my booking, and nothing. No response. We turned up anyway and found two guys who were drunk and watching the cricket. They had no idea we were supposed to be coming, despite me sending two confirmation emails. They gave us a room anyway, but it probably would have been better if they didn't. The room was a dive! There were puddles in the bathroom, the tap leaked and was wobbly, and it was just generally quite worn out. My friend and I agreed to find a new place and leave the next morning, and we're so glad we did. The foyer outside the rooms was creepy and soulless. This place could be so much better if they invested a little love and care into it. We checked out after finding a new place (Prime Time Hotel - just a bit more expensive, but so much nicer) and enjoyed our time in the beautiful Unawatuna so much more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked this hotel as a treat for myself after staying in hostels for so long during my travels in Asia. It was a little over budget (about $30/night through Agoda) but after seeing the quality of the local hostel (the Pink Elephant) I was glad I splurged. The room had a lovely view of the sea over large boulders and rocks. I got a basic room with a fan but I did not miss having air conditioning and I even got a private balcony.

Its about a 5-10 minute walk to Unawatuna beach and from the beach you can access the town and its restaurants quite easily. In the opposite direction, Jungle Beach is about a 20 minute walk (about 1.5-2 km). I really recommend going to one of the restaurants serving authentic Sri Lankan food in town rather than the food on the beach. I had the best meal during my travels in Sri Lanka at one of them in Unawatuna.

Breakfast was included in the room cost and was fantastic. A giant plate of fresh tropical fruit, eggs, the best bread I've had in months (I've been travelling for a while), and a whole pot of tea (or a french press of coffee if you prefer).

The only negative was that the water did not work a couple of times in my room. Apparently it is a problem with the pipes but after I told the guys working there they had the water running again shortly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divegirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Overall good value for money. We completely enjoyed staying here with a group of friends in December 2013. Nice clean rooms, service and food at the restaurant was really good and many options. Building a new deck. Suggest a sunset view room for best view.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SandeepBalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were only meant to stay 1 night but as we loved it so much we ended up staying a week!
Lal and the staff made our stay extra special with the warm, helpful service - nothing was too much trouble!!
The breakfast is to die as is dinner and what a stunning setting - overlooking the sea with waves breaking on the rocks.
Short walk to jungle beach and a gorgeous pool in the garden to cool off or spend the day!
The sea view rooms (very clean) are really worth it with the best sunset view in the bay.
Can't wait to come back next year!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

quiet laid back,three hundred metres off the beach. very good value with spacious clean rooms.excellent breakfast included,served on sea view balcony.helpful friendly staff withvery good cook . very homey relaxed atmosphere. strongly recommed . pjs

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjs6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the sea view room and the name of the hotel is very suited, the evening sun set is directly in front of your balcony and is truly amazing. You look straight out into the horizon and to the left so can see galle fort and light house. Breakfast is great and the staff do all they can to make you feel safe and welcome. I love this place, the peace and quite and sound of the sea is so tranquil. Highly recommend it as it is basic but brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Lal the owner is a very friendly well spoken helpful host. The location of the hotel is good a 5 min walk to the beach and out of the busy area. Price is fair. Our room had multiple leaks in the roof which looked to be there for some time this needs to be fixed. There were no spare rooms to change to on our first night. Lal moved us as soon as he could the following day and the new room was good. No compensation for the first night offered. Breakfast was nice and staff friendly. A suggestion i make to the owner is to pickup any rubbish that has blown into the property each day, simple actions like this really make a difference.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#14 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End Hotel
Land's End Hotel
#26 of 125 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#98 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rumassala Villas
Rumassala Villas
#41 of 125 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santori Guest House
Santori Guest House
#11 of 125 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Set Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Set Point Hotel

Property: Sun Set Point Hotel
Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a the ultimate tropical vacation experience at Sun Set Point Hotel – an iconic property that encompasses all the charm and color that nestled within the one of the best beach fronts in Sri Lanka has to offer you. Watch the waves dance with soft golden stones to the music of the happy breeze as you bask in the sun's kisses. Beautiful beach frontage offering travelers a get away from the busy city life. This is the life. Sun Set Point Hotel is one of the cheap, budget hotels in Sri Lanka with an exclusive hotel accommodation. We are a small hotel with 8 rooms with spectacular views across the Galle harbor and Dutch fort, with divine cuisine & services designed to indulge your senses in total privacy, set amidst a rocky outcrop in the famous Unawatuna beach, Sri Lanka. Sun Set Point Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your holiday without having annoying sounds & music. Sun Set Point Hotel rooms offer all possible amenities to make your stay a regal experience. The smiling and friendly team of staff at Sun Set Point Hotel is at your personalized service round the clock. Sri Lanka is famed for a absolute delightful stay and offers accommodations at an affordable rate. At the mid of the Unawatuna beach you would find the hospitality of the down south Sri Lankans with their smiling faces. So you have come to your most enjoyable destination of your journey...no point to think twice....this is your own home away from home………...Traveling time to Sun Set Point Hotel from the main Bandaranayke International Airport is approximately 2 & 1/2 hours. And from the new Mattala Rajapaksa International Airport it also takes approximately 3 hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing