We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words cannot describe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

....But I will try! Wow this place is really something. We visited in 'off season' and I emailed the hotel directly because they had a good tripadvisor offer on the room. He immediately upgraded us to the pool pavillion room, which in my opinion is the best room. You are right at the pool but you have the terrace to yourselves, so you can have breakfast on the balcony and a great view of the amazing waves crashing against the rocks. We got to the hotel after a long hot train ride from Colombo and we were greeted with smiles and an ice-cold fruit cocktail. We were shown to our room and well, it is double the size of my apartment, spotlessly clean, just luxury! This is a boutique hotel where they seem to have the personal touch, friendly and not overbearing. Anything you need will be arranged. They really helped us out booking train tickets, and even gave me loads of advice about how and where to go to our next place in Kandy. The manager Preyantha really knows how to run this place and the staff who work there all seem really happy and have smiles and are interested to chat with you. I especially liked the location, which I feel will become more important during peak season, when Unawatuna beach is cramped; this place is a little oasis and only a little walk down to the beach. The food is also lovely; we had an AMAZING seafood platter there, we had it only the balcony and the staff arranged it all. Because it was off season we got twice as much fish on the platter (plus jumbo prawn, like lobsters!); the food was very good value for money compared to the beach restaurants which were not as good. Breakfast was exceptional (and included!); they do western style (eggs, bacon, sausage) or eastern style, whatever you want off the menu cooked to order, and you can really take your time if you are already at the pool room! The oats are so creamy and yummy. The jam and butter on toast tasted like strawberries and cream-try it! We had one rainy day while we were there and we just chilled out in the hotel and we felt so comfortable, it gave us an excuse to relax there. One of the staff brought me a huge bunch of beautiful flowers for the room on that day! The wifi works well (although sometimes a little off/on in the room depending on the weather!). They have an small but fully equipped gym and the pool is really nice. The spa is coming soon. By all accounts the hotel is a luxury property, but it is the staff who really make it a 5* experience. Without a doubt you should come here soon-next season it will be booked solid!

Room Tip: Pool Pavillion, without a doubt!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vbinbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments of your stay with us at Thaproban Pavilion Resort on Trip Advisor.
We were thrilled to know that you have extremely enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and thank you for choosing Thaproban Pavilion for your vacation. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services and we certainly appreciate your compliments on the food. I have not missed to share your feedback with the entire team.
Thank you once again for your contribution and we look forward to having you back with us in the future. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel during the off season. The hotel manager was very friendly and offered a very reasonable price!! The hotel is located just at the sea side and we were lucky enough to stay in a room facing the sea. Every thing is very new and clean!! All neat and good design. Good service, and all the staffs are very friendly and kind. The best part of this hotel is that you can swim looking up at the night sky so near the indian ocean. It was a heavenly experience..!! The swimming pool is just next to the sea and there are lights inside the pool, so you can safely enjoy swimming at night. The moon and are stars are so near and it is just incredible. Breakfast was also great. I REALLY want to come again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedaywemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and yes we do hope you will return back to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa.

Regards,
Priyanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

One of the best places we have experienced so far in Sri Lanka from the unique style of the hotel to excellent service.
We got everything we expected and more from this beautiful new hotel and the staff was always ready to go that extra length to make us feel comfortable.
The ambience was magical especially at dusk and the views were stunning.
The Saltwater Pool side was the highlight for me with the man-made beach & beautiful lighting which created a feeling of peace and serenity.
Food was to die for!
Breakfast was included in room price. It was a perfect start for the day with this delicious breakfast with everything you can imagine. The full works!

The rooms were massive and equipped with the latest fixtures and all the modern comforts including wi fi.
The location was perfect, away from all the hustle and the bustle. It was only a few minutes walk to the beach. Unawatuna can get noisy sometimes at nights due to night clubs in the area but where this is located, you will not have any disturbances and can enjoy the peaceful surrounding and atmosphere.

The level and warmth of service was excellent and commendable. Nothing seemed too much trouble for this wonderful staff which makes me want to come back to this place again and again.
I can without any hesitation, recommend this hotel to anyone.

We have tried other hotels in the area but this will be our choice in the future without a doubt.
Thanks for a wonderful experience. We WILL be back! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AUS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are most happy to have served you again during your second visit and hope you will return to Unawatuna and enjoy one of our hotels.

Regards,
Priyanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My Dear Friends in usa and all over the world if you ever come 2 sri-lanka please stop a night at THAPROBAN PAVILION AT UNAWATUNA GALLE and enjoy your stay and have lot of fun good food and very good service also good manager Preyantha and the feeling of the hotel, been in sl only 2 month's and i have been there 3 time's already, every time i go there i feel i am in italy or spain ha ha !!! me been in usa 30 years and working for the A-LIST IN BEVERLY HILLS AND BEEN tony the hollywood butler no-1 in the world, i am very happy to tell any one to visit and stay few night's at this hotel, thank you sri-lanka and the owner's of this hotel and all the best from the Butler Tony Jayamaha.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butler293062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Mr Tony Jayamaha,

Thank you for your review and time invested in writing us a recommendation. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Priyanga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We normally stay at Thaproban Beach House however our last visit they were fully booked and we were offered Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, To find this was a hidden paradise, away from the busy and noisy Unawatuna area, One cannot access the swimable sea from the hotel, this hotel is within walking distance, only few minutes walk via the quiet road you get the access to Unawatuna main beach. The hotel has a nice eye catching swimming pool. Very relaxing by the beach area as there is no disturbance only the crashing waves. I think the the rock in front of the hotel is the signature, you can get on the rock to view the sun set! Just Amazing!

Room Tip: Duplex , its 2 rooms in 1 and a balcony facing the Sea and Sunset,. Ideal for family holiday
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeeBee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time invested in writing us a positive review, we hope to see you again.

Regards,
Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I visited The Pavillion in February, -the hotel had been opened just a few days ago, I was staying in Thaproban Beach house and wanted to take a look at the Pavillion because it was new!
It was absolutely amazing! It was so beautiful and calm, and the view in front of the hotel was fantastic! The director showed us the rooms, - some of them were as big as flats with two floors! The pool was beautiful!
This is a hotel for those who are looking for the best of everything!! It seems perfect for couples in love and for people looking for a perfect holiday and a place they can relax and be safe!! If you should want to take a look at Una Watuna village and beach, it is only a few minutters away!
We had excellent seafood, lobster, crabs, shrimps and so on with salad and white wine. And we got the very best service though the meal!
This is probably the very best hotel and spa in Una Watuna. Just look it up on Internett , -and you will see what I mean!
Lise Henriksen, Norway

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clxxaawc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Lise,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, the hotel has improved a lot since your visit, hope to see you again in Unawatuna.

Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March 2013. It was a long weekend with some girlfriends.

The rooms were very large and ours had a balcony. The room had a double bed upstairs and downstairs, mini bar, safe and very welcoming in the humidity of Sri Lanka - an air con unit! and 2 bathrooms.

The bedrooms were finished but the bathrooms had no tiles but very modern sink and showers. Whilst the showers were impressive, the bathrooms got extremely hot and sweaty. The doors were 'saloon' doors and I had to keep mine open with a wastebin to let some cool air in!

The breakfasts were made to order and therefore were lovely and hot and both the bacon and sausages were very tasty.

The hotel is about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach but you can take an auto if feeling lazy.

The saltwater pool was lovely to swim in and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cowcow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the recommendation.

The management will definitely take into consideration your comments, there are only two bathrooms with the ventilation problem which will be rectified soon.

We hope you will come again in the future and experience our hotel.

Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
909 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
695 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: £42 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing